We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
At The Beach B & B Motel
Ranked #21 of 135 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Pristine property located a few short steps from the beach. The room was spacious and nicely appointed. Fantastic bathroom and shower. Very helpful hostess took care of us in the owners absence. Breakfast was good. Nice communal lounge/ sitting area. Cute little dog was well behaved and a joy to have around. The balcony was great, but would have been greater if it was a private balcony. The carpark was gated and secure, but it was so small it was hard to get multiple cars in at the same time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for At The Beach B & B Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

Great B & B to stay at when exploring Christchurch and surroundings. Bright and clean rooms, super friendly service. Great coffee for breakfast plus a complementary bottle of wine when shops were closed over Easter! Thanks to Shelley and Craig (who's always happy to share his local knowledge...it was much appreciated!) ...and last not least Carmen :-)

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Elfid_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Our room was immaculate but as we are not keen on having pets indoors, we were amazed that the resident pooch settled down in our room. I see other reviews mentioning "Craig" - unfortunately we didn't meet this person. The included Continental Breakfast was disappointing as the table was set for 6 and there were 6 already around the table. We were happy to come back later but there wasn't much left - the tinned fruit salad had not been replenished and there was only lite milk. The wholemeal bread (for toast) was still wrapped in cling film and was partly frozen. Yes this is a nice place especially when you drive along the east side of Christchurch and see quite a lot of "grot" still. The café next door was very busy but served a nice lunch. WiFi was free in our room - a good plus. Just didn't like the dog being there and it was there again for breakfast!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and could sit outside in very pleasant surroundings.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieandmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Great place - room spacious, excellent condition, good facilities, good wi-fi (free), great hosts. And yards from the beach. An excellent friendly start to our NZ travels. Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: You don't actually have sea views because of the dunes but you are less than 100 yards from the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My wife and I spen one night here and were quite happy with it. Close to the beaches. Very clean. The owners are very hospitable and quite informative and helpful. Had a quiet and peaceful nights sleep!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbob51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Our room was immaculate with very pleasing decor. The bathroom sleek and shiny with fantastic water pressure! A real bonus to have continental breakfast each morning in the lounge. Only realised when we left that there was free use of mountain bikes. Craig a natural and generous host, he hits the right note with everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Our first night in New Zealand was spent At The Beach and was a great welcome to the country. Craig is a great host, gave us loads of information about the effects of the earthquakes to the surrounding areas which my husband found interesting as it had been about 5 years since his last visit to Christchurch. I have to say I loved the ensuite shower in the room we stayed, glass and very modern! Comfortable bed, great linens and an ample 'help yourself' style breakfast (Craig does come down to the guest lounge to make sure everything is ok and chat too). It's a fair way from the city but we weren't planning on visiting Christchurch until the end of our vacation so as somewhere to stay the night we arrived At The Beach was great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicJanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
6.3 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
5.9 mi away
Le Petit Hotel Sumner
Le Petit Hotel Sumner
#17 of 135 in Christchurch
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
M&Y Guest House (Christchurch Airport)
5.4 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#1 of 135 in Christchurch
848 reviews
6.4 mi away
No photo provided
Abbott House Sumner B&B
#58 of 135 in Christchurch
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Beach B & B Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Beach B & B Motel

Address: 16 Beach Road | Waimairi Beach, Christchurch 8083, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: £58 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — At The Beach B & B Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for a luxurious relaxing break away. Imagine strolling along a wide, expansive beach hearing waves crashing and the smell of the sea air. After a day's shopping or 18 holes of golf, it's the perfect conclusion to the day. A residential seaside suburb 10 minutes drive from City Centre and 20 minutes from Christchurch International Airport. Bordered by a golf course, forest and ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your At The Beach B & B Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing