We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price, friendly owner, comfortable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airways Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airways Motel
Ranked #12 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good price, friendly owner, comfortable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Chose to stay here last minute flying into Christchurch at the beginning of May and Lynn, the owner, gave us the warmest welcoming. Our flight had been delayed, she came to pick us up, made sure we had everything, and showed us to our nice and clean room. The rooms are comfortable with TV, free wifi, and very clean. Great for the price! Nice and close to the airport too. What really makes this place is the owner Lynn. We ended up staying here again later on our trip because she was so kind. Ask her anything and she is willing to help or give you directions to what you need. She is very accommodating and let us do our laundry there and offered to drive us to a close by restaurant! An amazing, lovely lady. I admire her effort and success to keep this place running. We were sad to say goodbye.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emweez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    161
    40
    8
    12
See reviews for
122
140
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was the worst place we have stayed in for a long time. The towel rail had been torn off the wall and propped against the bathroom wall. Two cupboards were off their hinges. The bath had mildew growing around it. The double bed was hard against the wall. The heater was hard against the sofa and thus inefficient. We had to pay up front, not the usual NZ motel policy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airways8, Manager at Airways Motel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We are incredibly distressed at reading your review. Unfortunately we had contractors working in your unit on the day of your arrival, and this work had not been completed - this is entirely our fault, and we apologise. All problems have been fixed, as well as the heater against the sofa for more efficient use. We do take guest comments and comlpaints seriously, especially when this relates to a downfall on our part - if you are travelling to Christchurch in the future, we would like the oppotunity to show you that this was a one off. In regards to motel payment upfront, we do take payment on checkin - only for the reason of convenience for when guests checkout they just have to hand in their key - quick and easy. If you wanted to pay on checkout, this is no problem at all.

Regards
MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great hotel for a very good price when your flying in late or leaving early, rooms warm & clean, receptionist very helpful, sorted our transport at a good rate. Easy drive into Christchurch if you have time. Will use this hotel when next in NZ.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs would have the afternoon sun, but may not be as quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very helpfull receptionist and enormous bungalow for very reasonable price. Wifi was completely free, but sometimes loging on could be difficult. The motel close to the airport and right on the State highway no.1 from north to south.

Room Tip: If you book the 5 people room you will get a vast bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

was very enjoyable was warm when we got in late that night had everything we needed shower was adequate, bed was nice and comfortable, all white ware was clean, information was good, the chair was comfortable, all round a very nice over nighter or longer if you so prefer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antria2422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was a fantastic motel, close to the airport. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and the room was modern and clean. Would definitely recommend to anyone, particularly if you need to stay near Christchurch airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedPeach83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our stay was only one night - wish it had been longer (or we had been able to find similar accommodation along the way!).

Being a business traveler, internet access was of primary concern. This was only the second place in NZ that offered unlimited internet access - all other places that we stayed in offered anywhere from 50 -200 MBs only... and we did travel a lot (drove all the way from Auckland to Christchurch) and stayed at a different place every night.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khurram2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.9 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#3 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Motel

Property: Airways Motel
Address: Cnr Russley Rd & Dinton St, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#31 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airways Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive in a strange city, it's nice to know you've got friends just minutes away. Your hosts at the Airways Motel in Christchurch, pride themselves in offering friendly, personalised service and clean, comfortable, stylish motel accommodation - serviced apartments just 5 minutes from the Christchurch Airport. Whether you are bringing the kids to visit family for the week, on your way to ski fields or just in transit, at the Airways Motel we have a range of Christchurch accommodation to suit your needs and all accompanied with the warmest of welcomes. Our Christchurch motel is located on the North/South Bypass and at the West Coast cross roads,10 minutes from the city centre , 5 minutes from the Airport and is ideally situated for all travellers. With 19 modern motel units to choose from you're guaranteed a comfortable and affordable stay in Christchurch. Our special accommodation feature is a fully self-contained Townhouse with a private garden, spa bath, and full laundry facilities. Ideal for families relocating, long stay guests, larger groups, or for those who prefer extra space and the home away from home feel. When it's time to go home, remember, the Airways Motel is only 5 minutes from Christchurch international/domestic airport and provides a Free Airport Shuttle Service by pre-arrangement (8am-8pm on the hour). PLEASE NOTE: SHUTTLE DOES NOT OPERATE ON CHRISTMAS EVE, CHRISTMAS DAY, BOXING DAY, NEW YEARS EVE AND NEW YEARS DAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airways Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airways Hotel Christchurch
Airways Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing