We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over hotel”

Academy Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Academy Motor Lodge
Ranked #80 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Hi, we didnt expect much to be honest as the reviews indicated. We wanted a two bedroom apartment to accommodate an early flight out of CC to Sydney. Got what it said we would get. No luxuries. Good shower though. Clean and tidy. Abit far out of the way to walk for some food. Didnt think the price reflected but understand this City needs support to get itself back on the map and if you can you should visit and support as its delightful!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the road as it would appear other guests have suffered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirebreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

LOUD. We did get the room closest to the road, but with only single pane windows, it was like the cars were in our room. We could also clearly hear anyone in the parking lot, and the trash collection came at 7am and definitely woke us. Also, the bed was rather springy, and it seems they turned a 2 bedroom room into 2 separate rooms because we had to enter via the sliding glass door instead of normal door. I called ahead to request late check-in and found the staff rude, but when I spoke to the front desk in person, the woman was very nice. On the plus side, the place was clean and it is close to the airport. If you decide to stay here, I recommend that you request a room away from the road and make sure to bring your own hair dryer if you need one as there is not one provided in the room.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road to cut down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hosts were helpful and friendly, but the room was very small with no ability to sit and relax in the evening before going out. We kept tripping over each other. The bed was comfortable and the location quiet

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent one night here at the start of the year and stayed in a lovely two-bedroom apartment.The apartment was nice and big and was able to accommodate five of us comfortably. It also had excellent cooking facilities. The location was very close to the airport, making it perfect for our early morning flight. The hotel managers were very helpful and accommodated us when we informed them that we had an extra person that needed to stay with us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingforleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Pros:
Great corner room on 2nd floor with high ceilings and exposed beams
Clean, new bathroom
Good water pressure in the shower
Staff seemed very helpful

We were only here for a quick stop-over. I got the impression location was good if you were going to the University, but otherwise not really close to sites of interest

Room Tip: Second floor corner rooms have great raised ceilings with exposed beams. Can't speak to the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent 3 days here after Christchurch's main earthquake in March 2011. Felt the ground shake a few times, but all in all everthing was sound. The room was spacious, clean and organized. The manager and staff were all very helpful and friendly. Do to circumstances we were not able to visit the University or Down Town, however we still enjoyed our stay in Christchurch and this Motel. Would recommend the Academy Motor Lodge for anyone visiting Christchurch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I recently visited Christchurch to visit my son who is studying at Canterbury University.Academy Motor Lodge is around the corner from my son's house where he is flatting with 2 other uni students. The motel is directly over the road from the Engineering Faculty at the Uni.
It was a perfectly adequate pace to stay for me. No it isn't 5 star but neither is the price. It was warm, clean ,comfortable. I had fresh towels every day and the bed was made up too. The little kitchenette was fine for making a cuppa, or heating some soup. The bathroom, though small had everything- hot shower,heated towel rail, heater,hair dryer, toiletries. The carpet in the bathroom was a bit musty smelling though.
The staff were friendly and efficient. I felt safe staying there on my own.

Room Tip: I stayed in the room closest to the road. The road noise was barely noticeable. Next time I would tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri1Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.2 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#70 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
2.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
2,105 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abbella Lodge Motel
Abbella Lodge Motel
#43 of 146 in Christchurch
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#79 of 146 in Christchurch
64 reviews
2.4 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#134 of 146 in Christchurch
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Motor Lodge

Address: 62 Creyke Road | Fendalton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £44 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Academy Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing