We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Exceedingly Kind”
Review of Anselm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anselm House
Ranked #50 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Centerport, New York
1 review
“Welcoming and Exceedingly Kind”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Jan and Leigh,

Took care of us like they were our Aunt and Uncle. I say Aunt and Uncle cause it felt genuine and familiar without being overbearing like parents would be:) The breakfast's were exceptional and the ride to and from the train station was much appreciated. The house does have some cracks from the earthquakes but who cares? It doesn't take away from the experience and I would recommend this B&B to family. The location is great and Jan and Leigh are eager to help in anyway. They display a pride in what they do and like many of the citizen's of Christchurch care very much about their home. A delightful stay! Thank you Jan and Leigh!

Room Tip: Garden Room was very peaceful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The house is inevitably showing some signs of earthquake damage but still very comfortable and the friendliness of Leigh and Jan exceptional. Ideal location although the road traffic is slightly intrusive in the early morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acarina, Owner at Anselm House, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Anselm House and for your warm comments. We are delighted you were pleased with our service, but sorry to learn that the traffic noise affected your sleep. The damage caused to the roads during the earthquakes has indeed altered the traffic flow. As the major roads are undergoing reconstruction, every street in Christchurch is experiencing a heavy traffic load at peak hours (between 7 - 9 am and 4 - 6 pm). We are looking forward to the day the traffic returns to normal.
Yes, sadly Anselm House has suffered earthquake damage, as has just about every house in Christchurch. We are satisfied we are still able to offer an inviting, friendly and traditional Christchurch home experience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Anselm House is the ideal place to stay at the start or end of your holiday - for us it was 2 days at the end of 3 weeks in NZ. It is easy to find and very easy to get to the airport. Also easy to get into town and Leigh was very helpful with directions and recommendations to make sure we got everything we needed. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfasts lovely sociable affairs around the family dining table. There are many restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A13SMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This a beautiful home surrounded by gorgeous gardens and a crystal clear stream. The location is fabulous and the overall accommodations terrific. The hosts, Jan and Leigh, could not have been more gracious and helpful with directions, recommendations, and rides to the airport. The also make a superb breakfast.

What made our stay particularly memorable was observing the character and relationship of these two wonderful people during a time of much stress with the earthquakes. If Christchurch is being rebuilt by people such as Jan and Leigh, it will be a wonderful place for many years to come.

Room Tip: our room overlooking the stream was quiet and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingsenses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Anselm house is clean n comfortable. Moreover Jan & Leigh take such good care of u that u want to come back. As we did. The location is perfect as well. And whatever else is missing just ask the friendly couple n they willingly help u out!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnilRuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
178 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at Anselm House on our last night in New Zealand - having toured for 25 days staying in an array of hotels and 3 other first class B & Bs. For us, Anselm House was well located. We had no difficulty in finding it having travelled up the SH1 from Dunedin. It was an easy up Findelton Road/Memorial Road the next day to drop our hire car before flying out of Christchurch Airport. We appreciated Leigh's offer to collect and drop us but it was not needed.

Jan and Leigh are good hosts, making you fill very welcome and providing a good breakfast in a social and unrushed manner.

The house is spacious and situated in an interesting garden through which the river meanders providing a lovely environment. It is a very short walk - 5 minutes to Riccarton Bush and the Westfield Mall where there are a reasonable selection of average restaurants; 10 minutes to Hagley Park and 20 minutes to the Botanic Gardens and City Centre. Christchurch is a lovely city in which we spent 4 happy nights in 2009 but is now tragically ravaged by the serious earthquake in February 2011 with tremours still being felt. The signs of this most sad disaster are very evident - not just in the city centre - but even Anselm House has a significant crack in an external front garden wall that adjoins the neighbouring road bridge. This does not affect the House and nobody should have any concerns about staying there.

We enjoyed our stay in the River Room named for its marvellous view. It was a comfortable double bed with a well-appointed en-suite bathroom. Nothing special but provided us with a good night's sleep and a relaxed departure for the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMolestrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent 3 nights at Anselm House during our 3 week visit to NZ - at the beginning, middle and end of our holiday. We could not have found a better place - Jan and Leigh are fabulous hosts who could not have been more accommodating. We stayed in both rooms (our favourite was the River Room), breakfast was excellent and if we ever go back to Christchurch, we will head straight for Anselm House!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winnieb1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.0 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
1,687 reviews
2.9 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
3.6 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
636 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselm House

Property: Anselm House
Address: 34 Kahu Road | Fendalton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features & Attractions: Free personal Airport transfer and TranzAlpine /Coastal transfer— Free Wireless LAN, email available —Secure off-street parking — Short walk to banks, mall, restaurants — Outdoor tables by Avon River — Walk to Hagley Park, Botanical Gardens — Handy to University & Mona Vale — TV in each bedroom — On bus route. Kia ora! Jan and Leigh welcome you to Anselm House, situated on the bank of the Avon River, central Christchurch. Anselm House is a landmark home designed by the famous New Zealand architect Heathcote Helmore and is constructed of pink Hanmer marble in which fossilized shells can be seen. Guests are welcome to enjoy the riverside garden or to cross over the brick bridge and visit historic Riccarton House and Deans Forest. Cathedral Square, The Art Centre, Art Gallery and Museum are an easy walk through Hagley Park and the Botanical gardens. Canterbury University and Mona Vale are also within easy walking distance. As New Zealanders, we offer friendly, genuine kiwi hospitality. We are willing to help with travel suggestions. We are endorsed as KiwiGreen Certified using only eco-friendly products and practices which minimise our carbon footprint. An evening meal is offered by arrangement. Free 24 hour coffee /tea accessible with cookies and seasonal fruit; a fridge is available for guests' use. Tariffs: Doubles from NZ$ 190.00 per night, per couple. Singles from NZ$ 170.00 per night. Longer stays by negotiation. All enquiries are answered within 24 hours. Interests include agriculture, horticulture, medicine, rugby, sport and education. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing