We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying in jail - awesome experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jailhouse Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Staying in jail - awesome experience!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The jailhouse accommodation in Christchurch at New Zealand's beautiful east coast is my favourite hostel amongst all the ones I've visited during my trip. Not only that the today's backpackers is a old cell block of the Addington prison from 1874 and you're sleeping in the former cells with metal-grilled windows and heavy metal doors (amazing atmosphere!). It is also super clean, has a fully equipped big kitchen, cinema room, WiFi and internet cafe for reasonable rates, and always friendly and helpful jail wardens.
Absolutely recommendable and a must do when staying in Christchurch!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    207
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
20
133
180
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed there for two nights and cannot fault it at all! It was such an amazing experience!

The staff were so helpful and friendly. It was close to AMI Stadium for the rugby.

It was a quiet 2 nights except for one drunken boy on the Saturday who caused trouble but he was quickly addressed to when complaints (not just from me!) came in.

My only complaint is the TV had only one working channel and the curtains needed liners as the light from outside reflected off the mirror and lit up the entire room.

I will be staying here again in May and July. Thanks again!

Room Tip: Try to get a single room. I came late at night make sure you have the right keycode for entry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlankerLady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This place was awesome, the room was quiet, the staff was amazing and the amenities perfect. We loved the 9:00 PM quiet time and the opportunity to do laundry. We were so impressed we drove back on our way thru to get T shirts because they did not have them on our first trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantstayhome27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, the room is quiet because it's a bit off the street, shower very strong and hot, people friendly, bathroom clean, check-in service friendly, all amenities adequate, we even get free shuttle service to train station the next day, so for the price we pay we are happy to be here, certainly an experience to treasure!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ak0793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

very nice accommodation with guitars in the reception that you can borrow... it was pretty cool to sleep inside a jail... the kitchen is also nice... and there is an excellent pub just down the road.. the pub was actually one of the highlights as well... must go...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thiagop1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed att this place for two nights, the booking was made in advance. We stayed in a privateroom and the price was 80$ per night. The staff was average, not bad and not the best. On the downside is that you can't get private shower and toilet, share only... On the other hand everything was clean with exeption from the mens toilet.

+
Cool atmosphere
Quiet (loud boulding but signs with quietarea made it good)
Clean and fresh
Free parking
Calm area

-
No private shower or toilet
Mens toilet not so fresh
Expensive and slow wi-fi.

We can absolutley recommend the jailhouse acommadation.

Sorry for my bad english, not my native languange.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D-Centurion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed in a castle? Done that. An art deco building? Check. Now what about a prison? It's nowhere as bad as it may seem.

+ It's not often that you get to stay in a historic building, and this neo-Gothic beauty isn't a let-down in the charm stakes. They keep the theme going throughout and preserved a couple of cells, but it doesn't get corny or uncomfortable. The staff do a great job of cleaning the place in the mornings.

+ It's close to several good cafes like Addington Co-op, North & South, New York Deli and Mosaic, a drycleaners and convenience stores, not to mention the railway station and the bus stop.

+ Even in the dorms the beds are made. That's a first for me.

+ The managers and WWOOFers know heaps and are really helpful.

- Being in a nice neighbourhood comes with a price premium, and the big supermarkets and city centre are some distance away.

- Wifi isn't free, although the nearby BK and Cargo Bar have it.

- The lockers are too small for backpacks, and this seems to be an issue everywhere I go in this country.

Room Tip: No lifts here (what do else you expect from a prison?), be prepared to climb with your luggage if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bargeboards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 102 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Accommodation

Property: Jailhouse Accommodation
Address: 338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhouse Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Budget Accommodation to the Railway Station! Award winning hostel. 'Author's Pick' in Christchurch for Lonely Planet and Rough Guide 2008. Top mid-sized Independent BBH hostel in NZ. WiFi. Free parking. Newly renovated heritage accommodation with a colourful history as the former Addington Prison. Private Single, Double, Twin bunk and Group/Family/Dorm rooms available in our budget Christchurch accommodation. Clean, warm, friendly with super-comfortable beds close to top Christchurch attractions. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jailhouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing