We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anselm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anselm House
Ranked #53 of 130 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Bangkok
2 reviews
“Too good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

I'd like to point out that all the excellent reviews about this B&B is true. It is a home away from home, the hosts Jan and Leigh are genuinely nice and loving people. The breakfast was AWESOME and the location is just perfect as well. Coming to a new city I just wasn't sure what I was going to get, but all my needs was met. This beautiful 'home' is where I would stay again during my next trip.
Vik

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanak N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I had a very pleasant stay. The hosts were very accommodating and stayed up until 3am because might flight was late. The next day they even drove me to my client meeting.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gudavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

The charming home is situated in an historic precinct, surrounded by many grand old homes. Located in the centre of Christchurch, it is a short walk to shops, restaurants, parks and a unique forest that is a remnant of the past before European settlement.

Our hosts, Leigh and Jan, were most welcoming and we enjoyed good conversation with them, learning much about Christchurch, its beautiful old homes and the effect of the earthquakes on the city and its inhabitants. Anslem House only had minor damage and we were glad to hear that this beautiful home has stood up well to the June earthquakes and remains open for business.

We intend to go back to Anslem House. Our room was warm and comfortable, with views across the river to stately gardens. There is so much more that we want to explore and there is much to see within walking distance of charming Anslem House.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

My husband and I stayed there last year. We had the oportunity to stay in both rooms, which are equally nice.
Loved the stay and the quality of the service.
My regards and hope they are doing good.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We stayed at Anselm House for 3 nights. Jan and Leigh were really great hosts giving us a warm welcome. Although our English was not fluent enough, they made us relaxed and we could enjoy the stay very much. The river room was cozy and we could see funny ducks swimming the Avon river from a large window. As the city center was still closed, we dined at restaurants and pubs in Riccarton road within easy walking distance from Anselm House and they were good enough. Jan made wonderful breakfast. Don't miss Eggs Benedict!
クライストチャーチ中心部はまだ閉鎖中でしたが、Anselm Houseでの滞在は非常に心地良く大変満足できるものでした。英語に自信はなくとも、ホスト夫妻が親身に対応してくれたため、いつものホテル滞在よりも心に残る時間となりました。川側の部屋の大きな窓のすぐ下をAvon川が流れており、窓から泳ぐカモや餌を取るために潜るカモのユーモラスな姿を眺めることが出来ました。美味しい朝食、特にエッグベネディクトが美味しくて3日間で2回注文してしまいました。また、徒歩10分ほどのRiccartonにレストランやショッピングモールがあり、モール内の両替所は土日も開いていて助かりました。

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chachamaru80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We had the pleasure of staying with Jan and Leigh twice during our recent visit to the South Island. We experienced such a lovely stay with them that we were sad to leave. They're conveniently located about 15mins from the airport and not far from the city and sights. We stayed in the room overlooking the river which was both beautiful and serene. Both bedroom and bathroom were spotless. However the true reason to stay at this B&B (asides from its great location) is the hospitality of Jan and Leigh. Over the two stays they felt like family to us. Jan's breakfasts are amazing - enough to feed an army. Her homemade shortbread is also fantastic. They introduced us to the joys of manuka honey. Leigh is a fantastic story teller and provided us with so much information and history on the places we were going and had come from. In short, we would happily stay with them again and definitely recommend Anselm House in Christchurch.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

We have just returned from Christchurch where Jan & Leigh looked after us superbly well in difficult times. We were due to arrive the day after the earthquake. Jan had contacted us letting us know their circumstances & offering us to chance to cancel should we wish to do so. Our en-suite room was perfectly prepared, tastefully decorated & very comfortable. As restaurants were still closed, we shared with our hosts a lovely evening meal prepared by Jan - Breakfast was wonderful too. Leigh kindly picked us up from dropping of our hire car & took us to the airport for out flight..

Jan & Leigh really are a lovely couple & such generous hosts who like all the people of Christchurch deserve our support.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glw2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.6 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 130 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.0 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
2.9 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
1.6 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#129 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselm House

Property: Anselm House
Address: 34 Kahu Road | Fendalton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features & Attractions: Free personal Airport transfer and TranzAlpine /Coastal transfer— Free Wireless LAN, email available —Secure off-street parking — Short walk to banks, mall, restaurants — Outdoor tables by Avon River — Walk to Hagley Park, Botanical Gardens — Handy to University & Mona Vale — TV in each bedroom — On bus route. Kia ora! Jan and Leigh welcome you to Anselm House, situated on the bank of the Avon River, central Christchurch. Anselm House is a landmark home designed by the famous New Zealand architect Heathcote Helmore and is constructed of pink Hanmer marble in which fossilized shells can be seen. Guests are welcome to enjoy the riverside garden or to cross over the brick bridge and visit historic Riccarton House and Deans Forest. Cathedral Square, The Art Centre, Art Gallery and Museum are an easy walk through Hagley Park and the Botanical gardens. Canterbury University and Mona Vale are also within easy walking distance. As New Zealanders, we offer friendly, genuine kiwi hospitality. We are willing to help with travel suggestions. We are endorsed as KiwiGreen Certified using only eco-friendly products and practices which minimise our carbon footprint. An evening meal is offered by arrangement. Free 24 hour coffee /tea accessible with cookies and seasonal fruit; a fridge is available for guests' use. Tariffs: Doubles from NZ$ 190.00 per night, per couple. Singles from NZ$ 170.00 per night. Longer stays by negotiation. All enquiries are answered within 24 hours. Interests include agriculture, horticulture, medicine, rugby, sport and education. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing