We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern clean rooms in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salerno Motel Apartments
Ranked #72 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern clean rooms in good location”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. Was pleased with the spaciousness and cleanliness. Nice and modern room. Was a 5 minute taxi to lovely local restaurants. We walked around 20 minutes to get groceries (although not sure if this was the closest). Overall a very pleasant stay, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmylouise73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    64
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
53
110
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antarctica - McMurdo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The Salerno Motel is just as nice as it was the first day it opened. Pauline and Brendan always make it feel like home away from home. The rooms are spacious, clean, and accommodating, beds are comfortable, the location is good. I like it there so much that I wish I lived there permanently!

Room Tip: If you're traveling by yourself, the studios have plenty of room. If you travel with a partner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkuaDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Pro's: Great location, VERY CLEAN, comfy enough, nice accommodating staff who loaned us a fan when we requested one and good amenities in the room.
Cons: It's not great value for money, we had a 1br suite, the bedroom was tiny, only room for 1 suitcase and there were 3 armchairs in the lounge area, nowhere comfy to 'lounge' and watch tv in our jet lagged state, I was comfier on the floor. It was a little sterile, but it served its purpose as a quiet place to stopover for a few nights when we flew in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyButters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Brendon and Pauline's focus on the customer and going the extra mile was amazing. They continually amazed us at foreseeing our needs over and over, and always delivering a solution with a smile. Nothing was too much of a problem, truly professional hosts!

The 2 bedroom was so spacious and easy to live in for a month, we have recommended it to friends.

You guys deserve all the success that being great at what you do brings.

Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWandCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irish in Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

When we were looking for accomodation in christchurch we were shocked at the prices, yes it was Easter but that didn't justify the astronomical prices until we got to the Salermo & meet our neighbours. Their house is still uninhabitable after the earthquake & live at the motel. There are thousands of others in a similar situation across the city which has caused a shortage & pushed the prices up.
Our room - a 2 bed apartment was spacious & clean with a large kitchen & comfy beds. Apart from the price we had no complaints about the room. The staff aren't as helpful as others on our trip, they struggled to provide advice on the basics like where to eat etc.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AoifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night before flying back to the uk after a trip around the South Island. We found that given the reviews on trip adviser the motel was expensive for what it was. Although very clean our room was basic and extremely dark. We were on the ground floor so had to close the curtains to get any privacy as there was no other windows except for the patio door. It did the job but we wouldn't use again. Also having to pay to use wifi wasn't expected given the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

The rooms are average but over priced, good central location, no nice extras like you would expect at a motel at this price point. There's better in Christchuch, I noticed after three visits this year that this city's accommodation is now very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WELLYFOODIE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#34 of 144 in Christchurch
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellano Motel Suites
Bellano Motel Suites
#68 of 144 in Christchurch
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
136 On Bealey Motel
136 On Bealey Motel
#84 of 144 in Christchurch
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#28 of 144 in Christchurch
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#5 of 144 in Christchurch
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salerno Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salerno Motel Apartments

Property: Salerno Motel Apartments
Address: 148 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#47 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Salerno Motel Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salerno Motel is the complete accommodation experience. Combining the lovely decor and amenities of a five star quality hotel, with personalized service usually only associated with a fully serviced motel. Well-placed in the business, culture, sightseeing area of Christchurch city and close to the city as it is being revitalized, Salerno Motel Apartments provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break.From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the city has to offer. A haven of rest and relaxation, the 5-star motel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as the Canterbury Museum and the Botanic Gardens as well as being close to Victoria Street Cafe's, Bars and Restaurants. The Southern Cross Hospital is also an easy two minute walk and it is a 5 minute walk to North Hagley Park and the Events Pavillion.At Salerno Motel Apartments, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. For the comfort and convenience of guests the hotel offers, Wi-Fi in public areas, disabled facilities, laundry service/dry cleaning, car park, and cooked and continental breakfasts.Salerno's accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience. The motel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Salerno Motel Apartments is a smart choice for travelers to Christchurch, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salerno Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salerno Motel Apartments Hotel Christchurch
Salerno Hotel Apartments
Salerno Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing