We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only in Summer” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middlepark Motel

Middlepark Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Middlepark Motel
Ranked #132 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Only in Summer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This property is hopelessly inadequate to cope with CHC winters - 1 oil column heater and 1 econo heat. We had to ask for extra heating which was begrudgingly given. I have seen tea towels with greater thermal qualities than the curtains. The rooms are tiny - ok if you have small kids and the bathroom was impossible to warm. Shower delivered a dribble of hot water. Very dated old fashioned kitchen which was poorly equipped. Was not cheap either - cheaper yes but not cheap. Only 2 positives - lovely setting and cottages were clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macattakmanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We spent four nights in Christchurch late February 2013 and were lucky enough to “stumble” across this very pleasant motel. Spacious and quiet grounds, well spaced units and all of the comforts we could ask for to enjoy a four night stay. Parked the hired vehicle and used the local buses to the wonderful city of Christchurch and were able to walk to shops, restaurants and whatever else we needed. Sue was kind enough to assist with advice re tours, taxis and whatever else we asked of her and we were extremely grateful for the courtesies extended to us by both Vaughan and Sue. Recommended as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 02squirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We found ourselves staying here by default as our booking elsewhere had been mysteriously "cancelled". How lucky we were !!! The propietors went above and beyond to accomodate us and make our first stay in New Zealand memorable. Our 2 br unit was set back on the spacious, well maintained grounds of the property and, even though we were on a main road, the only sounds we heard were the birds. The unit iself had a large living area, was comfortably furnished and fully equipped if we wished to cook. The alfresco area outside was a great place to relax after the day's outings. We even had a hedgehog do it's nightly walk in the pretty garden area !!! Comfortable beds provided a great night's sleep and it was great having virtually instant hot water in the shower and kitchen. The unit was maintained daily and there was no shortage of anything we required. Supermarkets, restaurants, even a Westfield shopping centre are in close location and the city itself is only about 10 minutes away. All in all, a great place to stay. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueG2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Clean, comfortable and warm with a relaxed family feel. Proprietors very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had unit 18 which is a two bedroom unit. The whole facility is visibly old and in need of modernisation. The furniture is relatively new and comfortable, however the queen bed needs replacing. The bathroom and kitchen (fully equipped) really show the age of the facility. The unit is spacious and was super clean with heaps of towels. The unit has adequate heating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidKriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Have stayed in Christchurch many times before, with all the earthquake activity I was looking for a motel that was single storey, towards the outer of the city and quiet.... and i found it. Was a very peaceful two night stay. Very child friendly with all the playground equipement. Very quiet and situated off a busy road. Not too far from Riccarton and the nearest supermarket a short drive. Would recommend and would stay again...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Thanks Vaughan for all your help finding and planning things to do in Christchurch and surounds. We found the round trip to Akaroa exeptionaly beautiful.We enjoyed staying in your hotel and found it very clean and tidy. All the Best

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.5 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#27 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
4.9 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#46 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amalfi Motor Lodge
Amalfi Motor Lodge
#65 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tui Lodge Motel
Tui Lodge Motel
#116 of 148 in Christchurch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.5 mi away
Airport Birches Motel
Airport Birches Motel
#60 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.6 mi away
Addington City Motel
Addington City Motel
#50 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlepark Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlepark Motel

Property: Middlepark Motel
Address: 120 Main South Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8443, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodation set in one hectare of quiet, park like surroundings with a large central playground. Seven studios, six family units and seven separate cottages all with full kitchen facilities, serviced daily. Situated away from traffic noise with easy access off street parking and plenty of room to relax. Pets welcome by arrangement. 10 kms from city centre and airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing