We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book early or you will miss out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ranked #38 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Book early or you will miss out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Accomodation is sparsely available at Christchurch, and you need to book early to get a nice hotel, and this place you won't go wrong. Well located, nicely furnished, with clean rooms, and good old fashioned service, you simply cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigandblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    56
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
51
39
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

As a limousine driver we stay in many different types of accommodation, and the Ashford is one of the best, always exceptionaly clean, close to restaurants, Hagley park and the city, well furnished and very comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: All the different rooms I have stayed in seem very quiet but I would say the further you are away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerryQueenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Friendly, helpful & accommodating owner/staff. Location is on a main road & on bus route although we didn't get effected by the traffic noise. Restaurants, bottle store etc all within walking distance.Shopping mall within walking distance too. Very handy to Hagley Park. Rooms clean & tidy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Very neat and tidy but as others have written we were in the two bed family apartment No. 1 from memory, it is closest to street and very noisy day and night. But a great spot handy to everything. Recommendations from staff for where to eat were spot on. They even rang and arranged bookings for us. Very helpful.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DebPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Warmly greeted by the managers. Good sized rooms. Bathroom and kitchenette were OK. Close enough to walk to town centre, and restaurants / cages in Merivale. We enjoyed our stay, the only draw back was we were at the front of the complex and the hum of traffic noise started early finishing late, so sleep broken if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Had a four bed appartment (#2) next to the street. Nice location with friendly and helpful stuff which welcomes us to new zealand. The rooms were clean and spacious. The motel is near to the city that you can reach center or botanical garden by foot within 15-20 minutes.
Only 4 from 5 points cause of the thin windows and walls which could not block the traffic noises in the morning. Maybe an appartment more away from the street let you sleep longer. Also the big breakfast with 15,50 NZD per person was overpriced.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

good location, good reception and big enough for 4 people. We booked a two-bedroom apartment, the room upstairs has no door... And the apartment is just beside the busy road, noisy! No oven in the kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yileish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.0 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Comfort Motel
Southern Comfort Motel
#80 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camelot Motor Lodge
Camelot Motor Lodge
#55 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milano Motor Lodge
Milano Motor Lodge
#50 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#41 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Motor Lodge

Property: Ashford Motor Lodge
Address: 35 Papanui Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ashford Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashford Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing