We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!”
Review of Clearview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clearview Lodge
Ranked #12 of 136 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before and she was especially wary, but all of the excellent reviews persuaded her that the Clearview Lodge would be a great choice for our first. I'm afraid that the bar has been set so high, it will be a difficult experience to top.

We took a two week holiday with her parents that were visiting from the US. The first week in Melbourne, combined with their jet lag, made them really look forward to a more relaxing second week in New Zealand. Our hosts, Sue and Robin, were very accomodating and greeted us with with wine from their vineyards and olive oil from their groves.

One of the highlights of the trip for my mother-in-law was the tour that Sue gave us of the grounds and her beautiful gardens. And my father-in-law enjoyed the cats! Though I would have to say that his favorite part of the stay was being able to watch the Superbowl in the middle of the afternoon on the commfortable leather furniture in the guests' lounge.

Even before our arrival, Sue took great care of us! I was trying to book tickets on the Tranz Alpine train from Christchurch to Greymouth through the Southern Alps, but was having trouble from Singapore. Sue's efforts saved us hundreds of dollars on the round trip. Her sage advice to book our trip a day later when New Zealand had a national holiday saved us from from being disappointed in trying to see other local attractions that might have been closed.

The house was beautiful, well appointed, and very clean. Again, the grounds were gorgeous. But my personal favorite part of out stay was the breakfast that Robin and Sue took turns making us every morning! We had loads of fresh local fruit, breads, teas, and coffee. They were also very knowledgeable about local restaurants and the pizza delivery our first night saved us from having to venture out again after a long day of travel.

My wife's favorite was the treasure trove of menus from local restaurants she found in the guests' lounge upstairs! The location of the Clearview Lodge in a northern suburb of Christchurch made it very easy for us to enjoy great meals within a very short 10-15 minute drive. Not being used to driving on the left, that was literally a life-saver for me...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArnoldEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Clearview Lodge was among the top accomodations we had during our 1 month trip around New Zealand. Sue and Robin were very warm and welcoming when we arrived and despite our jet lag we felt right at home. The property itself and the surrounding area is beautifully landscaped and the room was wonderful, plus our hosts shared their own wine with us which was very special. We highly recommend the Clearview Lodge if you are in the Christchurch area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Fantastic house....for the rich and famous:) We came early and were greeted with warmth, kindness and apple coffee cake with tea. Sue and Robin went out of their way to make sure that our journey (Air travel) went off without a hitch. Guests can go up to the common room (Which over looks their vineyards and their neighbor's deer farm.) In the evening, guests can enjoy wine from the vineyard along with nuts, olive oil and bread and other snacks and stimulating conversation with the other guests hosted by Robin and Sue. Many of the snacks were from the orchards and garden. The breakfasts were great...made to order. The hosts really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Your not pampered, but thoughtfully taken care of.
Our bedroom was on the first floor. We loved the spacious room, the settee, the king size bed the lovely bathroom, the french doors that led into the back yard, the soft bathrobes and slippers and fruit and chocolate.
They have free WI-FI

Room Tip: We loved the first floor bedroom.... I believe the price is $375.00 a night, but I think you may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We did not plan to stay at Clearview. We had actually planned to stay in a hotel down the road which got flooded, so that hotel booked us into Clearview Lodge for the night. Very happy that they did.

The hosts were amazing. The house and grounds are impeccable. The breakfast was lovely and homely. I have no hesitation in recommending Clearview to everybody and should we ever be in the vicinity again, that is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DimmestAcorn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful vacation to New Zealand. Of all our accommodations Clearview was by far the best. Sue and Robin were terrific hosts and their bed and breakfast lodging was delightful. We arrived late in the day from Kaikora. We were greeted by both hosts and then settled into our extremely clean and comfortable room. We had a beautiful view of the back lawn and vineyards from our balcony. Fresh fruit, cold water and chocolates were placed next to our bed. We visited with Sue and Robin in the public lounge that night and enjoyed some wine and port from their own vineyard. They were extremely helpful in their recommendations of what to do and where to eat in the Christchurch area. Sue called for us to the Curator's House (fabulous food) by the Botanical Gardens to make reservations for the next night. We wanted to celebrate our last night in NZ with our son and his friends and the restaurant was a perfect choice. We would not have been able to eat at the Curator's House on such short notice if it had not been for Sue's call.
Robin's breakfasts were delicious. He asked what we would like to eat and cooked the eggs to perfection. Sue's homemade jams on freshly baked breads were scrumptious. Everything about Clearview Lodge receives a "10 out of 10". I only wish it was closer to Richmond, Virginia!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 265Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
etypejaguar, Owner at Clearview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Margaret and Bruce, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your dinner with Andrew and his friends. I hope Andrew enjoys the rest of his time in New Zealand and maybe you can come and visit again and see some of the places you missed on this trip and come back again to see us. Regards Sue and Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I and a friend stayed for 3 nights in February 2014. I chose this location because I had been very impressed on a previous, solo, visit the year before. I was not disappointed. Robin and Sue were marvellous hosts who made us feel like part of their family. Their home is a magnificent property of which they are, justifiably, very proud. and they did everything to make us feel comfortable in it. I will certainly want to return aagain and will recommend it to anyone without reservation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
etypejaguar, Owner at Clearview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

David, Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. It was really nice to see you again. I hope you got to visit the Museum in Waiouru as we discussed. Please remember to contact me when you plan to come back again and I will check to see if the Akaroa Museum has the display open which you wanted to see. Regards Sue and Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at Clearview for four nights over two visits. Sue and Robin were such gracious hosts, providing a great location, very warm and inviting. They went above and beyond in so many ways to make our stay at Christchurch so special, from helping with dietary requirements to recommendations for where to go to in Christchurch and the surrounding area. Would definitely recommend the Lodge to friends and family as a great location to visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
etypejaguar, Owner at Clearview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Gordon and Jeanette, Thank you for taking the time to write. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed your train trip to the West Coast. We really enjoy when guests stay with us and then come back later in their holiday and we hear all about the things you most enjoyed. I'm glad you enjoyed the Zuchini slice as I haven't made with gluten free flour before but now I know it works well, I will use it again. Regards Sue and Robin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
5.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
662 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#10 of 146 in Christchurch
205 reviews
5.0 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
648 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
5.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
#41 of 146 in Christchurch
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearview Lodge

Address: 8 Clearwater Avenue | Harewood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: £182 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clearview Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our intimate 5 Star vineyard B&B with just 3 en-suite rooms. Enjoy a glass of our Pinot Noir in peaceful private gardens. A haven to come home to after a busy day exploring Christchurch and Canterbury. Only 15 minutes to Christchurch city centre, less to International Airport. Just off SH1, 40 minutes to Waipara wineries, 90 minutes to Hanmer Springs and Akaroa, 20-30 minutes to Tranzalpine train, Walk to Clearwater Golf Resort, Lakes Restaurant, Kiwi at Willowbank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing