We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashleigh Court Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
166
96
9
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
96
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmona valehagley parkquiet locationresidential streetnew zealandwithin walking distancebedroom unitwestfield mallcity centrepleasant walkshort walkhome away from homewould stay againeasy accessstayed one nightmotelaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2008

We travelled to Christchurch in December 2008 with our young children - one aged 3 months, the other 2 years. The Ashleigh Court Motel turned out to be the perfect place for us to stay. Unlike most other Christchurch motels it is located away from the busy main roads in a quiet back street. The owners, Sue and Steve, are genuinely lovely people who made us feel at home for the entire stay helping us out with all manner of things from cots, high chairs and strollers to advice, directions and discount vouchers.

We stayed for 7 nights in a 2-bedroom unit at the back of the property, which was ideal as it was nice and quiet and with young children we were comfortable we were not going to disturb other guests. The unit was very clean and well decked out with a large queen/king sized bed in the main bedroom; 2 single beds in the 2nd bedroom; a good-sized bathroom with shower (over bath), bath, toilet and heater; a comfortable living room with lounges, a small dining table, coffee table, satellite TV and heating; and a fully equipped kitchen that we found had everything we needed.

The property is very well maintained and obviously a testament to the dedication and hard work of the owners. We made use of the guest laundry and also found the swings and trampoline to be a good distraction for our toddler. We liked the location of the motel as it was within an easy drive or leisurely walk to many of Christchurch's attractions including the city centre, Hagley Park, the botanic gardens, Riccarton Bush and the University of Canterbury. It is also close to a large shopping complex and numerous restaurants.

All up, we highly recommend this motel and will definitely stay there again when we return to Christchurch.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CoffsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

I stayed at this motel for 2 nights.

Almost all units are on the ground floor and you can park your car if you drive right in front of the unit. The motel is also close to a number of good eating places, the park and the largest shopping mall in Christchurch. The railway station is also nearby and the owner of the motel can arrange free transport for you to the station. This is good if you decide to take the Tranz Alpine railway trip to the West Coast which you actually should do even though it is a bit pricey.

The rooms are clean and are of normal motel size. One bugbear of the rooms would probably be that they do not block outside noise very well. If you are a light sleeper then that might be a slight problem.

What stands out at the Ashleigh would probably be the owner, Steve who is warm, friendly, extremely helpful and tries his level best to make your stay the most enjoyable experience you can ever have.

Overall I would definately recommend Ashleigh Court Motel to Christchurch visitors as it is probably the best value for money accommodation you can find in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeKingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We ended our three week trip of a lifetime around New Zealand in Christchurch, with an early morning flight out. It was essential that we had a Motel with easy access to the airport.
Asleigh Court was just that, but also easy access to the city, and local retaurants.
The motel is very clean, spacious, superb showers, and sufficient kitchen area to prepare food etc. The hosts, Sue and Steve do everything to make your stay welcome, and provide lots of info on what to do, and seem to have vouchers for almost everything.
We are only too pleased to write a very favourable review for this delightful motel. Yes we would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thetravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

The motel had an attractive retro feel, and was set in beautiful gardens.
The photos on the wall were of New Zealand, which was the first time I have come across this in a motel.
The hosts were friendly, sensitive and non-judgemental.
I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hiseros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

We stayed at Ashleigh Court for three days at the start of a two week car trip around the South Island NZ and the last night before flying home in Nov 2008. It's a motel built when it was recognised that you need a certain amount of room to be comfortable. Spacious bathroom, a table to eat on, a useful kitchen plus all the more usual features. What made the stay even better was the welcome from excellent hosts Steve and Sue and directions to places to visit. The motel is in Riccarton near to Mona Vale and Deans Bush (two great things to see) and a pleasant walk through Hagley Park (botanical gardens) gets you to Christchurch 's city centre. Thought had been put into just what travellers need to make things easier for them. Well maintained, clean and easy to live in, after two weeks at various motels/hotels it became obvious just what excellent value Ashleigh Court is.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Evie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews