We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and good facilities”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #33 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel has a great views of the surrounding areas (due to many of the buildings that used to block the view having been damaged or destroyed in the earthquake). The hotel is fine for a short stay in the city and the bar is a welcome find when in need of a beer as there are not many bars in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Chris B,

Thank you for your recent review of Ibis Christchurch and for highlighting our views of the city and our bar. It was great that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a new hotel constructed after the 2011 earth quake. It is in a middle of reconstruction zone.
The rooms are Ibis standard, comfortable. One restaurant for food. Nearby no good restaurant . ....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rangassamy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Rangassamy L,

Thank you for posting your your positive thoughts in your review. Our restaurant does provide excellent food and with our location being in the cntre of the CBD we are ideally placed for people to view the rebuilding of the city.

We hope that you will visit us again in teh future so you can see what progress has been made.

Once again thank you and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I've been to Christchurch before the earthquake and I was curious what to see. There is little left and the Ibis is one of the few operational buildings in the CBD. Very friendly staff, good restaurant. It's worth to book a room on the upper floors to have a good view over the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Miguel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear 4Miguel66,

Thank you for your review and it is great that our staff and restaurant offered you the kind of service that exceeded your expectations. Our staff do often get very good compliments for their friendliness which is very much appreciated.

Christchurch is in recovery mode and the rebuilding phase has begun which is exciting. As you point out, we are located right in the heart of the CBD so an ideal place to stay to view the progress.

We hope to wlecome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

rebuilt in the center of Christchurch, great location right next to the container mall. Rooms are comfortable and well set out. Restaurant has a very good menu for yor evening meals and breakfast would put u in good steed for days work ahead of you. A lot of empty section and construction sites around the hotel but don't let that put you off. staff are only to happy to make yor stay as enjoyable, not sure when Neil and Cathy stayed there as there reviews seem out of character with this newly built hotel or perhaps they like to enjoy 5 star hotels. I have already booked my next stay

Room Tip: if you want a bit of a view get a road facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear jonof,

Thank you for your very positive review of our hotel. Our staff are our greatest asset and it is really good that you have acknowledged their friendliness. We are very proud of our staff and also our restaurant which as you point out serves an excellent breakfast and also evening meals.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Over-priced, out-dated rooms and extortionate internet rates are my headlines.

Unfortunately there aren't many other central Chch options for business, but it still feels like exploitation of the situation to me.

The rooms are out of date. There's an empty room fridge which seems a complete waste. The TV has that rubbish Hotel TV system and isn't even wide screen. Unless you get a room on the front of the hotel all you have to look at is the next door building. The room decor is outdated. The internet rate is extortionate. If you do manage to get a front of hotel room and you are above the 4th floor you can connect wirelessly to the Restart Mall free wireless!

If you have the option, find somewhere else would be my recommendation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Neil C,

Thank you for posting your review and I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. Our rooms were repainted prior to reopening which was in September 2012. We have refrigerators in all rooms so that guests may keep their own drinks cold and we also offer 30 minutes free wifi in our lobby. Our restaurant and bar are able to meet our guests dining needs.

Thanks again and we hope that you will try us again in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Although you are very limited on the locations to stay within Christchurch CBD, the ibis is a recently built hotel within good walking distance to the most of the CBD.

The restaurant had a great selection of meals for both dinner and lunch. I was a little disappointed at the in room facilities I.e. Lack of nibbles or drinks on offer.

I wouldn't personally stay at this hotel when I visit Christchurch, but as a work accommodation option it is one of the better options in its location.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Cathy_OConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Cathy,

Thank you for posting your review and we were really pleased to see that you found our restaurant selection to your liking and also that our really central CBD location worked well.
The Ibis is a 3 star brand without mini bars in the rooms. This applies at all of our hotels right around the world. While not having those facilities in our rooms we do have a very well stocked bar and also have both a snack and soft drinl vending machine in our lobby.

We appreciate you staying with us and once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Comfy beds, VERY small room and bathroom. Coffee/tea maker, hairdryer, etc. The room is comfortable enough but small for our tastes. Shower has a terrible shower head and the shower door didn't close (leaving water in the floor). Nice enough staff but don't expect any help with bags. All of these hotels (Ibis) are more "do it yourself" style. Staff was helpful with some great restaurant choices close by the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Teresa K,

Thank you for your review and your comments about our helpful staff and location. I was sorry to see that you found our shower not suitable. It is a shame that you didn't advise us of this during your stay so that we could have addressed the issue while you were here. We checked the shower head and shower door and found both to be working correctly but we cleaned the shower head anyway to improve the flow of water.

Our rooms are compact but well appointed and as part of the international Ibis brand we do have similar standards right throughout the world.

Thank you for staying with us and also for visiting Christchurch.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
2,030 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £76 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing