We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”
Review of The Classic Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Classic Villa
Ranked #26 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We recently spent 6 nights at The Classic Villa and thoroughly enjoyed it. Peter (our host) welcomed us warmly and gave us a tour of the breakfast/kitchen area where he serves a great buffet breakfast with fresh coffee and fruit always available. The large family table allowed us to meet many of the other guests and hear of their travels and experiences in New Zealand.

Our room was large with windows on two sides and the furniture and bed were very comfortable and kept very clean.

Christchurch is a wonderful small city and the hotel is close to the Botannical Gardens, Museum and Art Centre and the tram is just outside the front door and takes you around the city core.

We will definitely return to The Classic Villa and the area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nayrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2009

The Classic Villa was by far the best accommodation during our three week vacation in New Zealand. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and oh so clean, and the location was excellent for seeing Christchurch. Most points of interest were within walking distance. Peter and Jane made us feel welcomed and completely taken care of with their excellent breakfast and attention to detail. Given that throughout the day snacks and drinks were available and the hotel offered free wireless high speed internet and breakfast, the cost is quite reasonable. Without hesitation we will recommend the Classic Villa to friends and family traveling to Christchurch. Truly a gem. A perfect way to end our vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HitsvilleUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

Very comfortable place with only 12 rooms. You live like at home with free availbility of juices, fruits, coffee, cookies and beverages all the time. In the breakfast the owner will serve you everything you want. One of the best experiences ever in a hotel.

Hotel is centrally located and you reach by foot everywhere.

Rooms are not that big, but otherwise i believe you cannot be disappointed when choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Protravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

Great central but quiet place to stay. Rooms are immaculate. Breakfasts are out of this world!!! Free tea, coffee , soft drinks & biscuits at any time gives a nice homely feel.
Peter very helpful & a great cook!
Some awesome restaurants within two minutes walk.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brockie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

This place was ok.. Clean, but nothing special. The hotel was in a good location. The front desk was not helpful at all. Our room was pretty basic and the bathroom was quite small. It was cold and we had heat, but the entire night the room smelled like gas. I called the front desk and he told me that it could be the bonfires outside that people build. I am not so sure about that, but we left the window open because we were scared it could be a gas leak. The breakfast was amazing. That was probably the best part about the property. I probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank applegirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterm8, Manager at The Classic Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2008

I personally dealt with these guests.
It was the wife I had the very friendly conversation with, although she does not recall this!!
As in any situation there are always two sides to every story and on this occasion I do emphatically remember speaking with her about a gas smell.
I assured her it was NOT gas and furthermore that we do not have gas anywhere near that part of the hotel!!
I do seem to remember there was a Fireworks display on in our magnificent Hagley Park nearby, and told her that this was probably the smell.
As can be seen from earlier reviews, our bathrooms are fine for size.
We had even upgraded this couple to a Super Deluxe Room as it was their Honeymoon!!
We do value our 5 Stars and assure future guests that we have just been re assessed with a higher % rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Without wanting to repeat previous reviews, the hotel is in a great location and the rooms are very nice.

However, we did have some problems. For example, I had no hot water for most of one day and had to have a cold shower. Eventually, we managed to get hot water flowing by fiddling around running taps and showers simultaneously. My parents had problems with the heating and my room was right above the kitchen, meaning I could hear everything in the morning.

The breakfast was also a bit disappointing. Although there was a lot of variety, some the food was off - fruit, avocado. The same stale pizza was on offer 4 days in a row.

The owners were away the weekend we stayed, with their kids looking after the place. We stayed here on the recommendation of friends, however get the feeling the usual high standards of the hotel were not being maintained when we visited.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Earlybird97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterm8, Host/ Manager at The Classic Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2008

We were disappointed to read this latest review and can only sincerely apologise.
It is comforting to read that they are aware we do have very high standards and this is evident in past reviews.
"The Kids" they mention are mature young ladies, both trained in hospitality, one holding a General Managers Licence.
Sadly it seems that some guests find it very difficult
to relate to younger people being in charge.
We apologise once again and can assure future guests that they will appreciate our extra special standards.
Peter Morrison & Jan Clarke
Your Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2008

We had a marvellous stay at The Classic Villa last August 2007. The location of this boutique hotel is simply wonderful, right on a quiet pedestrian boulevard i.e. Worcester Boulevard. The Classic Villa is only steps away from the Arts Centre & Market, Art Gallery, Museum, Botanical Gardens, Cathedral Square, Historic Tram, Punting on the Avon River, Golf Course, Theatres, Restaurants, Cafes & Central City Shopping.

The bedrooms are beautifully decorated with luxury beds, and you may choose either the traditional style or the modern style. We booked 2 rooms on the first floor in which was a fully-carpeted modern-style Super Deluxe Room with Rimu furniture, and temperature controlled underfloor heating. The rooms are simply fabulous, and overall we had excellent sleeps.

Continental breakfast is served on the ground floor, and the place is equipped with complimentary tea, coffee & non-alchoholic beverages as well wood-fire effect heaters, WIFI and broadband high speed internet. Car parking right in front of the property is also available at no extra cost.

We would absolutely recommend The Classic Villa for any travellers staying over at Christchurch. We had a remarkable stay there plus you would never miss this cute little villa because the entire property is painted in bright pink!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EanNee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#30 of 146 in Christchurch
451 reviews
1.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Classic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Classic Villa

Address: 17 Worcester Blvd | Christchurch Arts Centre, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#20 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#21 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £108 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Classic Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Classic Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Classic Villa Hotel Christchurch
The Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing