We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very consistant”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #37 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very consistant”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Arrived on a very early morning flight and didn't even bother to get to the hotel until 1030 but they managed to allocate me a room that early on a Friday morning! Always enjoy staying at this hotel and it's nice to see more and more development in the CDB.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DECONZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear DECONZ,

Thank you for your review and for your positive comments. It is great that we were able to allocate a room for you when you arrived earlier than the normal check in time. We do our best to do this where possible.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    421
    242
    39
    18
See reviews for
123
358
107
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Went here for dinner. Absolutly loved d prawn and calamari entrée. For the mains we had steak and salmon which was just average. The deserts very yummy. Will definatly visit again. The staff were polite and nice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jesintha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear jesintha r,

Thank you for your very positive review of our restaurant. We are very proud of our food and service staff so it is nice to see them recognised.

We hope to see you back again for dinner again soon. We are just about to introduce a new menu so there will be some new items for you to try.

Thanks again and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Location is great , Reception friendly and helpful , Rooms tidy , clean and comfortable . I dined in the restaurant on the one night I was there - the food was top class ( I ordered the prawn entre followed by pork belly for the main ) . The prawns were cooked and presented superbly . The pork belly had much less fat than one experiences in other establishments and the added ( small ) pieces of crackling were nice and crisp ( again a change from other restaurants )

Samjay Auckland

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samjayAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear samjayAuckland,

Thank you for your extremely positive review and for highlighting our excellent restaurant food. We are extremely proud of our chefs and the food that they consistently turn out is really good.
I have passed on your comments to all of our staff so that they can see that their hard work does get recognised.

We look forward to seeing you at Ibis Christchurch again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great location... amazing to see the rebuild of Christchurch taking place in front of you.
I agree the hotel is average, average room, average size and average services.
However the bed is comfortable.
The hotel is in a great location.. and worth walking around the rebuild of Christchurch

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otagopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Otagopete,

Thank you for your review and it was good to see that you found our location to be excellent and we are ideally placed to see the rebuild of our city.

WE hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

A pretty small room taken up by two double beds. It would make more sense to have a queen or king size and more room to walk around. The heating can be a bit of a challenge and whilst it's great that the room is well sealed from drafts, it means you wake up feeling stale as there's been no fresh air in the room overnight. No, the windows don't open.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Tobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mr_Tobes,

Thank you for your review and for your comments. We do have rooms with a King size bed in them as well as the twin rooms that have 2 double beds. Sorry that you didn't get the room type that would have suited you better but if you do come back please be sure to request a King room.

We do not have windows that open as all of our rooms have air conditioning. However, just to allay your concerns about fresh air, our system does pump fresh air into every room each 6 minutes.

We do hope to see you again in the future and once again thanks for your comments.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greymouth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This place was just the spot when I needed to get to Christchurch at short notice. Good car parking underneath with the car park spaces big enough that that it wasn't a hassle parking, far better than some I've had to park in. The staff were pleasant and the lobby was light and airy and felt welcoming. My room wasn't huge but then it was perfectly fine and had plenty of room. I liked the long work bench against the window which was far better than some tiny work spaces I've had and it was nice to be able to look out over the slowly rebuilding city while doing some work. Didn't have any food in the hotel so can't comment on that. It was quite and I was happy with my stay and will book again.

Room Tip: Just my normal advice, ask for a room away from the lifts although that wasn't an issue here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murry_Cave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Murray_Cave,

Thank you for your very positive review. It was pleasing to see that the hotel ticked all the right boxes for you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raumati Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Everything about this place is average and then only just when you compare the price. It was a wet day when I arri ed and access to the underground park did not work which meant I had to remark and get wet. My meal was average, just ok steak with a sauce I didn't recognize. Rooms were small, clean but nothing flash. TV remote was not functional.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fwhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Fwhanau,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. It was unfortunate it was wet and that you had to use the open car park next door. Our steak is served with a choice of either Bearnaise sauce, Brandy cream or Red wine jus. I apologise if these choices were not to your liking.

Once again thank you for your review.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#41 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Property: Ibis Christchurch
Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing