We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Prison to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jailhouse Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Best Prison to stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Staying in Jailhouse was very unique and impressive. I slept in a fresh made bed, in a nearly original cell. The old building with it's thick walls and heavy iron doors appeared cold and scary, but the friendly staff made me feel very comfortable. The hostel is super clean and got a well organized kitchen with all utensils you need. The citypark, botanic gardens, retail stores , caffes, restaurantes and pubs are all in a walking distance of 5 - 15 minutes or just take a bike. A 'break-in' to Jalihouse Accommodation is absolutly worth it !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    208
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
21
134
185
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hostel was a bit hard to find right off the road, so be aware that it's just a small sign you need to look for.
We stayed for 2 days in a double prvt room. It was very clean and super quiet. We stayed in May so it was a slower time of year, but nonetheless, it was very clean, bathrooms were attended to every few hours, there was a curfew which was appreciated as it is large and voices can easily echo.

The kitchen was excellent, super tidy and well organized. It was actually one of the most well equipped kitchens we've seen.

Rooms can get a tad cold at night with no controlled heat but they provide additional blankets, which we made use of.

Overall, it was a great stay and a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you are looking for a cool and unique experience staying in a Prison go ahead and book a stay here! It is also near to the Railway Station and provide free shuttle service to the station. So it will be good if you decide to hop on the Tranzalpine train the next day.

However I feel that toilet and shower facilities could be improved. The shower rooms have 4 showers cubicles but only has 1 for toilet. Showers curtain should also be added as the towels and clothes hang on the door gets wet easily. There's also no heating in the shared shower room so it gets freezing after shower! Also, noise is a problem in the hostel too as all the rooms are within the building in an enclose area, echos can be easily heard when people are talking loudly in the common or activity areas.

The hostel is also located 20-25 mins of walking from the town centre and there isn't much nice cafes and restaurants around the area. If you are driving that wouldn't be a problem at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xuan Cheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Staying in Jailhouse was very unique and impressive. I slept on fresh made beds, in a nearly original cell. The old building with it's thick walls and heavy iron doors appeared cold and scary, but the friendly staff made me feel very comfortable. The hostel is super clean and got a well organized kitchen with all utensils you need. The citypark, botanic gardens, retail stores , caffes, restaurantes and pubs are all in a walking distance of 5 - 15 minutes.
A 'break-in' to Jalihouse Accommodation is absolutly worth it !

Room Tip: If your interested in meeting new people on your journey, ask for a bed in one of the Dorm rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Had a great couple of nights at the Jailhouse hostel in Christchurch.
The building is great and kept very clean. The staff were really helpful and friendly as well. The rooms are original old jail cells which is really cool, and it felt more like a hotel than a hostel. The kitchen was well equipped unlike a lot of other hostels I've stayed in where stuff was damaged or had been stolen.
Had fun hanging out watching movies and there was even free popcorn in the evenings.
Overall I really enjoyed my time here and would recommend it highly!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The jailhouse accommodation is a must stay for all those visiting Christchurch. As a converted historic jailhouse, it provides a unique experience for all budgets. The hostel was always in a clean state and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel was in a perfect location, within minutes from Hagley Park and about a 30 minute walk through the park to the Canterbury museum. It was so nice to come back after sightseeing in the city to enjoy the movie and free caramel popcorn. The kitchen is spacious and has plenty of fridge and freezer room. I was very impressed with this hostel and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a unique place to stay in Christchurch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurisdiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I've been working in this hostel for 1 months time and really enjoyed my experience in jail. The inmates are really great and the facilities are very well kept. Just the overall idea of how this place came to be is certainly something worth checking out. It is definitely a place to escape and enjoy the silence with just a fifteen/twenty minute walk into the heart of Addington. There are also a few pubs and eateries just around the corner if you fancy a night out. I highly recommend booking here! This prison has its perks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresamariemassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,844 reviews
1.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#4 of 103 in Christchurch
200 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#11 of 103 in Christchurch
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#6 of 103 in Christchurch
189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#21 of 145 in Christchurch
230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#16 of 103 in Christchurch
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Accommodation

Property: Jailhouse Accommodation
Address: 338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhouse Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Budget Accommodation to the Railway Station! Award winning hostel. 'Author's Pick' in Christchurch for Lonely Planet and Rough Guide 2008. Top mid-sized Independent BBH hostel in NZ. WiFi. Free parking. Newly renovated heritage accommodation with a colourful history as the former Addington Prison. Private Single, Double, Twin bunk and Group/Family/Dorm rooms available in our budget Christchurch accommodation. Clean, warm, friendly with super-comfortable beds close to top Christchurch attractions. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jailhouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing