We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,034)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveller rating
204
485
279
43
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
485
279
43
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cathedral square two double beds hereford street central location rooms are small the heart of the city per night avon river buffet breakfast business trip free wifi reception staff car parking new zealand short stay within easy walking distance comfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
858 - 863 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Great location as everyone says, just around the corner from Cathedral Sq. Nice rooms, comfy bedding, great shower, flat screen TV. Only comment would be that we could hear what appeared to be the hotels air conditioning system above our room on the 8th floor, switching on and off all the time.. a bit of a pain, but we chose not to move so not that bad.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mky337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

This hotel was really clean and it was in a great location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a Starbucks behind the hotel and an information center where you can book anything you need for your trip in NZ. It was a great stay. I stayed here twice actually. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

The Ibis is a lovely hotel in Christchurch. The location of this hotel is it's biggest plus point. It is just a couple of minutes walk to the cathedral.

The room was lovely . This being a relatively new hotel the rooms and the entire hotel had a nice fresh look.

The staff at the reception were cordial and welcoming. And yes there is a lovely bakery just across the street which serves yummy breads and cakes.

I feel there is no need to look elsewhere. This is a great hotel in a fantastic location .

Stayed: May 2008
Thank nattyjazz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

I booked to stay with Hotel Ibis because of the rav reviews that I've read on this website. And true enough, they were great. The staff was attentive, friendly, and helpful. The room and bathroom were rather small but that's fine. I got a corner room (right down the corridor) on level 3 (room 321) which faces the city. Although it was on a lower floor, it offered views of the mountains, which was nice. This hotel is very well located - just along the Cathedral Square and around many shopping and eating places. The windows must be double-glazed because I can hardly hear the noise on the streets. There was a nice selection of teas in the room (jasmine green tea, english breakfast, camomile) and decaf and normal coffee - and this is the first time I've seen this selection being offered in the hotels I've been to. The only complaints I've got are minor - the TV screen is small and located in a funny position - up in a corner near the ceiling and so you'll have to tilt your head to watch TV which does give you a bit of a neck pain. The towel rail is located below the sink and because of the low distance from the rail to the floor, your towels have only 0.5 cm clearing from the floor. There's no free wireless internet - the least they could do was provide free wireless in the public lounge area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkaraSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Arrived in Chch for 2 nights to watch Pearl Jam concert(they were great by the way!). Checked into Ibis with no fuss. Room was clean, very comfortable and although small, had everything we needed. The best thing about the Ibis is its so close to town...well it's in town actually. So we travelled by bus to wherever we wanted to go which was both cheap and interesting.
Staff were all very polite and pleasant and couldn't have been more helpfull. Even down to holding our bags for the day as we didn't fly out until 7pm at night. The 11am checkout was nice too so we could have a lie-in after the long night.
If you're just after a comfy bed without all the extra drama, I'd certainly reccommend the Ibis.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdbandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews