We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget-plus accommodation. Nothing fancy. Good value for money.”
Review of Abbey Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbey Motor Lodge
Ranked #119 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 12 January 2014

1970's style motel with high occupancy at a price point just above budget means an affordable roof with tired decor: didn't bother us. Great for a quickie overnight crash-pad or for a couple of days. Bed was comfortable but a standard (small) small double. Was assigned an upstairs room which made it rather hot and stuffy due to summer conditions until we got all the windows open - downstairs might be cooler. Get what you pay for and it delivered for my partner and I.

Room Tip: Request a downstairs in summer and, I guess, an upstairs in winter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaston G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Abbey Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked for 2 nights but only stayed one, cancelled 2nd night and went to better accommodation.
Looked presentable from outside. Lady at reception English was difficult to understand. I was able to inform some out of town guests more about some of the local shops than the woman at reception. She was polite though. We stayed in room 3 and felt like we were sleeping right on the roadside. Very noisy. No double glazing. Windows so dirty could hardly see out them. Some tiles at entrance to room were sunk and a mat had been placed over these so high risk of an injury. Room décor very outdated and drab. Walls had plastered holes which had not been sanded or painted. Not even a picture on wall or an emergency evacuation information displayed. Corner in lounge(above the bed - see photo) had "tape" holding the wallpaper/plaster in place. Kitchenette had basic supplies but not sufficient for number of people the room could sleep. Cupboards in kitchenette - paint worn off in many places and the board shelves swollen and chipped in many places. Bathroom tidy except for some mouldy areas and split in wall by shower. Toilet was clean but large gap in wall behind toilet and in bedroom. plenty of heating available if needed. Beds comfortable. I checked out after our first night and I told the lady it was too noisy and poor standard. She did not appear worried and just said OK. Free Wi fi intermittent. Would not recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and glad we dud,had a end studio near road,didnt sleep well,traffic was noisy all night,lots of sirens and people walking past.kitchen outdated and shabby and the bathroom really small and pokey.wouldnt stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I booked a king studio at Abbey Motor Lodge for one night. I was given room # 9 which was by the road side and it felt like I was sleeping on the street. Extremely noisy. You can even hear people from the neighbouring room. Even though they provided free wifi, the signal strength was extremely poor and I had to stand at the door to stay connected. The Toilet door didnt have a handle. The reception closes at 9pm and there is no way you can contact anyone. I was up all night and when I complained the next morning, I was told there is nothing that can be done. Will never ever go back again.

Room Tip: Please dont stay here or you'll be up all night.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGGT_AKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My advice is to avoid this place - there are plenty of other motels along the road. The night I spent there was just terrible. There were rats, mice or other little critters running in the walls - I was terrified that they would get in the room. There is no 24hr reception so no-one to contact so stayed awake all night with the light on. Left as soon as I could contacted the management afterwards but they were not interested. Stay away.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed here for a night in June. Motel had everything we needed and was clean and comforatble. The free wifi was a big plus! However we were in one of the end rooms (closest to the road) and the signal strength for the wifi was a bit iffy.
Motel was value for money and the staff were great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisemichell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I took other trip advisors' advice and requested a room near the back of the complex. It helped with the traffic noise - the open lounge bed quieter than the twin bedroom. The free wi-fi was appreciated as were electric blankets. Nice big TV. Friendly staff. Clean. Dining table. Kitchenette is small but pretty well equipped. We got an entertainment card discount, so for us this place was good value for money. Without the discount, I would try other options.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#65 of 146 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bealey Avenue Motel
Bealey Avenue Motel
#75 of 146 in Christchurch
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
136 On Bealey Motel
136 On Bealey Motel
#79 of 146 in Christchurch
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtesy Court Motel
Courtesy Court Motel
#99 of 146 in Christchurch
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Motor Lodge

Address: 209 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £49 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Motor Lodge Christchurch welcomes all guests to enjoy a comfortable stay. Our spacious accommodation and convenient location provides travelers with exceptional affordability. Only minutes from the central city and Christchurch Casino the Abbey Motel is a great option when travelling to the Garden City. At Abbey Motor Lodge we offer a superb balance of comfort and style with a homely feel. Immaculately clean and well presented The Abbey Motel Christchurch offers 14 smart options, with plenty of flexibility. Choose from our one or Two Bedroom Suites, or one of our spacious Studio Suites, we cater for all guests and for all occasions. With the following facilities available, daily servicing, tea and coffee making facilities, full kitchen facilities, microwave, fridge/freezer, shower, desk, Sky TV, hi-speed wireless internet, ironing facilities, guest laundry and great breakfast options we have your needs covered. With all these facilities available we also provide every guest with quality service. Whether its local information or planning a day trip we are only too happy to provide our 5 star service. Our convenient location finds us next to Speight's Ale House and close to Southern Cross Hospital. We are on the Metro bus route and only 5mins from Intercity Coachlines, 10mins from the CBD Cathedral Square and city centre, 5min walk Convention Centre, Casino and Town Hall. We are 15 min drive from the Christchurch International Airport and close to Christchurch Women's/Public Hospital and Hagley Park. We also provide off-street parking and monitored safe parking for motorcycles and bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abbey Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing