We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern decor, clean and tidy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salerno Motel Apartments
Ranked #68 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Salerno Motel Apartments is well situated and although its on a busy road, the traffic noise was not a problem.

The units were immaculate and very clean. The bed was VERY comfortable and the little kitchenette was very handy to make snacks and cups of coffee and tea. Everything was laid out well, the only problem I would have was with the spa bath. It was very weak and then when you took a shower, it was very difficult not to cause a flood in the bathroom as the shower curtain did not cover the showering area sufficiently.

All in all a lovely comfortable motel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodlover27264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We spent two nights at this motel and would have stayed another two had they not been booked out..
The man at reception was most pleasant and provided us with information on how to get around the city and the location of the local restaurants etc.
Our studio unit was spotlessly clean with plenty of room for two, outside was a table and chairs and we had a pleasant hour enjoying the sunshine and a coffee.
We will most certainly stay here again because of the quality of the motel and the people who run it are first class.Many Thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcleghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The rooms are a great size, so much larger than most in Chch. Bathrooms were also large, bed was super comfortable which is a huge bonus.
Location is good, close to the CBD and within walking distance to Hagley park.
Great having a cookie time biscuit in the room every night :)
Small desk for working on, good comfortable chairs. Microwave.
Bealey Avenue is a very busy main road, double glazing is good though.
Internet speed excellent. Spa bath is more like a rehabilitation spa with lots of jets.

Room Tip: I had Room 1 which was a good large spa bath room with king size bed bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom self contained apartment for one night - the room also had a pull out couch which we used for a fifth person. Lounge was a good size as were the bedrooms. The master bedroom had an ensuite (shower and toilet) and the main bathroom had a shower over a spa bath. Kitchen size was ok and had everything you would need. We had a couple of issues with the washer/dryer in the room - it didn't dry our clothes and the instructions were a bit limited so we couldn't just use the "dryer" of the washer/dryer. However we were allowed to use the motels laundry free of charge the next day, unfortunately time was limited so we were unable to dry our clothes before we left.

we would stay here again no problems.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staynova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I went on business to Christchurch and stayed 5 nights at this place. Found it on the internet and wasn't disappointed at all, on the contrary. Rooms are good size, spa a total delight, bed very comfortable and great location.
There is a desk, a small fridge, microwave and cutlery provided. Internet speed was good and the double glazing helped to keep the temperature constant and isolated the noise of the street.
Staff was very helpful with directions and some printing I needed.
Definitely I will stay again as I will need to travel on a regular basis on business.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed there before. The standard was always great as usual, staff were friendly, the spa studio we stayed was good size and got serviced every day. The bed in the room was super comfortable! It also located in city center and with lots of nice restaurants nearby. We really like the cookie time biscuit in the room. We will defiantly back again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were repeat guests but found the motel has changed ownership. With that change others have followed like poor range of tea and coffee, no newspaper at the door, cruddy toiletries etc. The studio was overpriced and the road noise intolerable. With no air con, and no fan in the room, if a window was opened it resulted in a sleepless night from heat and road noise. We were rather stunned on check in to be given a piece of paper to write our credit card number on. In all our extensive travels all transactions have been electronic not on paper. My concerns regarding this and the inflated cost of the studio and the wifi charge of $11.50 per day were of little interest to the new owner. The owner stated that the increased cost was to offset his expense in using Booking.Com who we booked through.We will not be repeat business.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank vomo2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bpac, General Manager at Salerno Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi, we did have ownership transfer but everything still remains same, same stuff ,better standard, tea and coffee range are good brand from same supplier as last owner, news papers are free on request, the check in paper sheets (asked for the credit card number)are left from the last owner too, we shredded them when guests checked out. Wi-Fi was always $11.5 and it was from the previous owner, nothing to do with the booking.com expenses, however we have started to provide free Wi-Fi now. Regarding the road noise, we have double glazed windows which works perfect. If you stayed here before you would've know that we don't have air-con, as Christchurch is not a very warm city, but fan can be supplied on request with no charge. I hope it makes everything clear and we look forward to seeing everyone come into CHCH and stay with us, we will always to provide best service! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#37 of 146 in Christchurch
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton Mill
Hotel Carlton Mill
#69 of 146 in Christchurch
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#29 of 146 in Christchurch
450 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salerno Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salerno Motel Apartments

Address: 148 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £63 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salerno Motel Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salerno Motel is the complete accommodation experience. Combining the lovely decor and amenities of a five star quality hotel, with personalized service usually only associated with a fully serviced motel. Well-placed in the business, culture, sightseeing area of Christchurch city and close to the city as it is being revitalized, Salerno Motel Apartments provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break.From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the city has to offer. A haven of rest and relaxation, the 5-star motel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as the Canterbury Museum and the Botanic Gardens as well as being close to Victoria Street Cafe's, Bars and Restaurants. The Southern Cross Hospital is also an easy two minute walk and it is a 5 minute walk to North Hagley Park and the Events Pavillion.At Salerno Motel Apartments, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. For the comfort and convenience of guests the hotel offers, Wi-Fi in public areas, disabled facilities, laundry service/dry cleaning, car park, and cooked and continental breakfasts.Salerno's accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience. The motel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Salerno Motel Apartments is a smart choice for travelers to Christchurch, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Salerno Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salerno Motel Apartments Hotel Christchurch
Salerno Hotel Apartments
Salerno Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing