We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bealey Avenue Motel
Ranked #73 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic but clean”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We booked a twin room for one night on our way up the east coast.

The room was large and clean with good kitchen facilities. Though the lighting was very dim with only 4 spotlights in the room and one of those wasn't working. Also the front door to the room was a little unusual as they were patio doors (which still locked okay though). We think that this might have been part of a suite that could be booked.

The location of the hotel could be better though as it is a good 30 min walk to the centre of town and on a major road.

Room Tip: We would advise requesting a first floor room rather than ground floor due to the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hartstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    49
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
39
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed one night, good sized studio with a queen and single. No couch/chair that you kind of expect in most motels these days. Did have a small kitchen table with chairs though. Good sized bathroom.
Was surprised at no aircon, afternoon sun means it got very hot on a 30 degree day, so had to keep curtains closed.
Overall good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otago
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Booked for two nights and stayed another. Everything was very clean and well maintained. Location was good giving acess to all areas without problems. Good restaurants nearby. Full marks for the servicing which went the little bit extra and all for a good price.

Room Tip: quieter for road traffic at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The rooms here were very comfortable. We had some friends from Christchurch come over and it was nice that the bedroom was in a separate room. Good kitchen facility, plus table for eating or working. This place is well located for the CBD, of the the few places that did not suffer significant damage in the earthquakes. There were a bunch of young men having a party across the fence one of the evenings we were there, but we really only noticed the noise when we were coming and going to the car.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redstart3916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed here for two night at the start of our NZ travels. Was clean and comfy and had a nice shower with very hot water and good pressure. For the price it was good value and better than expected. Not far from CBD.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed at this motel for 0ne night (2 Nov 2012) when we first flew into Christchurch. There were 3 adults and there are was a King sixed bed and a supersingle in the room. There are basic cooking amenieties and you can cook a decent meal. They provide an electric kettle, microwave oven, hob, crockery and cutlery for three. There is also a small dinning table (with three chairs) in the room. Forget it if you hoping to cook up a storm. There is no oven or hood. So be prepared for smells to linger in the room when you cook in the room. However, they do provide ample washing up (dishwashiing detergents, sponges and the like).

The beds were good and they had extra pilows and electric blankets. The night we stayed was not very cold so the room heater was up to the task. The room does not come with an air-conditioner but we supposed that it was because it probably does not get hot in Christchurch. The wardbrobe was a bit small which suited us as we only stayed one nght. The room was spacious and we just left our three suitcases open on the floor and there was still ample to walk around. The toilet/bathroom was adequate with perhaps too litle shelving for toiletires at the sink. The decor of the room was a little dated but it was clean and neat and the room did not smell so we guessed not many people must have cooked meals in that room. The guest laundry room was tight next to our room but we did not hear the machines in use so could not ascertain if it was 'soundproofed' or just that no one used it while we were there.

The area that we were in was quiet and we could hear the brids chirping at the evening and morning. At night, the place was quiet and parking was right outside the room. There are 2 floors and we had a ground unit that was just great as it meant that we did not have to struggle carrying 3 suitcases up and down the staircase. There was not much of a view but the quiet of the surrounding made up for it. The reception had reasonable late operating hours and since the owners live on site, I suppose you could get them if there were issues with the room. It helped that we drove, so supermakets were not far off and two malls (Riccarton and Northland malls) were only short drive away. The motel is also a short way from the City Centre.

Overall, a respectable and decent experience at Bealey Avenue Motel. We rate this motel as average (more of a 3.5 than a 3).

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor unit if you anticipate trouble haluing luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The room was spacious, spotless and well-equipped. The owner and staff were very friendly and the location was quite convenient to everything and free Wi-fi. Good value for money and overall had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeptisnarayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.8 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#40 of 144 in Christchurch
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#27 of 144 in Christchurch
136 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Central Motel Apartments
City Central Motel Apartments
#76 of 144 in Christchurch
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#45 of 144 in Christchurch
78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adorian Motel
Adorian Motel
#92 of 144 in Christchurch
31 reviews
3.1 mi away
Northcote Motor Lodge
Northcote Motor Lodge
#65 of 144 in Christchurch
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bealey Avenue Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bealey Avenue Motel

Property: Bealey Avenue Motel
Address: 229 Bealey Avenue | City, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bealey Avenue Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free Wi-Fi and on site parking, Bealey Avenue Motel offers accommodation with well-equipped kitchenettes and satellite LED TV. Christchurch city centre is just a 15-minute walk away. All units have cooking facilities with a microwave and refrigerator. Each unit has a private en-suite bathroom. Some units have private courtyards and also interconnecting units are available. A short walk to the Southern Cross Hospital and After Hours Medical Centre. 10-Minute walk to Hagley Park, Botanical Gardens, Christchurch Casino, Christchurch Art Gallery and the Canterbury Museum. Restaurants, bars and Bus stops are situated near the motel. 5-Minute walk to Cafes and Bars on Victoria Street. Christchurch International Airport is a 20-minute drive away. Bealey Avenue Motel also offers dry cleaning and luggage storage facilities. The office hour is 7:30am to 11:30pm everyday. Please advise us if arriving outside these hours. Contact details are available on the confirmation emails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bealey Avenue Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bealey Avenue Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing