We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good clean hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jailhouse Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This hostel is good value for money, it is one of the cheapest in Christchurch and is very clean. We stayed here twice, I am glad we went back as we enjoyed it so much more the second time. I think we must have caught staff at a bad time as they were much more friendly and helpful the second time around. Rooms are small, (as would be expected for a jail!) but they were clean. My only complaint would be that they were very cold but they provide blankets and hot water bottles for a 5 dollar deposit, (although they don't tell you about the hot water bottles and I only found out the day were we leaving!) If you stay in winter you should use one! The kitchen was clean and nice to cook in. Bathrooms were also kept clean. There is a cinema room and a tv room which is handy although they could do with updating their DVD collection! The main downside of this hostel is the fact that it is outside of the city so not great for nightlife,(although during the day the walk into town through a park is quite easy and only took about 20minutes). The hostel was also very quiet when we were so there want much to do in the evenings, I imagine that it is busier in summer?. Overall this is one of the nicest hostels I have stayed in, and provides a good base.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2009

very unique and nice place to stay if u are looking the budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexi4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

To be honest, there were only two reasons for us choosing to stay here - firstly, its proximity to the train station (we arrived from Greymouth in the evening, then left for Kaikoura the next morning), and secondly the sheer novelty value of sleeping in a jailhouse!

The area itself is nothing to write home about, a few dowdy looking shops along the main road, a couple of empty looking pubs, and a couple of chippies. But the free shuttle to and from the train station was most useful!

Our double room was very small (I guess as you would expect for a jail!) with just enough room for a super comfy double bed, a TV and DVD player and our two backpacks! But we were only there to sleep, so no problems!

If you want quantity (but not necessarily quality) for your evening meal, head to the Chinese / Chippy just along the main road. It proved slightly troublesome to order my fish and chips (it was almost as if no-one had ever said "Fish and Chips" to the lady before!) she proceeded to serve up the biggest piece of fish and largest portion of chips I have ever seen! Seriously, enough to feed 3 people well (I still managed to eat most of it!) for the princely sum of NZD5.60!! Genius...

Overall, the hostel was comfy, pretty clean (although there was a very musty smell in the ladies bathroom apparently), a touch dearer than the average at NZD70, but certainly a novelty worth experiencing!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

As most reviewers already said, this is a well run place, with good service and you really feel the history in the walls. Had a single room for a night waiting for the train, and the close location to the train station is good. The room was small of course, since it was a former cell, but had a very comfy bed. Nothing else. The shared toilets and showers were clean and plentiful and the kitchen/TV-room well separated from the bedrooms. The location in Addington makes it a 30 min walk to town centre and 15 min to the train station. But it is very close for shopping in Tower Junction and all excellent ethnic eateries in Riccarton.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Great fun! They´ve really made the most of "Jailhouse" angle. As a hostel it´s good too with an excellent kitchen, lounge and cinema.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2009

This was by far the best hostel type accommodation we have stayed in since we left home in Nov,loved everything about it, firstly its a converted jail, a historic building so they couldnt change much which adds to its charm, your room is a cell so yeah to some people it might be small but then again you dont spend all day in your room. The beds were very comfortable,clean linen, kitchen, toilets, shower area were spotless the 3 days we stayed here.The communal area was cosey and they have a great cinema room.Towels are included in the price and for the first time we didnt have to give a deposit for the room key.The staff are super friendly and willing to help with everything, we booked our car through them as the girl at the desk did all the searching for best prices.About 20-25mins walk into Christchurch but thats nothing when you can walk through some lovely parks to get there.Have no complaints, only suggestion we have is that they install a vending machine if you wanted a snack.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Worldtour08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

We stayed here on our last night in New Zealand after our first option required a 2-night minimum. As others have mentioned, the Jailhouse is a bit out of the downtown area, but we had a car, so the drive was quite short and the location was therefore not that inconvenient. My husband and I had booked a private "cell" and it was quite a tight space. Had we not brought up all of our luggage to the room to try and re-pack everything (to fit in our souvenirs :) it would likely not have seemed as small though. We knew we would not be in the room long, but for the time we were, it was a great place for the money; the beds were very comfortable and the private cell even had a small TV. For those staying here longer than one night, there were all the traditional hostel amenities (kitchen, internet, travel info), and staff was very friendly and helpful. The real draw here though is the history of the Jailhouse and its character...this was a very unique place to stay in NZ!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,017 reviews
1.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 108 in Christchurch
209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 108 in Christchurch
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#3 of 108 in Christchurch
198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 140 in Christchurch
280 reviews
3.6 mi away
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 108 in Christchurch
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Accommodation

Address: 338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £16 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhouse Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Budget Accommodation to the Railway Station! Award winning hostel. 'Author's Pick' in Christchurch for Lonely Planet and Rough Guide 2008. Top mid-sized Independent BBH hostel in NZ. WiFi. Free parking. Newly renovated heritage accommodation with a colourful history as the former Addington Prison. Private Single, Double, Twin bunk and Group/Family/Dorm rooms available in our budget Christchurch accommodation. Clean, warm, friendly with super-comfortable beds close to top Christchurch attractions. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jailhouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing