We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay...”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #35 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of night and booked our tickets through trip-advisor's online booking. By booking it online we got it for a discounted rate as compared to go to hotel and ask for a room. The hotel is located in main CBD area and it was worth for money. Rooms are clean, spacious and quite good. It was a wonderful stay we enjoyed at IBIS Christchurch.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satyendra79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2010

bede at reception did an excellent job as we had driven down from Picton and were tired.The room was compact but just what we had seen on the net and we had two restful nights here and its just over the road from drexels and close to shops etc--so if you havent got a car or want to give driving a rest a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleaner53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed one night here and our experience was good. You pay for what you get. Do not expect a fancy 5 star hotel, but a simple, decent hotel. The bed was very small, the rooms are noisy so bring your earplugs. Further centrally located and very friendly staff!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris255113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I enjoyed our 2 nights accommodation at the Ibis on Friday and Saturday night.
Right in the city center with lots of hassle and bustle but not a sound to be heard on our 8 floor room. I enjoyed peeking out the window down onto the city below. Room was very clean and sufficient to our needs and underground parking made life a lot easier. I recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying there again.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tarnhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

The one thing going for the Ibis is the location, it's close to everything. The room was ok, very small, but clean. The reception staff were helpful. But we were unfortunately put in a room on the 5th floor looking at the street, which faced a nightclub. The street turned feral at night. I didn't feel safe walking back to the hotel. Our room was really noisy. We finally got to sleep at 3am, when the people in the room next to us decided to bring the party back to their room at 5am. Trying to do all the sightseeing on 2 hours sleep the next day was not much fun. We complained and they put us in a quieter room on the 7th floor at the back of the hotel for the next night for a good nights sleep before our early flight the next day. Definately pay the extra money and stay elsewhere. We wish we had.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtravel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

..wow what great value for money!!...the room was nice, warm and tidy, breakfast was fantastic...friendly and helpful staff, would definitely come back :-). This hotel is right in christchurch city centre, however was quiet and had a great black out blinds so we had a great sleep... have nothing negative to say, really want to emphasis it was such great value for money, which is always a good thing :-)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocy_grocy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed for one night at the Ibis Christchurch in January 2009.

Location:

The hotel is located on a main street in the middle of Christchurch. All sights can be reached by foot.

Room:

The room was modern, the furnishing not more than basic, and small. The windows could not be opened, which enhanced the feeling of being in a kind of cell. The bathroom was not clean: lots of dirt and hair under the sink area, which forced us to ask for cleaning by the housekeeping service. After the cleaning, it was ok.

It was ok for one night as the hotel was quite new at the time point we where there, but we would not return.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
2,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#32 of 146 in Christchurch
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £61 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing