We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #37 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
243 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Ibis stay was ok, nothing grand. Staff were friendly enough and accommodating of our early check in. Unfortunately I got stuck with a room on level 2 which had a view of a massive grey beam across the front of the window. Limited natural light. Bed was comfortable. Room service menu was limited and the food average. Reasonably priced for hotel room service.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank xoxLuxyxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear contributor,

Thank you for your review of Ibis Christchurch and for your mainly positive comments. We trust that you enjoyed your visit to Christchurch.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    420
    242
    39
    18
See reviews for
123
358
106
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel basically just to sleep as our flight arrived at 12.45 am.
The room was small and clean but I had a nice sleep so can't complain.
It is also located in the centre of Christchurch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Zyso,

Thank you for your positive review of Ibis Christchurch and we trust that you had a good visit to our rebuilding city.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Perhaps I shouldn't complain too vigorously about Ibis now because I didn't go to the effort of insisting on a different room when we arrived. (Our reservations were made by our another party whom we were meeting in Christchurch, so we didn't know what to expect.) Nevertheless, it's hard to imagine that any party of two could have been happy with the room. It had three single beds that were so closely jammed together in the tiny space that we had to move a bed or two each time we wanted to move around the room. The facilities were otherwise mediocre, and the service was minimal. On the positive side, the hotel is well-located if you want to be in city center where the choices are few post-earthquake. In any event, I would look for something different if we were returning to Christchurch.

Room Tip: If you go there, be very sure to understand in advance what kind of room you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Ronald G,

Thank you for your review and it was a shame that you didn't ask to change from a triple room to a King or Twin room as I am sure that would have been more to your liking. We do try to assist people with the room type that suits them best and it was also pleasing to note that you took advantage of our excellent location.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed here with a relative who was visiting and was amazed by the attention to detail from the staff particularly Sovi who went out of his way several times to help us. The only fault i had with the hotel was the bar/bistro which needs a major revamp and redesign. Also the food was cold when we got it, the place was empty too so no excuses re: being too busy. But as a place to stay... a definite.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antof88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Antof88,

Thank you for your very positive review of the hotel. Sovi is indeed an excellent ambassador for the hotel and we are very proud of him. I was sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the restaurant and we will certainly take on board your comments.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We walked off the street from the Buskers Festival on Saturday afternoon (18th Jan) and enquired for a room. The lady on reception (I wish I got her name) was exceptional, very friendly and accommodating. We were offered the choice of a double or king room (king was an extra $10 which we took). She put us on the top floor looking out over the city.

The following morning one of the cleaners (I think his name was Pat) spent time with us showing what used to be where and what will be built in the coming years.

We are from Christchurch, so we know what to expect for food and entertainment, and had tickets for the night shows at the Buskers Festival, so we were not concerned about what is not around. We knew we could get breakfast from one of the two cafes in the Re:Startmall. We didn't use the restaurant.

We had stayed at 3 different Ibis' in as many weeks, so signed up for Accor Hotel loyalty card. I would say this was better then the Wellington Ibis, and definitely much better then the Ibis Styles in Auckland.

The only recommendation I have is there should be notices around on what to do during an earthquake.

Room Tip: The top floor gives a great outlook of the remnants of Christchurch and out to the Port Hills. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Kim M,

Thank you for your review and for your very positive comments. We are very proud of our friendly staff who do go out of their way to help our guests. Thank you for your suggestion about notices in the room. We do have information inside our guest guide that is in every room advising about what to do in the event of any emergencies but we will also consider your ideas.

Kind regards and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed there as AccorHotels frequent visitor (Gold level) - but would not recommend it again. The reception service was not very nice and rather bored (angry?) with arrival of guests.
The room was OK and clean, so no complain here - not sure only why the view was to the wall of another building that was just 3-4 meters away.
Did not use restaurant - the "welcome" at the check-in was persuasive enough to avoid any more experience.
The hotel is the middle of earthquake area, so it is a lot of things to see and think on how big disaster the earthquake must have been for the city. Opposite to the hotel is sort of cultural/shopping centre, called Re:Fuel - nice boutiques, but you'll not find there much to eat (in general there is little to eat in quite a vast vicinity of the hotel).

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the street and entrance of the hotel. Otherwise you'll see a nice pinkis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomekBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear TomekBe,

Thank you for posting your review and for staying with us. We apologise if our reception service was not to your liking. This is certainly not our usual standard and is not acceptable to us either. It is a shame that you didn't eat in our restaurant as the food is really. We will certainly take on board your comments as clearly your arrival did mean that your overall stay was impacted.

Once again thank you for your comments and we will do our utmost to ensure that improvements are made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

For all the rooms are not large they are good value and the staff are extremely helpful. With an Accor card the mains are two for one for dinner and breakfast, and the food was extremely good. It is central so easy to go to the Restart Mall for some shopping and to check out the buskers.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Liz N,

Thank you for your review and for your positive comments. Our chef has worked hard to ensure that our food is consistently good and as you said, we are located very close to the Restart Mall which is a real bonus.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#41 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Property: Ibis Christchurch
Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing