We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with our overnight stay.”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #34 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed overnight in Ibis hotel on our way back after arriving from Greymouth by Tranz Alpine train. The staff on the Reception was nice and friendly. The room was small with 2 double bed in it, but it was clean, bathroom was new. Even though the TV was small, it was nice touch to see the greeting on the screen with your name on it. At night we have to walk quite far to find place to eat, but during the day it was easier because there was a Restart container nearby. Wifi did not work on our personal device, so have to use the computer on the lobby. Travel to airport was easy, and staff helped to book shuttle for us. So quite happy with our overnight stay before heading home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mellymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear mellymd,

Thank you for your review and I am sure that you would have enjoyed the Tranz Alpine scenic train journey which is extremely popular! I am not sure why the wifi didn't work on your phone as it certainly should. However, it was great to see that you were able to use one of our 4 guest computers in the lobby to access the internet.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel provided simple comfortable stay with very helpful staff. It should be rated Average but it felt like a very good hotel, hence my over-rating it. A bit too expensive on the Wifi side but everything else seemed to be OK. Didn't quite understand why the Hotel was boasting on its Environment friendly record. It had a big sign on my door room. It is in the city centre but because of the major building development (as a result of the 2010 earthquake), there was not much going in Christchurch. Having said that the noise was minimum as construction moved very slowly. You can walk to all the tourist sight seeing in the city centre easily. I had a pleasant comfortable 2-day stay.

Room Tip: Not much choice as the surrounding area is flat due to after earthquake demolition of the most neigh...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Ardy G,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I'm really pleased that you found our location suitable as we are most definitely close to the major attractions such as : punting, the Botanical gardens, Cardboard Cathedral, ReStart Shopping Mall and the Museum. The environmentsl friendly record you refer to is our Planet 21 programme and you were staying in one of our rooms that celebrate this.

Once again thank you for your review and also for visiting and supporting Christchurch.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stay at the Ibis in Christchurch frequently for business and pleasure. Although basic, It is new, comfortable, convenient to shopping and other activities in and around Christchurch. Just around the corner from the square, not far from Hagley Park.
The staff are generally very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: On the top floors and facing the Cashmere hills, great views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Barbara S,

Thank you for your review and for your positive comments. I would agree that the rooms higher up and facing the street certainly have great views over the city and the Cashmere Hills.

We appreciate you staying with us and for taking the trouble to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

IBIS are a chain that targets budget end hotel clients, so I shouldn't really be surprised by the offerings. Even after 3 years, there are also very few places to stay inner city in post earthquake Christchurch, so keep that in mind too!

The rooms are cramped. I guess that's not surprising when you shoehorn two double beds into a space that is better suited to a double. and maybe a single bed. And the wardrobe is small and really odd. I always wonder about what sort of people share 2 double beds, but then, hey! An old square TV is quaint and in a few more years will pass as retro. The view of the concrete wall outside the window is good if you don't like direct light in your room.

The restaurant is professionally run, but terribly overpriced for the food delivered. They can do this as they are the only game in town within several blocks. Save on the room: but expect a long walk if you want to save on eating. The ruin of the cathedral is close by if you like to look at road accidents.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corner if you don't want to look at concrete walls.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocky_and_Biglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Rocky_and_Biglegs,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay. We do have 2 x double beds in our twin rooms but we also have 1 x king size bed in our double rooms. We do try to cater for travellers that are wanting seperate beds and also for those couples that want 1 larger bed. With the hotel facing the street and with a building behind the hotel, approximately half of our rooms do have a view of the ReStart Mall and of the rebuilding process that is happening in our city.

Our restaurant prices do compare with restaurants that are located within a 10 minute walk of the hotel but I am sorry if you found the prices not to be to your liking.

We are also located close to the Cathedral and we await with interest the outcome of the decision to rebuild or repair this iconic building.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you back again in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a night before our flight home. It is one of the few hotels in operation in Christchurch. The room has a funny smell though, other than that the hotel is basically quite clean.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JL0537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear JL0537,

Thank you for your review and it great to see that you enjoyed our central city location and service. I apologise about the strange smell in your room. I can't explain the reason and it was a shame that you didn't mention this during your stay so that we could have checked as to why that was the case. We would have either solved the issue or shifted you to another room had we known.

However, it was pleasing that in general you enjoyed your stay and thank you for supporting us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for an overnight stay. The room was clean and tidy but the shower was tiny. Some of the reception stay were nice but one staff member when we checked in was unpleasant but must of been having a bad day. The hotel restaurant was amazing for dinner and reasonable priced considering there is barely any outside restaurants however the buffet breakfast was gross expect for the Danish.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Delaney7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Delaney7,

Thank you for your comments, both positive and negative. It was great to hear that mostly we did well.

Clearly there are areas that we need to work on and I can assure you that we will do so.

Once again thank you and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have recently travelled to Christchurch in New Zealand again and this time I stayed at the budget IBIS hotel for several days for business.

The accommadation was on par with some of the better class of hotels and the restaurant food was better than norm.
The food menu was not huge like some places where you can't make up your mind but certainly catered for most people. I was pleasantly surprised. The breakfast was also very good.

Highly recommended.
Staff were helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Hpas,

Thank you for posting such a positive review and especially for mentioning the good food. We do have really good chefs and we are really proud of the quality of the meals that we offer.

We would love to have you back to stay in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#39 of 146 in Christchurch
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £68 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing