We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR GRANDSONS FIRST BIRTHDAY”
Review of Airways Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airways Motel
Ranked #12 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OUR GRANDSONS FIRST BIRTHDAY”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We went to Christchurch for our grandsons first birthday.Needing accomadation that was both close to where our son lived,yet affordable for four Adults and two Children.We found all of this at the Airways Motel Christchurch.Offering free shuttle pick up and drop off at the Airport.Great for us as our sons house was just down the road and around the corner.To our amazement a van was offered free {just the petrol cost} for us to use as our transport,while we stayed.We were impressed with the ajoinging rooms-Two Queen beds-two single,two kitchenetts,two Televisons with Wi Fi and internet {free} and two bathrooms.it was a great weekend and very nice affordable accomadation.

Room Tip: When travilling with more than one child,ask for the family room as it has bigger accomadation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    166
    41
    8
    12
See reviews for
126
145
39
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed there on 12June. Always made welcome. Unit was warm and clean,. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annasorsld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

With my arrival delayed due to heavy snow in Canterbuy and unable to safely drive on the country roads I decided that on arrival I would try and pick up a hotel close to the airport. Well flight got even more delayed and with the likelihood of fog on arrival I decided to wait until the aircraft had safely made it in before booking a room with anyone. Did not get into 2am, snow everywhere and freezing. Called the usual suspects around the airport without sucess then tried the hotline in the arrivals hall which listed the Airways Motel. They picked up the phone straight away, confrimed a room was available (very reasonable $100) and would be down to pick me up in 5 min with another couple who had also just called. Van arrived on time and meet by a very cheery driver who wisked us back to the motel. On arrival, he dispatched us to our rooms, will do the paperwork in the morning- Brilliant! Lights where on and so was the heating, truly a lovely bit of Kiwi Hospitality. Nice and quite too even though is close to the airport (but not on the flight path) Free WiFi meant I could update everyone on my arrival and plans for later in the morning and the 24 hour service station 100m nearby covered my morning shopping needs nicely. Support these guys they deserve it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiMike111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed for one night and it was just great. Nice clean room, heater and good reception on the TV. My family had booked the main house with a few bedrooms,kitchen ect, and they didnt have enough room for my self and 2 cousin's. So i went to reception to see how much 1 room would be for the night. $130 was a great price for king and single beds. Gareth very friendly and was up nice and early to take us to the international airport at 5am.

Thanks you so much, and we will be back to stay with you when ever in CHCH.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauly89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel was well located, close to airport yet very quiet area. The hosts are happy to pick you up for airport, even very late at night, and book and pay for a cab for us to get our early flight out of Chch two weeks later. The room is not large but very comfortable and well equipped.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neece2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Finished our trip with airways motel. Can't complain, a short bus trip to town, free wifi and free transfer to the airport at 4am.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffyduckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012 via mobile

Stayed here going to & from a trip to Melbourne. Room was tidy, clean but compact. Wouldn't want any more than 2 people with luggage. Only negative was the constant traffic noise as motel is close to intersection of 2 main roads. Staff were very helpful & pleasant. Can park your car there while away on holiday which saves a lot of extra hassle

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank toddytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
1.8 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,265 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Motel

Property: Airways Motel
Address: Cnr Russley Rd & Dinton St, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#31 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airways Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive in a strange city, it's nice to know you've got friends just minutes away. Your hosts at the Airways Motel in Christchurch, pride themselves in offering friendly, personalised service and clean, comfortable, stylish motel accommodation - serviced apartments just 5 minutes from the Christchurch Airport. Whether you are bringing the kids to visit family for the week, on your way to ski fields or just in transit, at the Airways Motel we have a range of Christchurch accommodation to suit your needs and all accompanied with the warmest of welcomes. Our Christchurch motel is located on the North/South Bypass and at the West Coast cross roads,10 minutes from the city centre , 5 minutes from the Airport and is ideally situated for all travellers. With 19 modern motel units to choose from you're guaranteed a comfortable and affordable stay in Christchurch. Our special accommodation feature is a fully self-contained Townhouse with a private garden, spa bath, and full laundry facilities. Ideal for families relocating, long stay guests, larger groups, or for those who prefer extra space and the home away from home feel. When it's time to go home, remember, the Airways Motel is only 5 minutes from Christchurch international/domestic airport and provides a Free Airport Shuttle Service by pre-arrangement (8am-8pm on the hour). PLEASE NOTE: SHUTTLE DOES NOT OPERATE ON CHRISTMAS EVE, CHRISTMAS DAY, BOXING DAY, NEW YEARS EVE AND NEW YEARS DAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airways Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airways Hotel Christchurch
Airways Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing