We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ranked #41 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We arrived Christchurch at 12:45AM on flight from Sydney and were able to get into comfy bed within the hour. Then woke to find we were close to shops and our road west - very easy and convenient. Friendly check out. Everything in small kitchenette was shiny and new having been replaced following the damage from the earthquake earlier in the year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Ashford Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed one night in a very comfortable two bedroom apartment style unit. Easy and pleasant walk through the park into the city. Very helpful friendly owner. Lovely take away from Keo Thai just down the road. Busy road - but we were at the back, and no problem with noise. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I spend three nights at Ashford Motor Lodge whilst in Christchurch for a conference. The owner of the motor lodge was very welcoming and friendly. I had a 1/2 bedroom apartment – the second bedroom was on a mezzanine level above the lounge/kitchen area. All items needed were included in the kitchen for preparing a simple meal. The apartment and the surrounding were spotlessly clean and tidy. The bathroom was slightly older in style but seems to have been revamped recently to bring it up to date. The location is on the main road into the city centre with Hagley Park just around the corner. The only issue I had with the location was that it is on a main road but those used to traffic noise would have not issue with this and the traffic died down later at night. There are a couple of bars and restaurants in walking distance of the motel and a small supermarket along the road. I would definitely recommend this option for someone looking for accommodation close to Hagley Park

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road if you are unused to traffic noise
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

Stayed for one night in large 2 bedroomed apartment - great facilities including outdoor pool and laundry. Easy walking distance to park and into the city. Good cafes within walking distance for breakfast. Some late night noise from other residents.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giddychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank jastas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashfordmotorlodge, Manager at Ashford Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Barao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashfordmotorlodge, Manager at Ashford Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank soiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashfordmotorlodge, Manager at Ashford Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#66 of 146 in Christchurch
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
724 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Motor Lodge

Address: 35 Papanui Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £57 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashford Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ashford Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing