We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Here you wanna be imprisoned!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jailhouse Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jailhouse Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Rostock, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Here you wanna be imprisoned!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you ever wanted to see a prison from the inside, this is the one to be 'imprisoned' in. Great hostel, special atmosphere, cool people and super helpful staff. You actually get to stay in the former cells which have been transformed into cozy rooms with comfortable beds which guarantee a good night's sleep. The kitchen has everything that you could possibly need to cook and bake and make a good traveller's meal. Also, it's one of the cleanest hostels I have ever stayed in. The staff really makes an effort to keep the place nice and make you feel like home. The guys at reception literally have an answer to every question and help to find your way around Christchurch, which can be quite confusing these days with all the ever changing roadblocks. For rainy days there's a big movie collection and a cinema room. All in all, jailhouse is THE place to stay at in Christchurch. Had a great time and definitely coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    207
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
19
133
175
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Definitely the best prison you'll ever stay in. The beds are certainly the best in any hostel I've stayed in and the staff are very friendly and helpful too. Very good location as it's close to bars and parks. I thought it would be cold in my room, but they give you extra blankets and hot water bottles!

I'd recommend this hostel for anyone staying in Christchurch.

Room Tip: The 10 Bed Dorms are good as they have their own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the JailHouse and we have not to complain about but the price, 90NZD/night for a double room, which in my opinion is a bit overpriced considering its location.. However the room was very clean and the bed very comfy, also the staff was great, specially Julia from the reception, just go to her if you need anything!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FromDublinToTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Staying in Jailhouse was very unique and impressive. I slept in a fresh made bed, in a nearly original cell. The old building with it's thick walls and heavy iron doors appeared cold and scary, but the friendly staff made me feel very comfortable. The hostel is super clean and got a well organized kitchen with all utensils you need. The citypark, botanic gardens, retail stores , caffes, restaurantes and pubs are all in a walking distance of 5 - 15 minutes or just take a bike. A 'break-in' to Jalihouse Accommodation is absolutly worth it !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hostel was a bit hard to find right off the road, so be aware that it's just a small sign you need to look for.
We stayed for 2 days in a double prvt room. It was very clean and super quiet. We stayed in May so it was a slower time of year, but nonetheless, it was very clean, bathrooms were attended to every few hours, there was a curfew which was appreciated as it is large and voices can easily echo.

The kitchen was excellent, super tidy and well organized. It was actually one of the most well equipped kitchens we've seen.

Rooms can get a tad cold at night with no controlled heat but they provide additional blankets, which we made use of.

Overall, it was a great stay and a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you are looking for a cool and unique experience staying in a Prison go ahead and book a stay here! It is also near to the Railway Station and provide free shuttle service to the station. So it will be good if you decide to hop on the Tranzalpine train the next day.

However I feel that toilet and shower facilities could be improved. The shower rooms have 4 showers cubicles but only has 1 for toilet. Showers curtain should also be added as the towels and clothes hang on the door gets wet easily. There's also no heating in the shared shower room so it gets freezing after shower! Also, noise is a problem in the hostel too as all the rooms are within the building in an enclose area, echos can be easily heard when people are talking loudly in the common or activity areas.

The hostel is also located 20-25 mins of walking from the town centre and there isn't much nice cafes and restaurants around the area. If you are driving that wouldn't be a problem at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xuan Cheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Staying in Jailhouse was very unique and impressive. I slept on fresh made beds, in a nearly original cell. The old building with it's thick walls and heavy iron doors appeared cold and scary, but the friendly staff made me feel very comfortable. The hostel is super clean and got a well organized kitchen with all utensils you need. The citypark, botanic gardens, retail stores , caffes, restaurantes and pubs are all in a walking distance of 5 - 15 minutes.
A 'break-in' to Jalihouse Accommodation is absolutly worth it !

Room Tip: If your interested in meeting new people on your journey, ask for a bed in one of the Dorm rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#9 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Accommodation

Property: Jailhouse Accommodation
Address: 338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jailhouse Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Budget Accommodation to the Railway Station! Award winning hostel. 'Author's Pick' in Christchurch for Lonely Planet and Rough Guide 2008. Top mid-sized Independent BBH hostel in NZ. WiFi. Free parking. Newly renovated heritage accommodation with a colourful history as the former Addington Prison. Private Single, Double, Twin bunk and Group/Family/Dorm rooms available in our budget Christchurch accommodation. Clean, warm, friendly with super-comfortable beds close to top Christchurch attractions. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Jailhouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing