We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel - disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ranked #41 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked this accommodation in January 2014 when in Christchurch with my mum. She was visiting Christchurch with three sisters for Home and Garden tour. In January we were shown rooms 13 & 14 respectively and advised these would be the accommodation (so group were close together and had their own beds). However upon arrival the guests prior to them booking in were upgraded to mums room she had booked Unbelievable! So they were given a pull out bed with duvet under mattress for comfort. These women had secured a booking in January are all in their 70's. Aware accommodation is scarce in Christchurch that is why we viewed and booked in advance. Won't be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

arrived to find we had been booked into a large unit with its on parking space right outside the front door which was lovely not having to lug luggage around to much after along drive. Unfortunately when we arrived the pool was not open for use and by the time we had come back from looking around it was then to cold to use, but it looked well maintained. Owner recommended a restaurant to eat at with a bonus of a voucher for money off. Only stayed for one night but could see that it would be a great place to stay for longer

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sues09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

First timer in New Zealand and my first experience in a motel
Very clean room and very spacious
Great for a small family
Close to the town centre
Good value around £ 75 per room
Would definitely recommend it
A stone throw from the Carlton bar which is a must as well

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank petitgastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great location....only fifteen min drive from airport and a ten min walk to Hagley Park and city.
Easy to walk to Cathedral square, Victoria square, museum, botanical gdns and buses
Stayed here twice....when we first arrived for two nights and for three nights before we flew back. Owners were extremely helpful and pleasant. Rooms clean and spacious, tvs, free wifi.
Merivale mall 8 min walk with supermarket chemist etc there. Few Asian restaurants nearby plus HeRtland hotel restaurant. Nice little pool.
Recommended.

Room Tip: 17 was great apartment for family with spacious lounge with two metal framed sofa beds, ready made u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgbkgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Last stop from NZ trip, impressed with the suite. The room is modern and big, great facilities with huge LCD TV and 200mb free wifi. Complete set of cooking gears. Great location, close to city, shopping centre and restaurants. Friendly service reception. Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The location is good and there are good eateries within walking distance. On the surface, the room is clean but the cupboards had cobwebs and some have obviously not been cleaned for quite a while. We wanted to have toast but the state of the toaster made us change our minds rapidly. It is comfortable enough but we have stayed in better accommodation for the same price range. The people at reception were friendly and helpful and that helped make up for the less than expected cleanliness of the place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The apartment is clean and new (morden).there is a big LCD TV in the living room and also TV in each bedroom. good location to everywhere (petrol station and supermarket nearby and also free 200MB free internet). only 13 minutes to airport. I will definitely come back

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank kathy4188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#45 of 146 in Christchurch
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.1 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#38 of 146 in Christchurch
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot Motor Lodge
Camelot Motor Lodge
#80 of 146 in Christchurch
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Motor Lodge

Address: 35 Papanui Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £56 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashford Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ashford Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing