We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hostel, cool place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jailhouse Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here just one night, a 30 minute walk from where the naked bus drops you off, easy to find as its sign posted as 'historic prison', which is the hostel! Very decent place, has a tv room, a cinema room, male member of staff who checked us in was great, informative even showed us to our room/cell. Not the cheapest hostel, but no where is cheap in Christchurch. Definitely worth a visit as the place has history. Stayed here in winter but you get extra blankets which keeps you warm, stayed in a ten bed dorm which had plenty of room, plugs at every bed. Kitchen was ok. Overall decent place to stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in the ten bed dorm, pretty quiet hostel in terms of noise which is good, had a snorer in the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BackpackingJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Jailhouse Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great hostel in such a cool building. Cinema, pool table dart board, good kitchen and nice communal areas all available and free to use. Helpful staff at reception and just a short walk to town. 100% recommend

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HannahMetcalfe124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay for a few weeks in this unique hostel, a converted old jailhouse with the cells converted to rooms and with some original cells preserved as they were to have a look at. There is even a history book to read with info and photos from the prison times (it only closed in 1999). The beds are comfy and you can get extra pillows, blankets and hot water bottles. The place is very clean and staff are friendly and helpful. Good facilities; including the best equipped kitchen I have seen since travelling, a projector room, TV room, internet room, pool table and good showers. Dorm beds have their own plugs and lamps. There is a large DVD collection and plenty of board games, books etc. Location is in Addington, a suburb with some cafes and bars close to the park and botanic gardens. Town centre is walking distance or an easy bus ride outside the door. The hostel has parking and bike hire available. Overall its a unique experience and a good hostel definitely worth checking out for the unique setting alone!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jigsawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at jailhouse accommodation for 3 weeks, which is quite long stay for backpackers.

I found that the hostel is clean, nice and tidy. During the 3weeks, I had never seen that a mountain of dishes in the kitchen, rubbishes in the garden etc.

People working there are all nice, good hospitality behaviour and attitudes.
I'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter. Next to the bathroom rooms upstairs are warmer.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Red0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hostel is very friendly and clean. The building is really interesting and they've kept a couple of cells to give you an idea what it was like when it was still a prison. The kitchen is well-equipped. I never had to queue for the showers. There is also a cinema room and free pool. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Loz1986g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fun experience staying here overnight for the rugby. I suppose they could do with more bathroom space but perhaps I missed out on the main one. Very well stocked kitchen. We thought that the room was going to be very cold but it was fine and they even supplied hot water bottles free of charge.
Well recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank PerryGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This jail was still in service until around 1996 so you can find inmate numbers on the lockers in the dorm rooms and former peep holes have been covered with mirrors. It's located in Addington so is a bit too far to walk to the main supermarkets on Moorhouse. The hostel is very clean with good facilities and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinktulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,896 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 105 in Christchurch
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#11 of 105 in Christchurch
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#18 of 146 in Christchurch
234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 134 in Christchurch
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Accommodation

Address: 338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £17 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhouse Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Budget Accommodation to the Railway Station! Award winning hostel. 'Author's Pick' in Christchurch for Lonely Planet and Rough Guide 2008. Top mid-sized Independent BBH hostel in NZ. WiFi. Free parking. Newly renovated heritage accommodation with a colourful history as the former Addington Prison. Private Single, Double, Twin bunk and Group/Family/Dorm rooms available in our budget Christchurch accommodation. Clean, warm, friendly with super-comfortable beds close to top Christchurch attractions. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jailhouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing