We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbey Motor Lodge
Ranked #128 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed here for a night in June. Motel had everything we needed and was clean and comforatble. The free wifi was a big plus! However we were in one of the end rooms (closest to the road) and the signal strength for the wifi was a bit iffy.
Motel was value for money and the staff were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elisemichell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    30
    11
    16
    8
See reviews for
27
21
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I took other trip advisors' advice and requested a room near the back of the complex. It helped with the traffic noise - the open lounge bed quieter than the twin bedroom. The free wi-fi was appreciated as were electric blankets. Nice big TV. Friendly staff. Clean. Dining table. Kitchenette is small but pretty well equipped. We got an entertainment card discount, so for us this place was good value for money. Without the discount, I would try other options.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Good location near the centre of the city. The decor is a bit tired but in post earthquake Canterbury it would be churlish to fault this. Plenty of space with a well equipped kitchen which is good as there is no restaurant attached to the motel. There was a separate bedroom for the two kids as well as the double bed in the living area. A well laid out bathroom area. The shower/bath had seen better days but there was good pressure and plenty of hot water. It was comfortable and good value with free wifi access. If you can opt for a unit at the rear of the site as Bealey Ave is a busy thoroughfare and the traffic can trouble light sleepers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Fantastic venue. Great management. Value for money. Environment friendly. Nice common area. Decent bed, tv and clean bathroom. The room we got was a small studio bungalow, with an equipped kitchen and a clean bathroom. Free WiFi internet with 4MbPS speed!! Late check-in was very formally and well managed

Room Tip: Late check-in was very formally and well managed. Free WiFi internet with 4MbPS speed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mostafa_Akber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

The location of the Abbey Motor Lodge was good in respect to proximity to the city but a disaster in relation to sleep quality. Bealey Avenue seemed to be a main thoroughfare and there was traffic noise 24/7, I could not sleep. The rooms were clean but very tired and old fashioned, I felt like I was going back to the 50s! On a positive note the receptionist was friendly and helpful. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neats61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
489 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We had tried several motels and there was simply nothing available so had to return with tail between our legs and take what was available.

In all fairness the room was large, clean and offered reasonable accommodation however, it was like sleeping on the median strip of the main road outside.
Near a set of street lights just to add extra interest..........

The curtains were a nightmare. Much too long and had not bothered to hem them so constantly got bags, feet, and everything else tangled up as they hung on the floor.

Would not return to this motel unless again desperate and was able to get a room at the rear of the complex.

Room Tip: Only take a room at the rear......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Danish family of 4 travelling through NZ jan.2013. Of all places we stayed, this was catastrophic!! Room no. 16 1st floor - 2 bedroom unit: Windows can not close properly (no: not talking about microsoft) and room is right next to 4 laned main road Beanley Ave. including traffic light app. 50 m away = immense traffic noise. Staying for 2 nights before travelling home, this really makes you homesick but also ruins the otherwise fantastic impressions of NZ.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Court Accommodation
Avalon Court Accommodation
#106 of 148 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
136 On Bealey Motel
136 On Bealey Motel
#76 of 148 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#40 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#86 of 148 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bealey Avenue Motel
Bealey Avenue Motel
#67 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Motor Lodge

Property: Abbey Motor Lodge
Address: 209 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Motor Lodge Christchurch welcomes all guests to enjoy a comfortable stay. Our spacious accommodation and convenient location provides travelers with exceptional affordability. Only minutes from the central city and Christchurch Casino the Abbey Motel is a great option when travelling to the Garden City. At Abbey Motor Lodge we offer a superb balance of comfort and style with a homely feel. Immaculately clean and well presented The Abbey Motel Christchurch offers 14 smart options, with plenty of flexibility. Choose from our one or Two Bedroom Suites, or one of our spacious Studio Suites, we cater for all guests and for all occasions. With the following facilities available, daily servicing, tea and coffee making facilities, full kitchen facilities, microwave, fridge/freezer, shower, desk, Sky TV, hi-speed wireless internet, ironing facilities, guest laundry and great breakfast options we have your needs covered. With all these facilities available we also provide every guest with quality service. Whether its local information or planning a day trip we are only too happy to provide our 5 star service. Our convenient location finds us next to Speight's Ale House and close to Southern Cross Hospital. We are on the Metro bus route and only 5mins from Intercity Coachlines, 10mins from the CBD Cathedral Square and city centre, 5min walk Convention Centre, Casino and Town Hall. We are 15 min drive from the Christchurch International Airport and close to Christchurch Women's/Public Hospital and Hagley Park. We also provide off-street parking and monitored safe parking for motorcycles and bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing