We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy. ”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #35 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy. ”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for an overnight stay. The room was clean and tidy but the shower was tiny. Some of the reception stay were nice but one staff member when we checked in was unpleasant but must of been having a bad day. The hotel restaurant was amazing for dinner and reasonable priced considering there is barely any outside restaurants however the buffet breakfast was gross expect for the Danish.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Delaney7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Delaney7,

Thank you for your comments, both positive and negative. It was great to hear that mostly we did well.

Clearly there are areas that we need to work on and I can assure you that we will do so.

Once again thank you and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    429
    246
    39
    18
See reviews for
125
365
109
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have recently travelled to Christchurch in New Zealand again and this time I stayed at the budget IBIS hotel for several days for business.

The accommadation was on par with some of the better class of hotels and the restaurant food was better than norm.
The food menu was not huge like some places where you can't make up your mind but certainly catered for most people. I was pleasantly surprised. The breakfast was also very good.

Highly recommended.
Staff were helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Hpas,

Thank you for posting such a positive review and especially for mentioning the good food. We do have really good chefs and we are really proud of the quality of the meals that we offer.

We would love to have you back to stay in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were landing at 11.30pm in ChCh NZ so wanted a place to crash.
Went for an Accor hotel with no expectation.
Arrived at about 12.45am rang a bell and the night manager appeared like clock work.
Room was ready,clean and well stocked with basics like tea coffee and green tea.
Room was quiet and comfortable.
We enjoyed our one night short stay before picking up transport and getting on road.
Christchurch great service and good base would have stayed longer if staying in ChCh.

Room Tip: Book in advance and ring them up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisbanenhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Brisbanenhoj,

Thank you for your review and it was pleasing to see that our night manager was able to assist you with a warm room and a good welcome!

We would love to have you back to stay again in the future.

Thanks and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I've stayed at Ibis Hotels before so already had a good idea of the standard expected and to be honest this was to the standard expected - i.e. a clean, tidy property with everything you needed and really nothing you didn't.

The room was ready nice and early (arriving around 10:30am), which is always nice. Reception was very friendly and check-in was prompt, efficient and friendly (as was check-out). The property is right in the middle of the city so, after unpacking, it was a quick walk to both the new container mall or to the square.

The room was neat, tidy and warm, the bed was comfortable, as was the furniture. A little dark during the day if you were trying to work at the desk, but you can always go work in the bar or reception if that's easier, as a nice dark room is much nicer to sleep in.

I probably wouldn't recommend dining there for dinner again - while the food was fine, there was nothing really special about it - once again, prompt and efficient, but nothing to write home about. I'd highly recommend going out and trying a few of the local restaurants instead. Breakfast was fine, and there is limited complimentary wifi in the Lobby and bar (paid in the room).

Overall, if you're looking for a base of operations for business or travel and you're not going to be spending a great deal of time in your room, you could do much worse.

Room Tip: Perhaps if it's important, ask for a room on a higher floor - I had a room on the first floor wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndustryBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear IndustryBuff,

Thank you for posting a positive review of the hotel. It was great to see that we were able to assist you with an early check in and that you found our staff friendly and efficient.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thanks and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Against the bleak backdrop of the Christchurch winter we arrived at the IBIS, a little weary after a day of travel – by no means late but obviously way past the bedtime of the grimace faced receptionist. Her ability to withhold any semblance of a smile was artistic, her aptitude for small talk “Helen-Keller-like”. I can imagine her hospitality tutor being a Chinese immigration officer in a previous life. I withheld the offer that she would make a wonderful facial expression tutor for Poker stars or maybe a display mannequin at Farmers.

After some clinical exchanges reminiscent of two mute teens dancing at a school ball we proceeded to our room.

Stepping into the room designed by a broke agoraphobic I couldn’t help but feel frustrated, especially when space is all Christchurch has now. One just expects a little more than dated décor, stunted water flow, peeling paint and 17 square feet for $170 per night. Yes, the IBIS is in the CBD but the CBD is nothing more than a few coloured storage containers and condemned buildings now. The hotel is surrounded by cranes and motionless men in fluorescent orange pointing at things.

I proceeded to take a shower, at the time not knowing the source was connected to a 90 year old with severe prostate inflammation then ordered a lamb shank made of solid gold.

Throughout our stay there were no smiles or cheer from staff when entering the building, asking advice or ordering, just people who wished they were elsewhere and a towel delivery man complaining about his job delivering towels (although he missed room 505 twice).

Check out time was carried out by Sally, the psychological twin of our greeter from Monday. With a mouth full of lemon, and eyes devoid of smiles she went through the process she was obviously passionate about. Not one question about our stay, whether we enjoyed Christchurch or offer of a taxi passed her lips – she seemed more concerned about the validity of our Accor membership and whether we had indeed presented proof at our $40 breakfast consisting of oats, fruit and coffee made from hate.

After depositing a $2 coin into the neck slot of our baggage attendant we had our bags and were free to go, never to return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrockG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear BrockG2014,

Thank you for posting your review and I apologise that we failed to meet your expectations. You certainly paint a bleak picture of the staff, facilities and the city. We do try hard to please our guests so it is extremely disappointing to read that we obviously got it very wrong during your stay.

We have conducted a full investigation into your comments and retraining where required will be undertaken. I can assure you that smiles will be a big focus of attention.

Once again thanks for your comments and we have certainly taken them on board.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I had planned to stay at this hotel for 4 nights in June, but due to several different things which I will mention in this review I left after just 2 nights! The hotel is centrally located next to the old cathedral, but due to the 2011 earthquake there is very little in the way of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance! Given this it means that the hotel is a convenient place to eat and drink. On the first night dining at the hotel my medium-rare steak came cremated and their second attempt was medium-well at best! The next evening I ordered a club sandwich by room service which incurs a delivery charge and after the second inedible sandwich due to almost raw bacon and un toasted bread I gave up! The cost of the food is also very expensive. My biggest complaint however is the ridiculously high charge to have internet in your room and on both occasions that I purchased it it cut off well before the expiry time! To be fair to the hotel they did look into it and there was an error and these charges were refund to me, but I would imagine this is not an isolated incident as they use an external provider! With regards to the room, although comfortable it was very small and the bathroom was tiny. I would say this hotel is definitely for the business budget traveller and not for a tourist. A very disappointing experience!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear TheTravellingMan1,

Thank you for your review and I apologise that we didn't meet your expectations.

It was extremely disappointing to read in your review that the steak was not cooked to your liking. We have been unable to discover any steak orders that were returned on that night and the steak is our best selling item from our menu. However, we obviously got it wrong and for that we apologise.

I was sorry to hear at the time of your stay that the BLT you ordered from our room service menu was not satisfactory as it contained mayonnaise and that there was an allergy situation that we were not aware of. The second BLT was not acceptable and I have already spoken to the kitchen regarding this.

It was pleasing to note that we did resolve the internet issue and I further advise that we are currently reviewing our internet charges.

Once again thank you for your comments as your feedback does enable us to review our procedures and service. Our aim is to satisfy all of our guests and we will do our best to get it right in the future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for less than ten hours after arrived from Queenstown and before we flew back home. Its location offered us to do some last minutes souvenir shopping. There is a Supermarket twenty minutes away by foot. Also the only casino in Christchurch is also about twenty minutes away but in opposite direction. Thank to its central location we have fully enjoyed our last hours in Christchurch. The hotel itself just like other Ibis chain. Room is small but elegant. Nothing much to complaint or cheers about.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKYONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear SKYONG,

Thank you for your review and it was good to see that you enjoyed your final few hours in the city before returning to Singapore. Our central city location does give guests the opportunity of shopping at the best known store in Christchurch, Ballantynes, which is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel. As you point out, being an Ibis we do adhere to our worldwide brand standards.

Thank you for visiting New Zealand and we hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
1,759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#39 of 144 in Christchurch
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#31 of 144 in Christchurch
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Property: Ibis Christchurch
Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing