We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for the money spent”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #36 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
brisbane
2 reviews
“value for the money spent”
Reviewed 8 January 2011

The staff were helpful and friendly at all times. The room was congested but the beds were comfy. Considering the cost and location we thought it was value for our money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    429
    246
    39
    18
See reviews for
125
365
109
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Best value accommodation in Christchurch. The rooms we had were clean and not too small. If you pay a bit more you can get a room which overlooks the city and distant Port Hills. Food is good and great value, particularly if you take advantage of the NZ$20 Tuesday main meal deal. If you have a car, you need to be quick as there are only limited spaces available in the hotel car park (NZ$20), otherwise you can park in a Wilson carpark about 700 metres away for NZ$15

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We spent Christmas eve here. Had a view of a concrete wall but that was okay. The room provided all we needed. It was compact but had a comfy king bed. Full buffet breakfast on Christmas morning was pretty good. The coffee machine served up delicious cappuccinos - had a couple of them! Staff were courteous. Had to pay $20 for parking but the reasonable price for the room was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I generally dont mind spending a bit more money when on holidays, to stay somewhere reasonably upmarket. However for a change and due to a midnight arrival into Christchurch, I decided the room wasnt important so to just stay somewhere cheap. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

The room was modern and immaculately clean. There was more TV channels than I knew how to manage, and the bed was comfortable. The room was small, but had two double beds, a desk, baggage rack, Wardrobe and small efficient bathroom. Check in was quick and easy, likewise for check out.

Location was excellent in the centre of town. There appeared to be a nightclub on the second floor, and the noise as the lift passed level two was a real concern (it was after midnight on a friday). However I was in a room on the third floor, and could hear nothing once inside.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brocko25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Well located and comfortable hotel seemingly unaffected by the recent earthquake and aftershocks. Perfect for sightseeing and nightlife in CBD.Reasonable value but I had a 50% discount.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
1,754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#40 of 144 in Christchurch
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#32 of 144 in Christchurch
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Property: Ibis Christchurch
Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing