We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable budget hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ranked #31 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable budget hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

The hosts here are very friendly. Both of them, gave us good information about christchurch.
When we were there , we were still getting the aftershocks from the earthquake that had happened in the previous week. But they gave us a lot of self confidence with a nice sprinkling of humour. That made our stay a pleasure.
The rooms are nice and big, although slightly old now. but they are functional.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adwait_kulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    91
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
106
100
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Normally I would stay at one of the big hotels in the city, but due to the earthquake closing the city centre I booked at Ashleigh Motel. Apart from being very close to what I wanted to do and see (rugby) it was easy walking distance to many ammenities and attractions. Now I'm no fan of walking but it was such a lovely place to walk around I felt guilty using the car as it was a fantastic town to stroll around. The owners of the motel made you feel that you have known them for years and the rooms were well above my expectations in size, ammenties and how clean the place was. The price was also a very pleasent surprise.
To put it in a nutshell, the Ashleigh Motel is a great place to stay and I will be using the establishment again. I have already put their website in my favorites

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RugbyfanCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Very nice, clean motel. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne20111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

This is a great little motel set in a 'nice' part of Christchurch that has NO earthquake damage in the immediate area.
The owners are really friendly, and it is one of the cleanest motels I have stayed in in New Zealand. 5 minute walk to Hagley park, and 5-10 to Riccarton Mall. Highly recommended. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinbarmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Our 4th stay here, the last two with Sue and Steve, the present helpful and very welcoming owners. The units are spotlessly clean. it is an easy drive from the airport. and the site itself is very attractive and on a quiet suburban street within easy walk of the city centre.would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

We booked a studio for 1 night in our 'see New Zealand in 21 days' holiday, & although we stayed in many lovely places, this was the best by far - even my husband giving it a great accolade!

We received a very friendly welcome from Steve, & had a long chat with Sue before leaving. The room was far bigger than we expected - probably the largest encountered on our travels. It was light, airy & pleasantly decorated. As well as a large bed, there were 2 comfortable armchairs, & a dining table, with chairs. The kitchen had full facilities - far more than we needed for cereal & sandwich making. One thing we couldn't get over was just how clean & shiny the kitchen & bathroom floors were!

The bathroom was a nice size - big & clean, with large soft towels & good quality handsoap & body shampoo. The toilet was separate.

A nice touch was free zenbu wifi access.

We also parked our car right outside the room.

Ashleigh Court is in a lovely setting - well tended garden area, & a maybe 15 minute (on the flat!!) walk to Robbies in Riccarton, where we had a nice evening meal.

On the whole, it was quiet at night - we heard the ladies next door chatting over their wine as we fell asleep - & a comfortable sleep it was too.

We stayed before the earth quake, & have been in touch since, sending our thoughts & best wishes. If you are heading to Christchurch area, you won't go far wrong in staying here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrayCat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

This motel is on a quiet street, a 10 minute walk from the hagley park and a 5 minute walk from the Riccarton Mall. We had taken a studio and the rooms were very comfortable. Steve & Sue are knowledgeable and very helpful. Gave us plenty of friendly tips / advice on planning our trip down the south island. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ashleigh court motel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnilKrishnaSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.2 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#45 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#20 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh Court Motel

Property: Ashleigh Court Motel
Address: 47 Matai Street West | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful sunny motel in a ‘quiet central location’ set in established gardens just 5-minutes walk to Mona Vale Gardens, Riccarton House (Deans Bush) and Hagley Park and 10-12 minutes walk to Restaurants and Westfield Mall (Christchurch’s best shopping centre). Enjoy a walk through Hagley Park to the Arts Centre, Christchurch Tramway, Museum, Botanic Gardens, Art Gallery or the Casino. We are a 5-minute drive to Christchurch Hospital, University of Canterbury and the CBS Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashleigh Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh Court Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Ashleigh Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing