We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD HOTEL IN TOWN”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #37 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL IN TOWN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Room was comfortable and I have no complaints on the bedding and bathroom . Like all other IBIS hotels, you will find 2-3 computers available at the lobby for guests’ use.
The hotel is within walking distance to the shops in town. However, the earthquake in 2011 damaged most of the high-rise building and shopping malls, hence shops are now temporary housed in containers. Should you stay in this hotel pay a visit to the Cardboard Cathedral which is a 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel.
I must mention about Kristin the front desk staff who was extremely welcoming with a friendly disposition and full of smiles. Kristin was extremely helpful and patient to our needs and questions.

We didn’t eat at Ibis hotel but at the nearby Novotel where we had lunch at The Square Restaurant. Mai, the Thai lady waitress at Novotel was very cordial and friendly and always smiling. Food there was quite good too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Jazabelle,

Thank you for your positive review and especially for highlighting the exceptional service that Kristin our receptionist gave you. We are very fortunate to have staff of her calibre working at the hotel and it is really nice to see it acknowledged by our guests. You also complemented Mai, a staff member at our sister hotel, the Novotel. I too have enjoyed the service that Mai has provided and I will pass on your comments to the team at The Novotel.

We hope to see you back in Christchurch again in the future and once again thanks for posting your review.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    416
    240
    39
    18
See reviews for
123
354
106
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

THe Ibis is a good value hotel in the heart of Christchurch. Not fancy but clean and functional. Beds comfortable, and housekeeping did a good job of cleaning. Rooms area bit small small (like a cruise ship) for 4 people in a single room but we only stayed for 4 nights. A row of computers available for 20mins use in the lobby which is a good idea. Parking is expensive so look for cheaper options nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plum_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Plum_50,

Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to see that our formula of functional, well kept and clean facilities is acknowledged by our guests.

Thank you for highlighting our housekeeping staff who do an excellent job.

We hope to see you back in Christchurch again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I live 1.7km from Ibis and have watched it rise from the Red Zone over last 18months. Being out for quake repairs in our home we needed a night away from reality. Ibis staff have been nothing but exceptionally understanding and helpful. I really appreciate they also look out for locals-
The hotel has exceptional views over our beautiful city. The room was perfect for our requirements,clean,modern,warm and comfortable beds!
Don't let surrounding environment put you off, this is a lovely oasis and deserve support to rebuild themselves!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abs-jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Abs-jayne,

Thank you for your very positive review. We do pride ourselves on our facilities and staff being of excellent quality and it is really great to see that you have acknowledged this. We always welcome locals and many of them come to eat in our restaurant. Not so many but some certainly, also come to stay.

We would love to see you again in the future and once again thanks for the positive review.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a one night stay on 30 June. While the rooms and bathrooms are on the small side, they are typical Ibis sized rooms and more than adequate for an overnight stay - possibly different if having an extended stay.
Quite impressed with the restaurant and had an enjoyable meal in pleasant surroundings. The bar and restaurant were both well patronised and helped avoid the too often sterile hotel restaurant environment.

More than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear BulaJules,

Thank you for your positive review of the Ibis and especxially for your comments about the restaurant and bar. We do pride ourselves on providing excellent food at reasonable prices.

We would love to have you stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of tour group package. Receptionist staff was friendly. Our standard room was small with a tiny closet and a bathroom no bigger than the size on a cruise ship. Wifi was weak from my 3rd floor room but there were 2 computers at the lobby and they seem to be always available. The best thing about the hotel was its central location although there weren't too many shops and restaurants opened as the the city was still in the rebuilding process. Two blocks away is the The Re:Start Mall where one can get a quick bite. There is also a shopping mall about 6-7 blocks further down the street from the Re:Start Mall. We couldn't find any decent restaurants in the area so ended up eating dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food was very good. The hotel is value for money despite its small rooms, as other hotels in the area charge considerately more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamer176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear dreamer 176,

Thank you for your review and for highlighting our excellent location, food and friendly staff. Our rooms while not large are well appointed. I am sorry to hear that the WIFI signal was weak as it should be the same strength in all rooms.

We trust that you enjoyed your tour of New Zealand and hope to see you back again one day.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in a beautifully set out place,the whole hotel is so friendly and welcoming from the reception staff to the laundry staff. The whole place is just fantastic. There are roof to ceiling windows at each end of the corridors which give you a fabulous view,especially like us from the eighth floor. We were asked if we wanted a room with a view,yes please, and wow what a view we got. You are right amidst the red zone of Christchurch,the Cathedral is just seconds away and from the wonderful windows you can get awesome photos, it's also a short walk to the Re:start Mall,and you can also go for walks into town, you can also catch the double decker bus and tour the red zone area to see just how the earthquake affected the area. There was nothing the staff couldn't do for us. I can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear yogismum,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Ibis Christchurch. Your comments really show that what we have tried to achieve is working and I will most definitely pass them on to the staff to show them that their hard work is appreciated.

We would love to have you back to stay again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Clean and simple hotel in Christchurch. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient at check in. Had breakfast at the hotel was good and pretty standard. Hotel was on par with the Ibis brand in the Accor group of Hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Andrew C,

Thank you for your review. Your comments that the hotel lived up to the Ibis brand is great because that is exactly what we need to achieve. I will pass your comments on to our staff to reinforce our commitment to training and friendliness.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#43 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Property: Ibis Christchurch
Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing