We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice and convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Classic Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Classic Villa
Ranked #27 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very Nice and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2007

This is a lovely, clean hotel/bed and breakfast. It is in a great location for walking around Christchurch. The service is very friendly. The room was big enough for a family of four with lots of soft bedding. It was all very clean and comfortable. The wireless Internet is free. The warm bathroom floor was awesome. Breakfast was bed and breakfast style wih many delicious options and a very pleasant place to eat.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank FatherMckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    53
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
159
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2007

You can't beat the location of the Classic Villa. It's smack dab in the middle of the attractions, trolleys, arts, etc. Walk out your door and you're in the heart of Christchurch. But that's only the start of what made Classic Villa such a perfect choice. The rooms are decorated with antique charm (without antique age) and are quite spacious. The hosts/proprietors were filled with recommendations, directions, conversations. You could tell how much they care for their B&B and their guests. The breakfast spread is large and a mix of home baked goods, breakfast pizzas, and continental fare (fruit, breads, yogurt, etc). The other guests were friendly and enjoyable to spend my mornings with. While I didn't take advantage of it, there is also a living room with a plasma TV as well as an outdoor patio. All and all, the Classic Villa exceeded my expectations for a B&B.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank BeforeSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2007

Location is the best thing about this hotel. Really nothing else remarkable about this place. Staff not very helpful. The rooms are ok and clean, but the breakfast was not great. Overall it's a good value considering some of the other pricey places, but we enjoyed other accommodations in NZ much more.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank nina2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterm8, Host / General Manager at The Classic Villa, responded to this review, 17 July 2007
Sometimes I really wonder if the writer of this review actually stayed here.
The only thing she got right was our great location.
Our staff (all 3 of us!!! ) pride ourselves on being friendly and get many appreciative comments on this.
Our Mediterranean Breakfast is extensive and guests comment on it being the best they have had in NZ.
Perhaps the writer was having an "off" day.
Please read all the reviews and I can assure you that we will make sure you are really looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
273 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2007

We stayed here for four days in June 07, with one day off for a Transzalpine excursion to Greymouth (during which we were allowed to leave most of our luggage in our room at no charge).

The best location in Christchurch, right across a little street from the wonderful weekend crafts market and round the clock crafts center; near the center of town and some splendid restaurants (including Belgian, Greek, and Indian--all first-rate) and the casino.

Peter is the perfect host, and he lays out a very impressive continental breakfast that includes vodka among the juices (that's OK--NZ is 16 hours later than Eastern Time, so it's not as though Americans are actually having bloody marys and screwdrivers for breakfast); lots of exotic fruits and cheeses, cereal, coffee, tea, and chocolate; plus round-the-clock cookies, coffee, fruit, etc.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Internet was out of action the whole time we were there
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BornTooLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2007

I booked this hotel based on the fact that it had advertised business rooms on [--].

Unfortunatley I would not recommend this hotel for the busy business traveller. The staff at the hotel were casuals or temps who didnt seem to know anything, both on check in and check out. The whole process of checking in and out took much longer than it should have.

The rooms are not suited to work either. There is little if any workspace, the internet connection is on the wrong side of the room and its very difficult to see the tv and work on the laptop at the same time.

Overall I was disappointed as it was promoted as business friendly but in reality it isnt. I ended up checking out early and moving to another hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of facilities
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MickeyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterm8, Host / General Manager at The Classic Villa, responded to this review, 17 June 2007
I was very distressed to read this review.
We have no knowledge of this and really wonder if he has the correct hotel???.
My partner Jan and I are the FULL TIME Hosts here and my daughter Anna also works nearly every day here and has done so for the past year.
We have a very efficient Check in /out, and in the past have been many times praised for this.

All our rooms have FREE Wire less Internet, and if you require to use a cable the connection is under the desk that is in EACH room. ( a normal place I would think)

Two of our Flat Screen LCD TV's are above the desk, but guests can still see the TV or if Wireless sit anywhere else in the room. We have long cables available also.

We are DEFINITELY Business friendly and have many regular VERY satisfied Corporate clients.

I can assure Trip Advisor readers that this is a anomoly and has never happened before.

Peter C Morrison
Your Business Friendly Host




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2007

Enjoyed our stay at this perfectly located villa. It was our first two nights in New Zealand. Peter was welcoming and friendly. Our room was clean, well-appointed and comfortable. Breakfast both mornings was delicious and offered an opportunity to talk with other travelers, sharing stories and advice. Would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank candaceal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2007

we stayed here a few nights in jan/feb 07.
location was very good, minutes walk from the square. limited parking was also available. many restaurants are local, one french restaurant no more than 200m down the street which we thought was brilliant. room was clean and nice, bed was very comfortable.
we stayed in other boutique hotels in nz that we probably preferred though.
the classic villa prices were a bit expensive for NZ , but nonetheless we enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank donelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#17 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#44 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Classic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Classic Villa

Property: The Classic Villa
Address: 17 Worcester Blvd | Christchurch Arts Centre, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#20 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#21 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Classic Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Classic Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Classic Villa Hotel Christchurch
The Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing