We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hosts and a lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #4 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts and a lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

After spending two weeks on the road with my family in a campervan, we were very happy to arrive at Merivale Manor and be welcomed by the friendly hosts, Michael & Samantha. We stayed in two spa studio rooms which were on one side of the main house and we found them to be comfortable and clean with a modern kitchen. When we asked about parking for our campervan overnight, Michael did not hesitate to offer to move his car from a spot in the back corner where there would be space for the van and he also moved it again in the morning to make way for us to make a three point turn to go back out of the car park. We really appreciate his efforts for making us feel welcome and would recommend this motel to anyone in the future. With restaurants and shops just up the road, it is a great spot to base yourself for some sightseeing in Christchurch.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    126
    25
    3
    5
See reviews for
128
290
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellsford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Comfortable,clean and well maintained property.the amenities were of a high standard for the price we paid.very happy will certainly recommend.the breakfast was a highlight.free wi-fi was a great bonus,saved us a trip to the Internet cafe.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We were looking for a one bedroom unit in a Qualmark 4 star rated hotel for 2 nights. Reviews of this property made us want to give it a try. We were not disappointed.

Our unit was in the main manor building and it was done up very tastefully, resembling more an apartment than a motel unit. And then there were the little things that stood out- complimentary breakfast cereals and bread, for instance and complimentary unlimited internet. Add to that, it's in walking distance from a supermarket and a host of eating options.

The only thing that we couldn't relate to was the access to the bathroom being through the bedroom, given that the unit is meant to sleep 3 adults and the sitting area also had a pull-out bed. Obviously, this would not have been an issue, had there been 2 of us staying in a studio unit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank OptimistExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

What a lovely place to stay. My husband, mother in law and myself stayed here for our last night in New Zealand and it was, by far, the loveliest place we had stayed in over the 10 days we were there. Our host was wonderfully helpful, explaining everything that was available to us as well as helping my husband bring our luggage up the stairs. We stayed in the manor house that has a beautiful old world charm, and I would highly recommend that if anyone was contemplating staying here to consider asking for a room in the main house. The actual accommodation itself was unique from anything I had ever stayed in and I can honestly say that I was extremely glad I did. With such a wonderful and helpful host, an extremely clean and well thought out room design that catered to all our needs and a comfortable charm (as well as the free WI FI, yay!) this manor has it all. Thanks to the hosts for making our last night in NZ so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely Art Deco hotel -very spacious family suite. Clean, warm free wifi and breakfast as well! So sad to see beautiful Christchurch so damaged but at least some of the older, gracious buildings still stand. Great stay.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank leonemoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed only overnight at the Merivale Manor and it was very pleasant. The room had all expected comforts like a small kitchenette, comfy bed, nice and new bathroom and a small table. The whole complex is lovely and well maintained. Would definitely stay again - in fact we booked in for the night of our departure as well :-)

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aggi_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in a Manor Suite in the big house at the rear of the property. The room was large with two big windows and attractive views. There was a very useful and well set up kitchenette, a spacious and luxuriorius bathroom and a most comfortable bed. The room was beautifully decorated in the Victorian style of the old home. The welcome and assistance by the owners/managers was top knotch even helping us up the stairs with our bags. The location is excellent with a number of restaurants and cafes within a short walk and close proximity to the city and airport. Good off road parking. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear are probably quieter. We certainly had no difficulty with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
3.6 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Property: Merivale Manor
Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing