We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ranked #33 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
ankara
1 review
“Location not perfect”
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Me and my fiance stayed in this Motel in March.
We had to find out that it was neither very close to the airport, where all the rental car companies would be, nor within the city center of Christchurch.
We could not find a good restaurant nearby the hotel, all recommended ones (by the owners) were really basic ones. So we needed to walk to the city center which took more than 20 minutes. There we found a variety of good quality restaurants.
Since we were there for only 1 night we did not seem to matter too much to the owners.
They seem to prefer a retired, tidy and non smoking clientele which stays a few nights.
I was quite astonished to find a leaflet warning the guests to cook hodourous, bad smelling food. I guess if you rent out motel units you would leave the taste to your guest, wouldn t you?
Rooms were ok, gardens immaculately kept, but we would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theodd1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleighCourtManager, Manager at Ashleigh Court Motel, responded to this review, 7 April 2009
We would like to thank these guests for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor although, as their comments are not overly factual and are somewhat misleading, we feel the need to respond.
The Ashleigh Court Motel is 7.5 kilometres from the airport (a 10 minute drive) and a 5-6 minute drive to the city centre (or 25 - 30 minute walk across the beautiful Hagley Park, as many that stay with us enjoy). The great majority of our guests stay at Ashleigh Court Motel because of its central and quiet location, just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of city living but within walking distance or an easy commute to the city and/or local amenities.
There are a number of very good restaurants within 10 minutes walk, including; a lovely and extremely popular Bar & Bistro, an Italian Restaurant, two very good Indian Restaurants as well as Vietnamese, Thai, Korean, and Chinese restaurants, an excellent fish-n-chip shop, and one of Christchurch’s leading restaurants which has won a great number of NZ Awards (too many to name here). That we were unable to get these guests into this latter restaurant on the night of their stay is really outside our control.
To state that we prefer retired, tidy, non-smoking guests is clearly untrue. Previous reviews on tripadvisor are testament to this.
Additionally, guests are very welcome to self-cater (all Units have kitchens for this purpose) however like most motels, we do politely encourage guests to be mindful of what it is they choose to cook as particularly strong spices and some fish types leave odours that are extremely difficult to remove. We’re sure that these guests (and most others) would be very unhappy to be checked into a Unit that had strong lingering smells from the previous guests.
We are a Qualmark NZ 3.5 Star Rated motel, recognised for a range of facilities and services that achieve good to very good quality standards. Last month we were delighted to have been nominated as a “Corporate Events Guide (NZ) 2009 People’s Choice Nominee”. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    91
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
107
100
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nelson
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Sue and Steve are the epitome of wonderful hosts. They are attentive without being annoying and go the extra mile to ensure a comfortable stay. They even put a REAL cot in the bedroom for our daughter. The unit was spacious and bright. I am VERY picky about cleanliness and I was very happy with the immaculate standards to which the unit had been cleaned. They had swings and a trampoline in a fully fenced (except for where the cars drive in obviously) complex, our son was rapt! There was a good selection of complimentary tea and coffee and all the kitchenware and linen was like new. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Steve and Sue even sent us a personalised thank you email after our stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemisstownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We were in Christchurch for 5 days for the Ellerslie Flower Show and to visit gardens. We found this was a great location - easy walk to the show and then on to the city, walking distance to shops and supermarket and good access to major roads out of town. Our friendly and welcoming hosts were very helpful with directions and our 2 bedroom mini apartment was spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and the lounge area spacious and well-furnished. Thanks to Sue and Steve for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson, CA
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Steve and Sue were wonderful hosts. We liked the location being a bit out of town center, but still very accessable. The walk through the park was great.

We felt very welcomed and found the rooms to be clean and with all the amenities.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nos4aw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Excellent motel, friendly people and first class sercice. Well positioned. Good value.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruawai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberystwyth
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Fabulous welcome from Steve & Sue. They cannot do enough for you. Located in a lovely quiet part of Riccarton and a comfortable 20 minute walk into town. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dexxyAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ashleigh Motel in Christchurch and had an amazing experience. From my initial email to inquire about availability, they were incredibly kind and helpful. They even asked what kind of milk we wanted for our tea upon our 11:30pm arrival! The room and bathroom were very large and comfortable. There is plenty of free parking because the motel is on the west side of the park and not in the exact city center. It was a perfect location to go jogging or walking through the park. For an additional $10/person, they offer a breakfast of cereal, canned fruit, milk, yogurt, juice, and coffee/tea. The servings were generous and it was nice to have something to eat upon waking up. The kicker though is just how wonderful Steve and his wife are. They had many suggestions for how we might spend our next few days in NZ (we had no plans) and even made a few calls to the I-site to check availability for us. Steve even lent us his sleeping bag. We are still amazed at his generosity! We'll definitely be back to return the sleeping bag and are looking forward to it. I'd highly rec'd this hotel to anyone seeking a quiet, spacious, comfortable place to stay in CC.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#40 of 144 in Christchurch
132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#32 of 144 in Christchurch
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#22 of 144 in Christchurch
278 reviews
3.2 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#42 of 144 in Christchurch
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh Court Motel

Property: Ashleigh Court Motel
Address: 47 Matai Street West | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#21 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful sunny motel in a ‘quiet central location’ set in established gardens just 5-minutes walk to Mona Vale Gardens, Riccarton House (Deans Bush) and Hagley Park and 10-12 minutes walk to Restaurants and Westfield Mall (Christchurch’s best shopping centre). Enjoy a walk through Hagley Park to the Arts Centre, Christchurch Tramway, Museum, Botanic Gardens, Art Gallery or the Casino. We are a 5-minute drive to Christchurch Hospital, University of Canterbury and the CBS Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ashleigh Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh Court Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Ashleigh Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing