We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and stylish”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #34 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a one night stay on 30 June. While the rooms and bathrooms are on the small side, they are typical Ibis sized rooms and more than adequate for an overnight stay - possibly different if having an extended stay.
Quite impressed with the restaurant and had an enjoyable meal in pleasant surroundings. The bar and restaurant were both well patronised and helped avoid the too often sterile hotel restaurant environment.

More than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BulaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear BulaJules,

Thank you for your positive review of the Ibis and especxially for your comments about the restaurant and bar. We do pride ourselves on providing excellent food at reasonable prices.

We would love to have you stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of tour group package. Receptionist staff was friendly. Our standard room was small with a tiny closet and a bathroom no bigger than the size on a cruise ship. Wifi was weak from my 3rd floor room but there were 2 computers at the lobby and they seem to be always available. The best thing about the hotel was its central location although there weren't too many shops and restaurants opened as the the city was still in the rebuilding process. Two blocks away is the The Re:Start Mall where one can get a quick bite. There is also a shopping mall about 6-7 blocks further down the street from the Re:Start Mall. We couldn't find any decent restaurants in the area so ended up eating dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food was very good. The hotel is value for money despite its small rooms, as other hotels in the area charge considerately more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamer176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear dreamer 176,

Thank you for your review and for highlighting our excellent location, food and friendly staff. Our rooms while not large are well appointed. I am sorry to hear that the WIFI signal was weak as it should be the same strength in all rooms.

We trust that you enjoyed your tour of New Zealand and hope to see you back again one day.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in a beautifully set out place,the whole hotel is so friendly and welcoming from the reception staff to the laundry staff. The whole place is just fantastic. There are roof to ceiling windows at each end of the corridors which give you a fabulous view,especially like us from the eighth floor. We were asked if we wanted a room with a view,yes please, and wow what a view we got. You are right amidst the red zone of Christchurch,the Cathedral is just seconds away and from the wonderful windows you can get awesome photos, it's also a short walk to the Re:start Mall,and you can also go for walks into town, you can also catch the double decker bus and tour the red zone area to see just how the earthquake affected the area. There was nothing the staff couldn't do for us. I can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view. No noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear yogismum,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Ibis Christchurch. Your comments really show that what we have tried to achieve is working and I will most definitely pass them on to the staff to show them that their hard work is appreciated.

We would love to have you back to stay again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Clean and simple hotel in Christchurch. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient at check in. Had breakfast at the hotel was good and pretty standard. Hotel was on par with the Ibis brand in the Accor group of Hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Andrew C,

Thank you for your review. Your comments that the hotel lived up to the Ibis brand is great because that is exactly what we need to achieve. I will pass your comments on to our staff to reinforce our commitment to training and friendliness.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Not at all what we expected. For a start being charged $25 for parking in the hotel car park is extortionate. And it was not even valet parking!!! What a rip off!. The staff were nice enough but our check in was not the best both time wise and in accuracy according to reservation . The food in the restaurant was not the best, we found the ham had even gone off!!. Perhaps we should have settled for paying out a bit more and staying at the nearby Novotel or elsewhere. On a good note though , like I mentioned the staff were nice enough and the rooms value for money. Was a plus that the beds are so good we got a good nights sleep!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munchkin740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Munchkin740,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not like having to pay for parking in our underground and secure car park. When deciding on our prices we did compare with hotels in other cities to ensure that we were charging a similar amount. I apologise if the option of parking on the street wasn't explained to you on check in so I will reiterate to our staff to ensure that this is done in future.

It was very pleasing to see that you enjoyed a good night's sleep!

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Arrived on a very early morning flight and didn't even bother to get to the hotel until 1030 but they managed to allocate me a room that early on a Friday morning! Always enjoy staying at this hotel and it's nice to see more and more development in the CDB.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DECONZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear DECONZ,

Thank you for your review and for your positive comments. It is great that we were able to allocate a room for you when you arrived earlier than the normal check in time. We do our best to do this where possible.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Went here for dinner. Absolutly loved d prawn and calamari entrée. For the mains we had steak and salmon which was just average. The deserts very yummy. Will definatly visit again. The staff were polite and nice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jesintha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear jesintha r,

Thank you for your very positive review of our restaurant. We are very proud of our food and service staff so it is nice to see them recognised.

We hope to see you back again for dinner again soon. We are just about to introduce a new menu so there will be some new items for you to try.

Thanks again and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#39 of 146 in Christchurch
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £68 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing