We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located and well maintained”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #34 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is in the midst of the devastation the hit Christchurch over the past few years. It was re-opened in 12/2012, and boasts an excellent bar and restaurant. There is a 24/7 food kitchen which is wonderful and a bar/cafe open until 10:30 each night. Add an excellent array of local wines and beers and you have an automatic winner. WIFI is a bit pricey, but there are plenty of other local options available. Nice, clean, comfortable rooms added to the pleasant stay. Plus, very close to the river and all of the river activities. ( you MUST go 'punting' on the Christchurch Avon river at least once!)

Stayed: October 2013
Thank roystotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear roystotts,
Thank you for your very positive review and in particular about our restaurant and bar. I must agree with your comments about the "must do" for the punting on the Avon river. This is a very easy walk from the hotel and is a really excellent attraction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We started our trip around the South Island in Christchurch. The location of this hotel is excellent in terms of being straight across the road from shops. We arrived at midnight but the staff were still friendly enough to organise some room service for us, with a smile. The hotel facilities are basic, but you get half an hour free wi-fi in the foyer and everyone was pleasant. The buffet breakfast was not so good, cold and lacking variety. Overall though this was a good hotel for a short stay. We were able to walk to everywhere from here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tashytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Tashytiger,
Thanks for your review and your comments. We will take note about the breakfast being cold because this is not what we strive for. Great to hear that our friendly staff were able to assist you with your requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a total of 4 nights in City View rooms across 3 separate occasions on our Aug/Sept holiday on the South Island. We found it a very useful location for walking around the city - easy walk to Cathedral Square, New Regent St, the Cardboard Cathedral, the Botanic Gardens, ReStart Mall etc. Staff were good and helpful with directions.

The rooms were all quite small, so the second double bed was useful for spreading out our things. Heating was effective; no problems with the bathroom; the TV was quite small but okay. The hotel restaurant was quite good (and there are limited options within walking distance of the city centre these days) at breakfast and dinner.

50MB/30mins per device per day free wifi is available in the lobby and restaurant which we found sufficient for our needs but could be limiting if there on business.

All in all we found this a solid choice for a city chain hotel - not particularly inspiring or personal, but if after function rather than personality, then I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffron_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Saffron AU,
Thank you for your review and for highlighting our excellent location, friendly staff and good food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here on 2 seperate occasions, on the first occasion we were given a disabled access room which wasn't great - the room smelled awful and the shower flooded the bathroom when it was used (not in the normal 'wet room' kind of way - water was everywhere!) However the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The second time we stayed it was like a completely different hotel, the room was large, much nicer, the bed was bigger and the view much better. The bathroom was also excellent.

The hotel is right in the centre of the flattened CBD so pretty much stands alone amoungst building sites and derelict buildings, however it is right next to the inspirational Re-Start Mall and Quake Museum and just a few minutes away from some very nice bars and restaurants. We ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and it was lovely, the staff were great and the food delicious.

I would definately stay again.

Room Tip: If you have the choice opt for a non disabled access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The2explorers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear The2explorers28,
Thank you for your review and for highlighting our excellent staff and food. Thanks for pointing out about the bathroom in your first stay. We have rectified the problem so this should not occur again. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Room was clean but felt really small with 2 double beds in it. Bathroom was small. TV could have been better also. Not much to say about the view from the top floor as it looked onto another buildings brick wall.
It is very central in the city, however being right in the "Red Zone" there are not many places to go out and eat. We ate the food at the hotel and thought it to be overpriced for what it was however choices for other places were very very limited.
Would suggest that you spend a couple of extra $$ and stay at one of the many nice motels just out of the city centre for a more comfortable stay and support someones business in Christchurch rather than a large hotel chain.

Room Tip: Maybe get a room with something to look at out the window....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear cba81,
Thanks for your review. By staying with us you were supporting a locally run and operated business staffed by local people and also supporting local suppliers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is right opposite the pop up mall. Staff were really friendly and the meals in the restaurant were really good - much better than most other hotel restaurants.
Only bad point is for a new hotel I would expect widescreen tv!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dandybfahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Dandybfahope,
Thanks for your great review. We are very proud of our staff and our food so thank you for highlighting these points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Located a very short distance from the Bus Station and across the road from the Re-Start container mall. Once Christchurch is fully reconstructed, the Ibis will be a perfect location for exploring. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Hotel staff are polite. Reasonable room rate considering how much other accommodation in Christchurch is! Would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Patrick M,
Thank you for your positive review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
702 reviews
1.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £66 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing