We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”

Delago Motel Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Delago Motel Apartments
Ranked #119 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Its misleading as it said a Two room set with one spa and we booked it. It turned out that it had only one Bathroom and there was a small spa in it. The second room was tiny and the Bedd covered it all There was barely space to walk. It had a very tight outdoor parking space and had to walk in the rain to go to the room. A very small little place with the owners living on the G.Floor. Most of the positive reviews, I think are false

Room Tip: Donot stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandeepkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Room was clean, well heated and bright. Free wifi with the room and reception were always helpful. Arrived after reception was closed, and they had arranged for us to access out room and check in the following day.
Would revisit.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarzieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This is a pleasant Motel with very helpful owners. ( note) the motel has just been sold.
I stayed the first night in a 2 bed unit upstairs and the last 2 in a studio upstairs.
The reason I changed was the incessant road noise as the motel is situated on the very busy Papanui Rd close to the major intersection with Bealy Ave. I was given a room 3 doors back. It was definitely better, but you are aware of the constant drone and I could not open my windows due to this.
The location is excellent with a short walk to convenience shops ,a few cafes and best of all Hagley Park.
I'm afraid another complaint would be the very hard and uncomfortable beds ( both rooms)
I would hope the new owners realise its time to upgrade those mattresses which I guess have been there since the build.

Due to the almost total lack of available accommodation in Christchurch you will find you have very little choice in what was once the mid range of accommodation but now with the prices hiked due to the rebuild and lack of anywhere to stay you are at a total disadvantage.

Two years ago I would have politely moved somewhere else for my last 2 nights...there was nothing ..I did try.

The motel was spotlessly clean and as I said the owners were most helpful and a big plus the WiFi was free.

Room Tip: Downstairs at the very back,away from the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiddleEarthKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Beautifully neat and clean, excellent facilities and kind hosts. 20 minute flat walk into town. but regular buses if don't want to walk. Excellent value for money, would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HL88Hobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We found the motel to be very clean, nice decor and quality furnishings. We have looked around at other accommodation (at a specific rate) in the same street and this was by far the best for the rate paid. Our room was surprisingly quiet (when we closed the windows) given the location of the motel on the road. Friendly staff. There are a few dinner options within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Bill and I stayed here for three nights in No 9. which was on level three with only one other appartment on that floor.
We found the rooms large and spotlessly clean. The towels large and fluffy.The bedding of good quality.
Merivale Mall was less than 15 minute walk where there are plenty of resturants to choose from and great shopping.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: If required liquerland is two doors away and the suppermarket in the Merivale Mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lindy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I had been delayed more than 12 hours on my flight o Christchurch and when I finally reached the motel, I was very surprised about the spacious room and even more spacious bathroom, very comfy. I slept very well and they allowed me to stay until the very last minute of check-out time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigitoro61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,075 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.2 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
706 reviews
1.1 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delago Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delago Motel Apartments

Address: 31 Papanui Rd, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £63 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delago Motel Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Delago Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lago Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing