We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PAYING MY RESPECTS TO CHRISTCHURCH” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #37 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PAYING MY RESPECTS TO CHRISTCHURCH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

IBIS hotels are always value for money and the one in christchurch lived up to the reputation a good 3 star hotel clean pleasant helpful staff being disabled meant alot to me food was good and plentiful Good location thou unfortunately due to the devastating earthquake of 3 years a go not to much to see now I had come to Christchurch on the 3rd anniversary of the last quake to pay my respects ! Having been several times over the years and getting to like the city The hotel i stopped in the last time I visited i could not stop in this time has was in the danger no go area ! Thus my stay in the Ibis and was no way disappointed . So good to see and talk to people who had lived through the horror and doing their best to rebuild the city and their lives my thoughts were so with them I would not hesitate to stop at the IBIS again i
Ive given it 4 circles on its good service cleanliness good value

Room Tip: To be fair due to the earthquake so many places demolished and places waiting to be demolished views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear John O,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to come back to our city again. It is really gratifying to note that the efforts made with the rebuild are appreciated and the city will only continue to get better.

Thank you for your comments about our rooms, service and food. We are proud of our staff and it is great when contributors like you acknowledge them.

Once again thank you for staying and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    412
    237
    39
    18
See reviews for
123
350
106
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The Ibis was the perfect location for our family's short visit to Christchurch while in route from Kaikoura to Mt Cook. The weather was cold and rainy so we really appreciated being steps away from the Restart Mall and Quake City exhibit.

Our triple room wasn't spacious, but it was very thoughtfully appointed so we had plenty of storage space for all of our luggage,toiletries and electronic devices.

There isn't much open nearby at night in the way of restaurants, although during the day cafes are open within a block or two. That said, I was very pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality of the dinner we had in the hotel restaurant. Although the portions were unsatisfying small, my lamb salad was delicious and beautifully presented as were all of the other dishes we ordered.

Based upon other reviews I expected terrible service, so I was relieved to find that all but one of the staff members I encountered were lovely -- extremely friendly and helpful. There was one bad apple though, a young woman who is clearly not cut out for customer service. Perhaps she is single-handedly responsible for all of the complaints? Of that I'm not sure.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Overhear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Overhear,

Thank you for posting your extremely positive review. Our restaurant meals do get excellent reviews and it was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your meal.

To enable me to follow up on your comments about customer service I would really appreciate a quick email to enable me to contact you. My email address is: tim.dearsley@accor.com

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level Contributor
249 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The room is small but comfortable. The hotel is convenient - still a lot of destruction from the earthquake but this hotel is a bright spot. Great staff- very friendly and helpful. Has a guest laundry.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank krg999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear krg999,

Thank you for posting your very positive review and especially for praising our very friendly and helpful staff. It is pleasing to note that you thought that the hotel is a bright spot amongst the repair and rebuilding work going on in the city.

It was a pleasure having you to stay and we would love to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
264 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I really enjoy staying at the Ibis in Christchurch when I am in town. The staff is so friendly, and the location is great. You are just a short walk to the container mall and to the main bus station south of the hotel. And the square is literally just around the corner. I’m always very pleased with the cleanliness of my room and the amenities. Request a room with a view of the container mall for a unique perspective of that part of town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear RunsAmok,

Thank you for posting your review and it is great to read such positive comments about our friendly staff. They are our biggest asset and we will share your comments with them. You also point out that we do have an excellent location. Being so close to the ReStart Mall and the Square is certainly an advantage that our guests love.

Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Christchurch.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was a tour stop hotel for us. So warning to independent travellers that a couple of busloads can be here at a time crowding the restaurant and bar..
Room is the minimum they could have especially the bathroom - no cat swinging here!
Breakfast is budget hotel fare but fresh enough.
The tour dinner was buffet and strangely it is laid out at the back of the bar area. Not great if anyone wanted a quiet drink. Bar closes promptly at 10.30 even if you are a resident so do not come back late looking for a nightcap.
On the plus side it is just around the corner from the Cathedral and the ReStart Mall is just down the road. Look elsewhere if you want character and relaxing public areas.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Ken F,

Thank you for posting your review. Your tour group operator does use the Ibis Christchurch for it's lo cost series tours and we have many groups staying with us on Sunday and Monday nights. They chose us for our excellent location being so close to the centre of the city and the attractions and shopping.
We do receive many positive comments from the group participants about the buffet dinners which as you point out are laid out in the same area as the breakfast buffet which is at the back of the bar area which leads directly onto the restaurant seating.

Thank you once again for your review and we trust that you enjoyed your group tour of New Zealand.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a compact room for a one night stopover in Christchurch. We got an online deal for booking in advance, there was ample street parking and it was close to the pop up shops which were interesting to look around even though they were closed by the time we got there. It had everything we needed, close to town, comfortable king size bed and a great price, would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TwistieChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear TwistieChook,

Thanks for your review. It is always great to get such positive feedback and we will be sure to share this with our staff to encourage them to keep working hard to keep our standards up.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have stayed there twice and probably won't do so again. Because of the shortage of hotels in Christchurch, the hotel is premium-priced without really delivering.
the rooms are small and the bathroom minuscule, although it has everything you might want. The bed is comfortable and has a fabulous view of the building sites across the road.
Clearly this hotel is targeting bus tourists. when we arrived, we had a 40-minute wait to be checked in. Not their fault I know, but they might give priority to loyalty-card (Accor) customers. One staff member was frazzled and rude. The other staff were incredibly helpful and the staff are their strongest asset, helpful to a fault. They are to be congratulated for their wonderful service.
The restaurant is average, and the bar area needs something to reduce the noise. Again the winelist was average and not representative of the wonderful wines which NZ produces. the breakfast was typical hotel-grade, nothing inspiring at all. The staff again were outstanding.
The price is premium as are the staff, but the facilities and services are definitely not.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBridge_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear TBridge 12,

Thank you for your review of the Ibis Christchurch. You stayed during February which is the busiest month of the year for Christchurch. Our prices compare favourably with other hotels in the city and if you do choose to come back again the room rates should not be as high as during the Peak Season.

Thank you for complimenting our staff who are our greatest asset. They do try very hard to provide excellent service and it is great that you have acknowledged this.

We will take on board your comments about the wine list and will review our offering to see what improvements can be made. The noise that you referred to would have been from the construction site from over the road. As this project progresses the noise will reduce.

Once again thank you for your mainly positive review and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#46 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Property: Ibis Christchurch
Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing