We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean motel with friendly owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ranked #34 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
West Coast NZ
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
“Quiet, clean motel with friendly owners”
Reviewed 4 March 2009

This motel is well located, not far from shopping malls, central city and restaurants but tucked away on a quiet street, so no traffic noise at night. Probably best with your own transport but within walking distance to buses.

Units are always clean and owners friendly.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eco-friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    91
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
107
100
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newzealandfan
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2009

I have been to this Motel in January 2009.
It is in a green quiet place, and the good thing about it is the cleanliness.
The location is somewhat out of town, you would have to walk 20 minutes to be in the small city centre of Christchurch. If you are only there for a night, like i was thats quite unpractic.
The owners were not very welcoming to my point of view.
The furniture of this accomodation is somewhat dated, especially baths need an update.
Dont get me wrong, its a fine place to stay, just thought to be that high in ranking should mean a little more.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newzealandfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleighCourtManager, Manager at Ashleigh Court Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2009
Just a quick note to thank this guest for taking the time to review their stay with us. While a little disappointed with several of the comments, particularly the less than welcoming comment as we work extremely hard to be warm and friendly to all guests on arrival (irrespective of what time they arrive), we are a little unsure why a solo traveller (who spent just one night with us) would suggest that our complex is outdated for offering baths. We have 14 Units and just two of our seven 2 Bedroom Units have showers over full baths. The baths were deliberately kept during motel upgrading as families with babies and toddlers have a strong preference for them (a number of UK tourists have been delighted to find that we still have baths!).
With regard location, we are a quiet residential motel in Riccarton Central just a 5 minute walk to Hagley Park and Mona Vale Historic Gardens, and less than 10 minutes to great Restaurants and Westfield Mall (arguably Christchurch's best shopping experience). As the traveller pointed out, we are approximately 20 minutes walk to the city, across the beautiful Hagley Park (where the Ellerslie International Flower Show is to be held 11 – 15 March). Subsequently, the great majority of our guests choose the Ashleigh Court Motel because of its location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We stayed at the Ashleigh Court Motel for 3 nights whilst on a round the world trip. Steve and Sue are marvellous hosts and are a great help to anyone who wishes to see Christchuch. Their knowledge of the city will keep you occupied for as long as you like. The accomodation is first class. The little extras make it a great place to stay. It is in a quiet area but only a 20 minute stroll into the city. Riccarton boasts a number of restaurants for your evening meal and there is also a large shopping mall about 10 minutes walk away. Should we return to New Zealand I would definitley look to stay at the Ashleigh Court Motel again

  • Liked — The Hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DorsetLakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Excellent , quiet location, very friendly helpful service at anytime with added extras in room to ease our stay. It would be difficult to find any fault as our every need and enquiry was answered with pleasure. Attractive gardens and park are close by. Christchurch is a pleasant 20mins walk through the park. Riccarton town has a very good shopping mall nearby for any amenities required. We were so happy that we booked three extra nights at the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selotape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2009

This was my first stop in New Zealand, and it couldn't have been better. Sue and Steve went out of their way to tell me information about the area and assist me in organizing tours on South Island. It was a perfect way to start my trip. If you do not have transportation, then the location is a long walk to the city center, but a beautiful one through Hagley Park.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagesahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We had a great stay at the Ashleigh Court Motel during our visit to New Zealand. The motel is situated in a residential section of Christchurch which makes it a very quiet location. The motel is older but kept spotless. Sue and her helpers do a great job of keeping things neat and tidy. Steve was very helpful in pointing out things to do and see during our stay in Christchurch and even helped us out booking our next stop in Twisel at a discounted rate. We can't say enough about the great service we had with Steve and Sue. Oh, did I mention that it was quiet!!

  • Liked — Quiet and comfy
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

As a family of 4 we stayed in this motel at the beginning of Feb.
It started with our arrival, the owner lady was chatting with another guest when i proceeded the lobby after a long long flight from Europe.
She would not even say hello to me and did not stop talking to the other guest about a rountrip of NZ for a long time.(eventhough she noticed me)
When she was finally finished she said > We have you planned for late arrival. No welcome nothing. I felt i had to excuse myself for arriving at 16.00 in the afternoon which is not early either.
Check out is already 10 am, which was in our case a big problem as our daughter was sick. They told us they had visitors from UK and after a long haul flight they wanted to sleep. I thought check in is 2 or three pm, no! the UK guests were more important than our daughter with 39 degrees fever. Thanks alot.
At check in we were treated as thiefs, because our credit card did not work. They would not let us leave the hotel without paying the full amount --2 3rd that i had in cash was not enough. I wanted to rent the campervan first as i had an appontment with them since the check out was so early.
Worst of all is this> our daughter as having said had a bad flu and had a little accident on the bed. I looked and there was a matress protector and i thought this would be no problem.
Now on the efening after my check out i got an email saying that the matress was damaged and they would need to clean it professionally.
This all happened in such a humliating was that i will warn everyone who wants to go to christchurch of this motel.
Yes its quiet, green and in a good location.
But i am deeply shocked about our stay. You can read my other review which most of them are 4 or five stars rating. I am really not someone who looks for faults.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninasch1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleighCourtManager, Ashleigh Court Manager at Ashleigh Court Motel, responded to this review, 5 February 2009
We unreservedly apologise for the manner in which this particular family perceives to have been treated by staff at our motel. We pride ourselves on our interaction with guests from anywhere in the world.
We note their disappointment stems from our inability to grant them a late (midday) check out (even after explaining that we had several weeks ago arranged an early check-in of guests from the UK and that we were unable to change this at such short notice); additionally, from the embarrassment of being unable to settle their account (all 3 of their credit cards failed and they had insufficient cash) and that they were on-charged $75-00 being the cost to have a mattress steam-cleaned and deodorised by a professional contractor (we discovered after they left that their daughter had wet the bed. This resulted in all the bedding needing washing and specialist treatment, including the electric blanket).
Disappointingly, had they chosen to mention the bed-wetting as well as their other perceived issues at check out, we would have confidently resolved them all to both our mutual satisfaction.
Clearly, after 23 positive reviews from guests around the world this review and the manner in which it is written is disappointing. We have taken this review on board and will endeavour to do better in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#32 of 144 in Christchurch
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#22 of 144 in Christchurch
278 reviews
3.2 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#42 of 144 in Christchurch
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh Court Motel

Property: Ashleigh Court Motel
Address: 47 Matai Street West | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#21 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful sunny motel in a ‘quiet central location’ set in established gardens just 5-minutes walk to Mona Vale Gardens, Riccarton House (Deans Bush) and Hagley Park and 10-12 minutes walk to Restaurants and Westfield Mall (Christchurch’s best shopping centre). Enjoy a walk through Hagley Park to the Arts Centre, Christchurch Tramway, Museum, Botanic Gardens, Art Gallery or the Casino. We are a 5-minute drive to Christchurch Hospital, University of Canterbury and the CBS Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ashleigh Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh Court Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Ashleigh Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing