We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel, nice enough, friendly staff”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #33 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Initially I looked at the Hotel So, but the reviews werent great so went with Ibis, glad I did. Whilst in the middle of Christchurch, its on a reasonably quiet street. Rooms was smallish with two double beds, small wardrobe and small but clean bathroom.
Easy to get to and from with the free yellow shuttle bus stop just around the corner in cathedral sq. Only down side was the expensive internet connection at $35/day. Although a cheaper alternative in available in the lobby.
Overall a nice hotel, with professional staff. Would I recommend people stay there - yes. Would I stay there again - for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2009

The ibis is new looking and looks a lot like any other Ibis. It is clean and fresh. The rooms are an average size. The best part about the hotel is that it is right beside the main square in ChCh. It was a bit hard to find parking as our vehicle wouldn't fit in their parking lot. We stayed for one night before flying to Australia, and it was a solid experience. The staff was helpful and explained all about the city for us. The fire alarm went off at 5:30am and we all had to evacuate. The staff was polite and handled the situation well.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

I Checked in to the Ibis and was greeted warmly by the staff who were very helpful and welcoming.
When I went to my room I was impressed with the size, layout and cleanliness of it, and as it was a Saturday night in the middle of the town I was pleased to get a great night’s sleep in a very quiet room.
The rooms are small like a Hong Kong room but for a 3 star hotel it was well worth the $99 NZD that I paid.
Due to the downtown location I would not pre pay for breakfast as the only options were scrambled eggs along with sausages hash browns and some cereals and basic others like prunes etc.
There are many options within 100 Metres from the Ibis which are better value but for a breakfast before working it is fine.
As previously mentioned the internet in the room is very expensive but the lobby internet is $5.00 NZD for 1/2 hour is good value.
The biggest downfall is the lack of programs on the television which makes staying in the room boring.
The bar is a bit sterile though a safe place for a drink.
All in all I would stay here again for the location and extremely friendly and helpful staff who made my stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grasal001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Stayed here for one night and thought it was great. Room was a bit small, without much of a view, but it had everything we needed, and it was a good price. Bathroom felt like it had recently been renovated. Nice cable TV. Location was awesome - less than 2 minute walk to Cathedral Square. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroad2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Me and my friends stayed in Triple room in April...our room have 3 single beds so that left us with little space. Basic room with all necessary amentities. Very good location but so hard to find parking space.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auttapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Very friendly staff that let us have our room immediately even though we arrived at 8am! Great position for walking to everywhere interesting. Free shuttle tram and buses very near. Room looked onto a brick wall but we were out all day so we were only in the room to sleep. Room had a double bed and a single. Head for the strip for great restaurants. Opposite hotel is a supermarket that leads through into a stationery shop - the entrance to that is in another street that has a departmental store. You don't need a car. Great transport some free.Good value Buffet breakfast continental is included 5 nz dollars extra for full buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishBeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

Nice place, located right behind Cathedral Square. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby. On Easter Wekend, there's no liquor sold in stores, and you have to order a meal to get a drink in restaurants - it's the law, and strictly enforced everywhere. If you're going there for the nightlife, as we mostly were, it was disaapointing, but we managed (order a pizza, and it'll seem as if you're all eating, then you can all drink). We stayed for only $85 NZD/night, great valye. Would have had dinner at the hotel restaurant, but it was almost never open while we were there (again, Easter).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCDaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#32 of 146 in Christchurch
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £74 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing