We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jan and Leigh made us feel at home!”
Review of Anselm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anselm House
Ranked #50 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Schwalbach, Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Jan and Leigh made us feel at home!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

After a 32 hours flight from Frankfurt to Christchurch ( with short stops in Dubai, Bangkok and Sydney) we started our 5 1/2 week New Zealand trip at the Anselm House in Christchurch for 3 nights. The start of our NZ tour was perfect. Leigh picked us up at the airport. He showed us on the way from the airport to the B&B where to have dinner. Leigh and Jan gave us a lot of recommendations for Christchurch and also Banks Peninsula, Akaroa. We followed them all and had wonderful days in Christchurch and Banks Peninsula ( for a day trip).
The room was very cozy with a view to the small river. The breakfast was great (a variety of fruits, milk, joghurt, serials, any style of egg you want, etc.)
Jan and Leigh made us really feel at home!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebab2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Anselm House B&B for first evening of our New Zealand trip. While we definitely wished we could have stayed more than one night, it was the perfect recharge evening/morning between arriving on a red-eye flight from the States and setting off to Queenstown and the southern part of the South Island. Jan and Leigh were absolutely fabulous hosts! Prior to our arrival, they were extremely responsive via email. They even offered to pick us up at the airport and drop us off for our next flight the following morning, and they went out of their way to work around our schedule. They provided tips and suggestions on what to do with our free afternoon and how to do a short walking tour of the highlights of Christchurch, even including a marked map - we followed the tour, which worked out perfectly for seeing the nearby locations such as the botanical gardens, Re: START area (earthquake devastation area), the museum, etc. During our stay, Jan and Leigh struck the perfect balance between tending to our every need and request (including special breakfast requests on how we like our eggs, etc) and still maintaining a level of privacy and quiet/relaxation. The location of the B&B is very central and convenient, yet still private and quiet. It is quite the charming property, with a lovely stream and backyard and an adjacent park. The brunch they prepared was incredible, complete with muesli (granola), fresh fruit, a wonderful eggs benedict, coffee, and tea, etc - absolutely delicious! All in all this was a fantastically refreshing stay :-) We would definitely return, if/when we are back in Christchurch in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbsaw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham common
Level Contributor
298 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A veritably welcoming and kind couple Jan and Leigh, whose house was truly homely, beautiful and our first experience of a New Zealand family house, very different from Australia from where we had come, similar to England but somehow a ‘chocolate box’ in suburbia. Everything that is said in Lonely Planet. The effort, time and kindness Jan and Leigh showed to us was unprecedented over 7 years of travelling the World. We loved our room and especially the morning sunshine pouring in but, more than that, felt utterly comfortable and so enjoyed their lovely breakfasts. Especially recommended to an traveller to Christchurch.

Room Tip: Currently only one room. But delightful with large windows looking out to garden and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We arrived at the Anselm in February at the start of a 5 week tour of NZ. We had booked the 'River Room' which was just a delight. Lovely and bright an airy, with a very comfortable bed (much needed after our 26 hour flight!!) a spacious bathroom and a great view of the garden and the river. But the best part of staying at the Anselm was the breakfasts! After travelling over 4000km around NZ and staying in 17 different Hotels/Motels & B&B's, we can definately say that the Anselm was the best!! Starting with fresh fruit, various cereals, fruit juices, tea/coffee and then Jan would cook a hot option (eggs, bacon etc) to order. Complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate/soft drinks, cookies and fruit were always available. Wifi reception was good we were able to facetime our son back in the UK with no problem. Jan and Leigh were very welcoming and more than happy to share their knowledge of Christchurch and the best places to visit. The Anselm is about a 5 minute walk to Hagley Park (well worth a visit) and a further 5 minutes to the centre of Christchurch. Leigh kindly picked us up from the airport on our arrival and then took us to the train station to catch the Tranzalpine train on our day of departure. All in all, a great little B&B and a fantastic start to our NZ adventure!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Wide_05_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This was our second visit to Anselm House as we had stayed here on our way south. As we had travelled over to Christchurch on the Trans Alpine Railway Leigh kindly offered to pick us up at the station. We were dropped in town where we had a meal and he took our luggage back to the house. Much appreciated. Thank you. When we arrived back at the house it was just like coming home. Jan and Leigh make us feel so welcome and opened their home to us as if we were their family. They are just lovely to stay with.
Anselm House has suffered some external damage but the house itself is very comfortable and very clean. The linen and towels are fresh and there are lots of little extras in the bathroom as well as coffee or tea making facilities with biscuits and fruit on offer. The garden is just unique with the gentle river running along the side. It is a lovely place to sit and chill out.
There was plenty on offer at breakfast time, both continental and cooked if you wanted it. It was all freshly prepared and beautifully served in their lovely dinning room.
Both Jan and Leigh were very helpful and have a good knowledge of the area and the surrounding countryside. Nothing is too much trouble. They even took us to the airport in the morning

Room Tip: We were in the upstairs room over looking the river and the park. It had its own bathroom. Very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Anselm House is an absolute gem, ranking with our best B&B experiences worldwide. Jan and Leigh are the perfect hosts and their house and garden are just beautiful. It's also situated a lovey walk from the city centre through the botanical gardens, or if you don't want to do that, buses run constantly and easily to the centre.
We had the lovely relaxing River Room with huge sunny windows overlooking a beautiful river and the garden and a lovely ensuite with a luxuriously deep bath and separate shower.
Leigh kindly picked us up from the campervan depot and then dropped us back at the airport the next morning. This was so kind and such a huge help.
Breakfast was just amazing with perfectly poached eggs and great fresh fruits and yoghurts, set out on a lovely communal table with beautiful collectors crockery.
Nothing was too much trouble for Jan and Leigh and they were so lovely to chat to we felt at home instantly. Their home is spotlessly clean and has a very natural relaxed feel about it and they are always pleased to see you and offer brilliant local advice and yet don't intrude on your plans. There were so many little touches too, like the fresh milk in the guests' fridge and the tea and coffee making facilities. We were very sad to leave this beautiful house, lovely people and amazing, resilient city. We hope to return one day and would defiantly stay at Anselm House.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

What a great 2 night stay we had with Jan and Leigh. They were great hosts, the room was great with a lovely view of the river and the ducks, breakfast was the best, ("especially thoses pancakes Jan lol)" Yes they may have earthquake damage, but that never stopped them or the accomodation being at it's best. They picked us up at the airport, they dropped us off at the camper van office. We only had BB, in the evening we would go and get some fish and chips down town and eat it down the bottom of the garden, and Jan would go and get plates. Has we had booked a camper for 2 weeks to see some of the south island, Jan even gave us there card with there telephone No on in case we needed help while travelling.Thank you Jan and Leigh for making us so welcome and we never got lost in the camper.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.0 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
1,680 reviews
2.9 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
3.6 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselm House

Property: Anselm House
Address: 34 Kahu Road | Fendalton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features & Attractions: Free personal Airport transfer and TranzAlpine /Coastal transfer— Free Wireless LAN, email available —Secure off-street parking — Short walk to banks, mall, restaurants — Outdoor tables by Avon River — Walk to Hagley Park, Botanical Gardens — Handy to University & Mona Vale — TV in each bedroom — On bus route. Kia ora! Jan and Leigh welcome you to Anselm House, situated on the bank of the Avon River, central Christchurch. Anselm House is a landmark home designed by the famous New Zealand architect Heathcote Helmore and is constructed of pink Hanmer marble in which fossilized shells can be seen. Guests are welcome to enjoy the riverside garden or to cross over the brick bridge and visit historic Riccarton House and Deans Forest. Cathedral Square, The Art Centre, Art Gallery and Museum are an easy walk through Hagley Park and the Botanical gardens. Canterbury University and Mona Vale are also within easy walking distance. As New Zealanders, we offer friendly, genuine kiwi hospitality. We are willing to help with travel suggestions. We are endorsed as KiwiGreen Certified using only eco-friendly products and practices which minimise our carbon footprint. An evening meal is offered by arrangement. Free 24 hour coffee /tea accessible with cookies and seasonal fruit; a fridge is available for guests' use. Tariffs: Doubles from NZ$ 190.00 per night, per couple. Singles from NZ$ 170.00 per night. Longer stays by negotiation. All enquiries are answered within 24 hours. Interests include agriculture, horticulture, medicine, rugby, sport and education. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing