We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ranked #42 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Had a four bed appartment (#2) next to the street. Nice location with friendly and helpful stuff which welcomes us to new zealand. The rooms were clean and spacious. The motel is near to the city that you can reach center or botanical garden by foot within 15-20 minutes.
Only 4 from 5 points cause of the thin windows and walls which could not block the traffic noises in the morning. Maybe an appartment more away from the street let you sleep longer. Also the big breakfast with 15,50 NZD per person was overpriced.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

good location, good reception and big enough for 4 people. We booked a two-bedroom apartment, the room upstairs has no door... And the apartment is just beside the busy road, noisy! No oven in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yileish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My husband, our four year old son and I stayed here for 18 days as part of the time our house was getting repaired from the Christchurch earthquakes. We stayed in a 2 bedroom downstairs unit at the back of the property close to the pool. The unit was well equiped with stove top, fridge, pots etc to be able to cook. Also has a microwave. Flat screen TV's with sky in lounge and both bedrooms. The beds were comfortable and we slept well as was nice and quiet. Our unit was always cleaned well. We used the pool several times, this was also kept clean and was great to cool down as a couple of the days were a hot 30.c and 31.c. We had a free newspaper delivered at our door Monday to Saturday. There are some places to eat within walking distance, and the city centre and botanic gardens are close to. There is off street parking also. Neal and Carol were great hosts, friendly and helpful. We would stay again, think it is good value and highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Units at the rear are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelacurtain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Would highly recommend this property, it ticks all the boxes they were helpful, cheerful, tidy and very clean along with being very quiet, fantastic nights sleep. The cost was very reasonable for us. A property worth visiting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed here for one night on our 4 week road trip. In honesty I should state this was our second choice after the Latimer Hotel was closed after the earthquake but it was a choice we did not regret. Although the weather was not very good when we arrived our spirits were lifted by an excellent host who was very forthcoming with local information and even lent us an umbrella when we went out to explore Christchurch. Our unit was nicely decorated, well equipped & very peaceful despite it's proximity to a major road in the city. If the level of hospitality demonstrated by our hosts is anything to go by I hope Christchurch gets back on it's feet as they could not have been more helpful. Thanks.

Room Tip: For an excellent meal visit the 5 curries Indian restaurant in Victoria Street which most websites d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew_graham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

From booking on the internet to booking the shuttle to the railway station at the end of my stay the staff at Ashford could not have been more helpful. The room they gave was large, comfortable and I was able to cook for myself using an 'easy to use' microwave. Just a walk away from the Red Zone (following the earthquakes) I was able to see first hand all the devastation without expensive tour fees. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in rooms 15 and 13 (ground floor at the back) during my split stay and both good value. (th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stay at the Ashford quite a bit for work. The place is really well fitted out with everything you could need. Very clean and the beds are comfy. I would always stay here. Carol and Neal are great hosts and go beyound the call of duty to help. I have stayed at many other motels priced around the same and I have found the Ashford to be much better option.

Room Tip: Anything up the back and upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#68 of 146 in Christchurch
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#37 of 146 in Christchurch
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot Motor Lodge
Camelot Motor Lodge
#62 of 146 in Christchurch
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Motor Lodge

Address: 35 Papanui Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £52 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashford Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ashford Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing