We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Happy Here”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #34 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I really enjoy staying at the Ibis in Christchurch when I am in town. The staff is so friendly, and the location is great. You are just a short walk to the container mall and to the main bus station south of the hotel. And the square is literally just around the corner. I’m always very pleased with the cleanliness of my room and the amenities. Request a room with a view of the container mall for a unique perspective of that part of town.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear RunsAmok,

Thank you for posting your review and it is great to read such positive comments about our friendly staff. They are our biggest asset and we will share your comments with them. You also point out that we do have an excellent location. Being so close to the ReStart Mall and the Square is certainly an advantage that our guests love.

Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Christchurch.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was a tour stop hotel for us. So warning to independent travellers that a couple of busloads can be here at a time crowding the restaurant and bar..
Room is the minimum they could have especially the bathroom - no cat swinging here!
Breakfast is budget hotel fare but fresh enough.
The tour dinner was buffet and strangely it is laid out at the back of the bar area. Not great if anyone wanted a quiet drink. Bar closes promptly at 10.30 even if you are a resident so do not come back late looking for a nightcap.
On the plus side it is just around the corner from the Cathedral and the ReStart Mall is just down the road. Look elsewhere if you want character and relaxing public areas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Ken F,

Thank you for posting your review. Your tour group operator does use the Ibis Christchurch for it's lo cost series tours and we have many groups staying with us on Sunday and Monday nights. They chose us for our excellent location being so close to the centre of the city and the attractions and shopping.
We do receive many positive comments from the group participants about the buffet dinners which as you point out are laid out in the same area as the breakfast buffet which is at the back of the bar area which leads directly onto the restaurant seating.

Thank you once again for your review and we trust that you enjoyed your group tour of New Zealand.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed in a compact room for a one night stopover in Christchurch. We got an online deal for booking in advance, there was ample street parking and it was close to the pop up shops which were interesting to look around even though they were closed by the time we got there. It had everything we needed, close to town, comfortable king size bed and a great price, would stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TwistieChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear TwistieChook,

Thanks for your review. It is always great to get such positive feedback and we will be sure to share this with our staff to encourage them to keep working hard to keep our standards up.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have stayed there twice and probably won't do so again. Because of the shortage of hotels in Christchurch, the hotel is premium-priced without really delivering.
the rooms are small and the bathroom minuscule, although it has everything you might want. The bed is comfortable and has a fabulous view of the building sites across the road.
Clearly this hotel is targeting bus tourists. when we arrived, we had a 40-minute wait to be checked in. Not their fault I know, but they might give priority to loyalty-card (Accor) customers. One staff member was frazzled and rude. The other staff were incredibly helpful and the staff are their strongest asset, helpful to a fault. They are to be congratulated for their wonderful service.
The restaurant is average, and the bar area needs something to reduce the noise. Again the winelist was average and not representative of the wonderful wines which NZ produces. the breakfast was typical hotel-grade, nothing inspiring at all. The staff again were outstanding.
The price is premium as are the staff, but the facilities and services are definitely not.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBridge_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear TBridge 12,

Thank you for your review of the Ibis Christchurch. You stayed during February which is the busiest month of the year for Christchurch. Our prices compare favourably with other hotels in the city and if you do choose to come back again the room rates should not be as high as during the Peak Season.

Thank you for complimenting our staff who are our greatest asset. They do try very hard to provide excellent service and it is great that you have acknowledged this.

We will take on board your comments about the wine list and will review our offering to see what improvements can be made. The noise that you referred to would have been from the construction site from over the road. As this project progresses the noise will reduce.

Once again thank you for your mainly positive review and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Nice hotel. Outrageous WIFI charges -- $22.50 US per day!!! Location was good. Forget the view, it's a disaster area due to recent earthquakes. View of a giant hole from my window. Staff was OK but could have been better.

Room Tip: Find a hotel not near the disaster area -- with free Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Mark W,

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry that you found our wifi charges expensive. We have just amended our pricing to a lower rate so hopefully future guests will find the new pricing reasonable. As you point out we do have an excellent location with good views over the rebuilding of our earthquake damaged city.

Thank you for staying in Christchurch and supporting the rebuilding. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I travel fairly frequent for work, stayed in many Ibis hotels in Asia/Europe and thus when my tour package offered me Ibis Christchurch - I was fairly apprehensive. My stays in the many Ibis throughout Indonesia especially, had made me really disappointed.

However, I must say Ibis Christchurch rescued some semblance of faith I had lost with Accor Pacific Group. Neat, well and centrally located, free internet (4 computers) at the lobby (compared to the payable and horrendously poor, slow experienced in other Ibis Worldwide).

Rooms - clean and neat, spacious enough (room 107 & 108). Bathroom, like other Ibis - pre-fabricated plastic type but this one was just about the right size (compared to Munich Ibis, sigh....)

Food wise - only one restaurant, had 2 breakfasts consecutively. Pretty standard fare throughout NZ, nothing to crow about but decent. Not pricey, to add

I was told my tour group's bag was personally hauled by the manager himself and that warmed my heart lots for when we arrived to the hotel - our luggage were already placed in our rooms for us. That, my readers of this review, is what I had to say made me feel tad warmer about Ibis - just this hotel!

Christchurch is still in various stages of rebuilding throughout the city - give it time, I am sure the vibrancy of this city shall return. Praying for Christchurch, NZ

Room Tip: Only 2 lifts - thus stay on the 1st level which is same level with restaurant might help beat the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SG_Foodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear SG_Foodie 123,

Thank you for posting such an excellent review on Ibis Christchurch. We appreciate you taking the time to say that we have helped change your opinion on the Ibis brand. We do try very hard to please our guests and to provide excellent service.

It was also true that I personally looked after your luggage and all senior staff do assist when we have groups arriving to help with this task. As the old saying goes "many hands make light work".

Once again thank you and it was a pleasure having your group to stay.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel has a great views of the surrounding areas (due to many of the buildings that used to block the view having been damaged or destroyed in the earthquake). The hotel is fine for a short stay in the city and the bar is a welcome find when in need of a beer as there are not many bars in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Chris B,

Thank you for your recent review of Ibis Christchurch and for highlighting our views of the city and our bar. It was great that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#29 of 146 in Christchurch
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £64 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing