We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice concept!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jailhouse Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Little rooms (but we knew because it's jail ;-), and a little bit cold. But a nice experience! With a cosy tv room, a great staff and a very clean kitchen. Go there!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

I made deposits for March 7 and March 9 for a single standard room with a single bed and a TV. The first night was great and fun. When I came back on March 9 it was a disaster. They had given away the room I had reserved and put me in a room with bunk beds and no TV. After unlocking the door to my cell with bunk beds, I went back to the front desk and complained. The woman at the front desk said that they had changed the classification of my room that day. She said if I had come in earlier I would have gotten the room I wanted. My train was late and I couldn't get there any sooner. Besides, I paid a deposit for a single standard room with TV so why didn't I get what I paid for? The young woman called the manager and the manager said, "no refunds or discounts." So BEWARE. You don't get what you pay for.

Room Tip: I can't answer because they don't stand by their word.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is a great fun hostel - a converted jail. So the rooms are a little small, but they're comfortable. The place has good kitchen facilities and the staff are friendly.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I booked this accommodation on the recommendation of a Guide to New Zealand freebie book, and I wasn't disappointed. Everything was organised, down to being given a towel on arrival, and a guided tour of the communal areas and kitchens. As I hadn't stayed in a hostel before - and as a very mature traveller - I just hoped it wasn't full of teenagers getting drunk! But it wasn't like that at all.
To begin with, I was not the oldest 'inmate' there (the hostel's terminology, not mine); noise was not a factor as I had a room in the 'quiet zone' on the ground floor where no noise is allowed between 9.30pm and 8am.
Cooking facilities were excellent, and the whole area was clean. A free map is available, which I personally found invaluable as it was up-to-date.
I had a room with bunk beds as the single rooms had all been taken. Linen was clean, bed was comfortable. There are even hotwater bottles provided as it can get a bit chilly in the room - not to be unexpected really as the place WAS a 'corrective' establishment. I didn't feel cold at all.
Local facilities were reasonable - Burger King nearby (no surprises there), a couple of convenience stores, Subway, fish& chips, and so on.
It takes about 20 minutes to walk into Christchurch itself or, to get back, a number 7 bus from the Bus Exchange ($3.50) and it stops right outside the hostel.
A bus can be ordered to take you to the airport, or there is a free bus to the station - but only at specific times for those ones.

Room Tip: I had Room 6 on the ground floor. Rooms 4 and 5 are right next to the toilet/shower room, so might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodstock1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was a really cool place to stay. At first I felt a bit freaked out that it use to be a jail, but that's what made it awesome. I stayed in a twin room (a set of bunks), and what makes this place unique is that you're actually just staying in a jail cell. It's a great experience! They have good facilities - bike rental, 2 different cinema rooms, pool table and a really well equipt kitchen. The bathrooms were really clean as well! Bit of a walk to get to anywhere, but as it was nice weather this didn't bother me too much!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sb1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I never ever thought of staying in a jail until I came across The Jailhouse Accommodation. They converted the Jailhouse into a hostel very nicely. Its easy to find and has a parking area if you were to drive. Its a 15 min walk to the center of Christchurch. The communal bathrooms are clean and work very well. Its such a different experience from other hostels.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here beginning of december, so a late revieuw. Better late then never. The place is great to stay. You sleep in this prison cell at a bunkbed. The enviroment is great. Its has a kitchen, tv room and laundry service. Its a little bit located outside the centre but you can catch any bus for that. The staff is very friendly, helpfull. For the backpacker a great place to stay the night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardvanArk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,994 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#11 of 108 in Christchurch
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 108 in Christchurch
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#3 of 108 in Christchurch
196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 138 in Christchurch
280 reviews
3.6 mi away
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 108 in Christchurch
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Accommodation

Address: 338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £15 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhouse Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Budget Accommodation to the Railway Station! Award winning hostel. 'Author's Pick' in Christchurch for Lonely Planet and Rough Guide 2008. Top mid-sized Independent BBH hostel in NZ. WiFi. Free parking. Newly renovated heritage accommodation with a colourful history as the former Addington Prison. Private Single, Double, Twin bunk and Group/Family/Dorm rooms available in our budget Christchurch accommodation. Clean, warm, friendly with super-comfortable beds close to top Christchurch attractions. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jailhouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing