We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Classic Villa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Montreal(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Quest Christchurch(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
185
65
23
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
65
23
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensarts centreb bother guestsmediterranean breakfasthost petercorporate roomcontinental stylenew zealandcommunal tablea small boutique hotelart gallerybloody marylovely loungebreakfast spreadperfect locationbed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This place seems to usually be referred to as a boutique hotel. Whilst that is fair, it could just as well be classified as a first rate B&B.
My wife and I stayed there recently for two nights. We were highly impressed. Indeed we cannot even think of any minor criticism to make!
Our room was advertised. as a Luxury Room. It justified that description.
, very comfortable and relaxing, and having the benefit of tasteful decor and furnishings.
The breakfast room was spacious and clearly a lot of thought had been given to the preparation and display of the ingrediants of the meal in order to make it memorable. . Excellent!

The two people managing this little hotel were interesting to talk with and gave us helpful advice about Christchurch and the local restaurants.

The price was fairly high by New Zealand standards..However, in our view it was fully justified.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This property is a very nice oasis in the middle of a city that is rebuilding post earthquake. In a city where so many have experienced disaster, this villa stands tall a step above with wonderful accommodations but even better than the very comfortable setting is the staff. Ana, the bubbly Polish associate, greeted us with a wonderful optimism, excitement and energy. She checked us in and insured that we were totally comfortable. It was made obvious from the start that the common area was ours to use and not an invasion on the owner's space which made us feel very much at ease. The night Manager was as engaging and provided us with great conversation and set the tone for a wonderful experience. The breakfast was a huge highlight here in a most comfortable open space that did not intimidate. The breakfast and conversations with other travelers was a special experience in our 4 week trip! The rooms were warm, charming and comfortable with a sense of the villa's history throughout. Thankful for the Classic Villa for a wonderful experience while we keep the people of Christchurch in our hearts. So glad we were there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel is a beautiful old Victorian House (with a more modern additional upstairs). We really enjoyed our stay here – what really put it over the top was the manager – Noni. She was lovely to chat with – it felt like you were staying with your mom and she was on your side as she told you about the dining options, transportation options, sights, breakfast etc. This is more of a B&B as opposed to a standard hotel – we loved it.

The location is wonderful – you can walk to downtown Christchurch, restaurants, pubs etc.
We stayed upstairs in one of the modern rooms, it was spacious and well appointed, though not as elegant or fancy as the older rooms downstairs. We had the choice and ended up choosing the upstairs room as it was nice and bright because it had more natural light.

There is a large communal breakfast room downstairs, as well as a large reading and TV room. It has a good sized library of books you can read or even take with you.

Breakfast had a good variety, though we had one minor quibble – the pastries seemed stale.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed a night with our baby. Peter was accommodating to set up a baby cot for us. We enjoyed the place so much that we spent quite a fair bit of the late afternoon till night in there. Breakfast was more than continental so it was a pleasant one.
A little gripe would be the slow wifi, but we didn't had to pay.
Would return back for sure!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank terence7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Plus the best breakfast I have ever had in 26 countries worth of travel. Just a lovely place to stay and so close to the best bar I have also been to in a few countries... the Astro Bar. Nice to revisit Christchurch after living there many years ago and be so close to the devastation but get to stay in such a lovely place. Thanks to Noni and the staff!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSMfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews