We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #35 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good staff”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is right opposite the pop up mall. Staff were really friendly and the meals in the restaurant were really good - much better than most other hotel restaurants.
Only bad point is for a new hotel I would expect widescreen tv!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandybfahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Dandybfahope,
Thanks for your great review. We are very proud of our staff and our food so thank you for highlighting these points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    429
    246
    39
    18
See reviews for
125
365
109
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Located a very short distance from the Bus Station and across the road from the Re-Start container mall. Once Christchurch is fully reconstructed, the Ibis will be a perfect location for exploring. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Hotel staff are polite. Reasonable room rate considering how much other accommodation in Christchurch is! Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Patrick M,
Thank you for your positive review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee Why, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in this property at the beginning and at the end of our New Zealand trip. Booking the rooms online was very easy and a lot cheaper than if you do it directly with them.

The hotel is clean and is located right in the heart of Christchurch. Even though the town is in re-construction mode, there were plenty of places around the hotel to keep us entertained.

The rooms are nice enough for the money you pay, having every facility most hotels will have just in a more compact shape. We were very happy with the bed and availability of different pillows.

The breakfast was very nice having options for most people and even though the coffee machine never gives you a good coffee, it was good for that kick start to the mornings.

We did arrive one night earlier than expected on the way back to Christchurch and had to extend our stay. The front office staff were nice enough to extend it for us, the only thing they did not mention was that we would have different room rates. We found out we were spending considerably more only when checking out. The rate we paid did not even include things our online booking included, ie. breakfast and car parking. I could have asked them on checkin, but I forgot. I do believe that the hotel does have to tell you when the room rate is changed, but I guess that is gone now.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay and if we visit Christchurch again will definitely consider the Ibis again.

Room Tip: Get rooms facing the street. Don't get rooms on level 2 because they look out to a concrete sla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Jeanenekke,
Thank you for your very positive review that highlights our location and staff. We are proud of the food in our restaurant and it is nice to have this acknowledged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is super central, our room overlooked the shopping/coffee area made of shipping containers. Good service, good size room for an Ibis, food in restaurant was good too (as there wasnt many options available). Great location in the centre of Christchurch.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanenekke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Christian M,
Thanks for your review and your comments. Our room rates do change from day to day and our staff certainly should have advised you of this at the time. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Our room was spacious & clean.Great location. Opposite Restart Project & Quake City. 2 minutes from Christchurch Cathedral, the Chalice & The Avon River. Staff very friendly & helpful. Great selection of in-room hot beverages.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Carey37,
Thank you for your review. We are indeed fortunate to have such a fantastic location being right in the city centre and so close to the Restart Mall and sightseeing opportunities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winmalee
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Having stayed at no frills Ibis Hotels in other cities we weren't expecting too much but this was a very good all round hotel. We had king size bed and room was decent size. We stayed for two nights and there were no negatives. The pleasant surprise was the quality of the food in the restaurant which was excellent as was the service. There aren't a lot of choices for dining in central Christchurch so if staying at the Ibis we can recommend dining in there restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richo21282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear richo 21282,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you found our room to be of a decent size, quality of food excellent and no negatives overall.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

No frills 3 star hotel - spotlessly clean, professional staff, small rooms but very comfortable. Great views over Christchurch from the picture window in the room. For business travelers - this hotel is perfect. Staff are friendly and efficient - as you would expect from the Ibis brand.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhayHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear AbhayHamilton,
Thank you for your very positive comments and for rating us highly in all areas. It is great to see that you have acknowledged our staff as they are our most important asset and we are very proud of them as we now enter our second year of being open again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
1,764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#39 of 144 in Christchurch
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#31 of 144 in Christchurch
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Property: Ibis Christchurch
Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing