We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The managers were very welcoming and friendly, and made us feel right at home.
They were also very helpful with ideas of things to do.
We stayed in one of the front single-rooms, which was in excellent shape and well appointed.
The bed was very comfortable.
The location is conveniently located to the village of Merivale, and Hagley park

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigredjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    132
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
136
322
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night before we started our south island road trip from Christchurch. The owner warmly welcomed us and chatted with us about Singapore as he spent around ten years working for IBM here. He gave us fresh milk and bread for next day's breakfast. He offered to help me with my luggage which i politely declined. We stayed in the main building and it was pretty decent. The bed was comfortable, they had a small dinning table with two chairs, a well equipped kitchen to cook a sumptuous meal. The Motel also offers free wifi. A huge LCD tv and a Hifi set with iphone dock and dvd player is available too. You can get some books and DVDs on loan from the reception and there is also a common pc along the corridor for the guests to keep in touch with the world. It's just 9 km away from the airport and there are plenty of food options near the restaurant. There is also a super market right across the street. Excellent location and pretty decent place for a reasonable place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laksh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
85 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We opted for the family apartment, which was in the main house. The house itself has a lot of character, although it's clearly very newly renovated rather than a true period piece. The room was not a great layout--basically two beds crammed into one room with no sense of privacy at all. I think they have two bedrooms, but those were much more expensive. The owners were nice and helpful with advice. Overall, a pleasant stay, but I felt was rather costly for what we got.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Fantastic service!!!!! I had to change rooms after one night and the great team moved my large amount of stuff for me - thanks. Cereal, milk and bread to make toast are provided which I hadn't realised but is a nice touch (jam and butter also provided)
The spa baths are a lovely size but if there are two couples plus go for the two bed apartment which was a piece of luxury - thanks!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank familyGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed for one night at Merivale Manor in a spacious room in the main house. The room was impeccably clean, very spacious with a queen bed, pull-out couch and a single bed to accommodate our family of four (2 kids under 7) and we still didn't feel too crammed in. Modern kitchenette which was well-equipped although we didn't use it. Owners also have a selection of DVDs you can borrow. Free wifi was nice (apparently, not necessarily the norm in NZ). Breakfast was minimal so to call it 'continental' is really a stretch, but it was enough to get us on the road. Supermarket and very good Thai restaurant (Merry Thai) within walking distance. Highly recommend it, at least based on our experience staying in the main house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friendlybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at Merivale in the main building at either end of our 6 week trip on South Island. Handy for a walk onto the city, easy access to the airport, great accommodation and helpful staff...what more could you want! Our first stay on October was excellent and when we returned in December the new owners had taken over and it was even better . We will return soon!

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Middleagedcouple25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The room looked lovely but it was not very comfortable, The bed was old and saggy. The room was at the front of the motel and the traffic noise was quite loud. The shower leaked all over the floor each time we used it requiring us to use our towels to wipe up the water so that we didnt slip, The toilet seat was not attached properly so you would sit partly on the seat, partly on the bowl. We did a big drive and used a public toilet on the side of the road and the toilet paper was much more comfortable that the one ply sand paper that was supplied at "The Manor".
Good things about this place, it was very clean and the current owners, while a bit in your face were accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms in the main house would be less noisy and more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
3.6 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.2 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Property: Merivale Manor
Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing