We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience a night in jail, in comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jailhouse Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
jakarta
Level Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Experience a night in jail, in comfort”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

One of the best budgeted hostel/ backpacker accommodation we came across during our our trip in NZ. Great location, clean (and yes a bit cold) room, super spacious and complete set of communal kitchen, spotless communal bathroom. Great people to hang out with when you're cooking together.
You can even have your own mug-shot, they provide you with the uniform and photo background.
You will have a lot of fun here :)

You can find my complete review on this accomodation in our blog : http://www.travelingcow.com/2012/01/nz-trip-udah-menginap-di-penjara-bayar.html

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vayastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    207
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
21
134
180
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Having never stayed in prison before this was a great experience. Yes maybe the rooms are a little cold and it's all a bit inhospitable but that's the point isn't it!? DVD player in the room with free DVDs to borrow was a big plus, as well as board games etc to borrow. If you're passing through Christchurch come and stay at the jailhouse for a night or two, it's an experience you won't forget!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_winn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

What a fun place. Comfy bunkbeds, huge kitchen, great bathroom facilities. They even have prison outfits to dress up in for photos. Highly recommended for those looking for a unique experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stretke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I agree with the reviews on here that say that this hostel is a novelty that soon wears off and falls below the normal hostel standards. It is an interesting concept and fun to look around/ have your picture taken etc but after a few hours the novelty wears off and it can actually be quite a haunting place to stay. Its very cold and lights go out at 9pm. Its more expensive than other hostels and it is quite far out from the city centre. Although the hostel falls below the standards of other hostels, if it were to change anything (make it warmer, have nicer toilets) it would lose its gimmick and detract from the prison element.
In conclusion, good fun for one night - don't stay here if you don't want to stay in a jail because that's exactly what it is (basic, no comforts, cold, poor internet, poor toilets).

Room Tip: The private rooms are just like prisoner's cells - if you are travelling alone and this would fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackdawjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in August 2011.
It was winter and therefore the little double room we stayed in was cold but we just rugged up. We had a couple making loud *ahem* noises very late at night - not ideal when there are open air vents from room to room letting in sound.
We hired bikes and rode to around literally around the city.
Overall a fine place for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Behmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

yes, it was a jail...end of the novelty. this hostel doesn't live up to the normal hostel standards, because the rooms are cold, the bathrooms are not clean and the employees not always friendly (they can be quite rude). The location is the worse, they claim to be the closest to the train station, but when you have never been to Christchurch you may not know that train stations is freaking far from anywhere and its completely useless to stay here for tourist purposes, unless you are taking the train the next morning....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancunquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Probably the nicest place of that type that I've been to. It had quite a few beds in the room but it was not too bad as each bed has a locker assigned to it (I've never had that before)!

The experience is quite interesting as you are staying in the old jail.

Stayed there only one night and did not regret it at all.

Nice location for those of you who like walking, walk to the city is not too bad !

Would definitely recommend to my friends to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
1,690 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
636 reviews
1.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#3 of 103 in Christchurch
194 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 103 in Christchurch
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Accommodation

Property: Jailhouse Accommodation
Address: 338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhouse Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Budget Accommodation to the Railway Station! Award winning hostel. 'Author's Pick' in Christchurch for Lonely Planet and Rough Guide 2008. Top mid-sized Independent BBH hostel in NZ. WiFi. Free parking. Newly renovated heritage accommodation with a colourful history as the former Addington Prison. Private Single, Double, Twin bunk and Group/Family/Dorm rooms available in our budget Christchurch accommodation. Clean, warm, friendly with super-comfortable beds close to top Christchurch attractions. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jailhouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing